This is the funniest joke ever, one of my friends just told me about this today.
In the 80s, when Pakistan toured England and Miandad was batting at Lords, he was cleanly plummed by one of the english bowlers, surprisingly, the umpire at that time was none other then Shakoor Rana, and he instantly denied the appeal.
That led to the English bowler exchanging heated words with the umpire, then Miandad gets in the middle of the arguement and goes to the English bowler "Play to play, not to play, not to play
No one actually understood what Miandad meant but later someone translated that sentence in urdu, he meant khelna hai to khelo nahi to na khelo
*Originally posted by WiseGuy: *
That was funny...
but Shakoor Rana never supervised any Test match at Lords in specially in 1980s. This might be a home series indicent.
Miandad played for the English county Glamorgan in late 70’s. His ENglish was way better than most Pakistanis in England.
Plus the fact that Shakoor Rana or any Pakistani umpire for that matter NEVER officiated a match at Lords. So it is a stupid joke made by some even more stupid idiot.
And what pisss me off is that Umair, a regular kk guppie posted it without putting nay thought to it.
FG bhai, Miandad is well known for his bits n pieces of english, he has been mocked many times by opposing players for his english.
I’m not saying this joke is true, but the likely of Miandad saying is very much possible.