MIAN GEE Restaurant, main GT Road, Lala Musa-Pakistan

MIAN GEE Restaurant has found itself globally popular for its CHANNAY KI DAAL…

***The restaurant is located on main GT Road a little ahead of Lala Musa towards Islamabad…and I first had a meal (Chanay Ki Daal cooked in Desi Ghee with glass full of Lassi followed by Doodh Patti Chai) at a dhabba kind place of this restaurant in 1985 when I was on vacations in Pakistan from UAE..and since then, I have never missed a single opportunity to lunch out at this place—when traveling by ***
***Sher Shah Suri’s ***
GRAND TRUNK ROAD–
and honestly I prefer GT Road as it has a history to pass by and
a serene atmosphere throughout the drive—

not a spooky situation–all alone or
with a few cars around—speeding relentlessly on MOTARR VEY!

I was again on GTR on 8th Dec from Lahore to Isloo and this time I was
lucky to meet MIAN GEE himself and talk about his restaurant–which, interestingly dates back to 1957 originally being at Lala Musa and since 1982 at the main GT Road a few furlongs away from LLM towards Isloo track when coming from Lahore on your left side…

***Here’s what MIAN GEE had to say—shyly:)
***4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download 09122009010.mp4

Re: MIAN GEE Restaurant, main GT Road, Lala Musa-Pakistan

If anyone has a recipe for the daal it maybe worth a try considering its fame :-)

NOW THAT THE CHRISTMAS APPROACHETH…
AND THOSE WITH INTEREST IN CAKES…

HERE’S SOMETHING…INTERESTING…
ON PAKISTAN’S OLDEST & EVER POPULAR
“BOMBAY BAKERY”
IN HYDERABAD-SINDH;

WHENEVER SOMEONE OTHER THEN A HYDERABADite
VISITS THE CITY OF MUHAMMAD BIN QASIM
HE/SHE MUST GET HOLD OF BOMBAY BAKERY’S
CAKE…WHICH ARE FAMOUS SINCE 1920…
AND BAKED IN A BAKERY IN A HOUSE!

(That reminds me of JORDACHE BAKERY…in that all
time greatest TV serial “RICH MAN..POOR MAN”
based on Irwin Shaw’s novel…)

I HAVE BEEN TO THIS BAKERY SEVERAL TIMES
BUT THIS TIME I THOUGHT TO MAKE SOME VIDEO–CREATE SOME
MEMORIES (God…I love making memories!!) AND DO SOMETHING
A BIT UNUSUAL AT THE BAKERY…

SO…YOU CAN CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW
AND GET TO KNOW A BIT MORE ON HOW
BOMBAY BAKERY
STARTED & CONTINUES ITS SUCCESS STORY!

( My choice of cakes–is "COFFEE CAKE!)

RAJU

4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download 13122009011.mp4

You forgot mian jee hotel’s tandoori rotis..just :yummy: and I prefer GT road too…I have too many memories with that road =)

Its amazing how you can find best available food on these road side restaurants more than those posh restaurants (ok food may not be that hygienic ).

I still remember the BEEF KARHIEE that I eat at a place b/w Pindi and ISB (I don’t remember the name but it was sort of main hub with buses leaving for different parts of Pakistan ..etc)

aww...this brings back so many memories. I have loved Mian gee di hut'ti ever since I can remeber. All through the '90s I travelled with my family via GTroad to Lahore from a remote place called katas, countless times to visit my extended family. As a child, I never ate daal except when we stopped over at this dhabba.
it is simply divine!

OMG I have had that…it has to be one of the bestest coffee cakes ever…
My father knew someone whose parents used to live there and they used to bring us a cake every year when they used to go visit them…:slight_smile:

MG’s LAAL tandoori rotis…and I love them…even roukhee!

My memories of GTR (60’s) are far more then yours!

She was my first cousin—who died of cancer–in Lahore
some four years back! We were very close friends besides
the rishtaydaari! I drove, almost daily, from Lahore to
Jehlum, to call on her at Khala’s…whenever I was in
Lahore on vacations. Ten times she traveled in my WILLYs JEEP

from Jehlum..to Lahore via GTR with me.

**now i get it...ARJAY = R.J. = Raajoo Jameel saaHib :)

u brought some of my memories back too of those roadside dhaabaas. i used to travel by GT Road [Grand Trunk Road] from AligaRh to Delhi. for the benefit of newer generation lemme tell them that GT Road was built by Sher Shah Suri from Peshawar to Calcutta via delhi Allahabad Dhanbad etc.

The stop we used to have was famous for Punjabi istyle makkhani urad kii daal...with his specialty tandoorii naan was a quite a delight...loved it...surKh pyaaz asli ghee meN tali huii kaa taRkaa...subHaan Allah :) thank you for sharing :)**

60’s !! I wasn’t even born then :cb:

I am sorry about your cousin..yea somehow bitter memories linger on more than the better ones.. pray her soul rests in peace.

We are Lahore based and my father’s job required us to move places mostly around the GT road belt..thus frequent travels every now and then.

i've been there, it used to be good. now its not.

Of course–you were’nt…

Indeed…my craze for road travel has taken my by car, jeep and motorbike, from Karachi to Lahore (24 times), from Karachi to London (one time), from Karachi to Islamabad (4 times) from Karachi to Peshawar (5 times) and from Karachi to Quetta (3 times) and finally Karachi to Hyderabad (countless times)…and by HONDA125 Motorbike from Lahore to Murree (10 times)…and my most beloved ROAD has always been…GRAND TRUNK ROAD for Allah Bakhshay Mehreen..my first cousin also!

I am sure your memories still provide you cogent reasons to look back with wonderful thoughts.

Khush Rahein…

[quote="Esix"]

i've been there, it used to be good. now its not./QUOTE]

Not Agreed!

ALIGARH to DELHI...waah. Ye duno hamare ilaaqay hein! y father hails from Delhi and my wife hails from Aligarh ! Her cousins and Uncles are still there at the Aligarh University....in its faculty..as teachers/lecturers!

You are welcome...

What a great life you have led sir!

ari waah...ap to hamaare paRosii nikle...subHaan Allah. aapkii ahliya ke cousins aur uncles jo AMU se juRe huye haiN ho saktaa ahi ham unheN jaante bhii hoN...its a small world afterall, indeed!**

As I said before kya yaad dilla diya :)

Mian jee's Parathay n Daal....... its just mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm yummy!
we always have daal n parathay with gulab jamuns (dessert) sooo soft n delicious....