mery piarey Canadians:

Wow, this coffee house thread has turned into a full fledged philosophical debate :mudhosh:

Ok, in all seriousness, as CM of Hangout, I know all too well the ridicule Cafe faces. It’s like the red headed stepchild of GS. I have to literally beg, borrow and steal to get people to post here because their is the on going stigma that Cafe is weird, fobby, childish etc, so when we see on consistent basis (and this has been happening way before I became CM, Hadeel can attest to the fact) that cafe and it’s threads/posters are mocked in other forums then yes, we as a team get on the defensive.

Essie is 100% correct in saying what Cafe is today is not what it was 1 year ago…or 3…or 5. My team has worked it’s a$$ off to change the perception and attract more members and yet people still go out of their way NOT to post here just because it’s Cafe. There are plenty of threads started in other forums that should very well belong in Cafe, but that is an internal issue that I won’t drag in here.

I really urge everyone this thread and GS as a whole, to put aside their pre conceived notions of what Cafe is and maybe start legitimately posting and contributing here, you’ll be pleasantly surprised :flower:

Re: mery piarey Canadians:

I read RV’s comment as a joke. And I think even responded to it. Something about armpits and sleeveless forum. Overreaction to a harmless comment, IMO.

I actually enjoyed her post. Lots of tongue in cheek references to the walking dead etc. Come one. That’s what a good comic does. Takes a point and exaggerates it. There was no malicious intent - at least the way it came across to me.

Speaking of long posts, RV NEVER writes long posts. (Insert winking smilie).

mery piarey Canadians:

Southie Unkil, sometimes jokes bhi burri lagnay lagti hain when they are specifically targeted and ongoing.

This is why i’ve stuck around this place (even though I just joined). It’s quiet and it’s kinda ustrating me but you ban people, and if they return you ban them again. Even if it is to the detriment of GS. The mods don’t seem to be bias and also, you have different mods for each section. It works. The last asian forum I was in, the owner didn’t do that. He allowed trolls to continue to harass other members, expose them and allow constant group attacks on one person. Even after complaints. Even though I was a mod there aswell, I was constantly attacked and never supported. The place is probably the same as this active wise, he thought if he banned those people it would kill his forum but he hasn’t realised he’s lost active posters like me and others. I won’t ever be going back. It’s good to see that you would rather ban people harming quality posters, and make this place abit quieter than keep those who attack others. It’s unique and it’s what sets you apart from other places.

And I agree, @redvelvet is an excellent poster.

This earns you an ice cream cone :shireen:

Khatti meethi

Ab apne aisa keh diya tho hum aapko kaise samjhaye. Aap jise targeting samajhthi hai, shayad intent targeting na ho sakta hai. Paranthu just good humor.

Jaise ke - kaun hai wo shaks jiski nuggets dhage mein koi praani na jaye
Kaun hai wo modni jo ek vaakya mein spelling mistakes bharpoor likh de
Kaun hai wo monk jiski bhasha na humein na unko samjhe

Jokes ki yehi bhasha hai. Yehi paribhasha hai.

:shireen:

Sahi kaha aapnay. I’m a pretty thick skinned person and I don’t take these issues to heart, but I am fiercely protective of my teammates and mods. I alone know how much time they take out of their personal lives to keep this forum running and when someone, anyone, throws shade on this forum, it doesn’t sit well with me.

And it’s not just RV, so please don’t think I’m singling her out, there is a very real perception out there that Cafe and it’s posters are less then intelligent, drooling bumbling idiots who nly tAlk lyK dis n don no nyThing and THAT is what I’m trying to change. I’m just asking for a little respect for my team and for the generalizations to stop :flowers:

Southie, as you’re aware we have had recent episodes like that where you were rightfully against such behavior. However the people doing it used the exact justification as you are doing now, calling it ‘a light hearted joke that Mods took too seriously’ (referring to my taking action vs such behavior). Are you telling me I was mistaken to take action vs such appalling behavior after you supported Mods throughout?

Something to ponder.

Sentry, thanks for the kind words mate. :k: I am all for opinions on peoples’ view points and as you pointed I won’t stand for repeated personal insults whether its GS or whether its blogs. GS isn’t someone’s backyard where they can log in and insult people. Like someone would not want to go to a place where they will be ganged up on based on their looks or based on their views the same analogy applies to a forum even if its online. If that means booting people out then I won’t hesitate to do that otherwise it will eat up GS from inside. Which is why I m delighted to see so many new people join in, you being one of them, and who are sticking around. We are far from perfect but change is slowly taking place. And you know first hand we are always approachable on PMs personally if anyone has any concern.

Anyway this thread has gone all over the place :hehe: Please PM me or khattichic personally if you have any more issues.

hawwwwwwwwww

Canadian thread meen itni bahas ?

all I expected was “pardon me” “excuse me” “I am sorry” :smiley:

Monk praa, here is the the real dilemma I’m facing…Starbucks is on my boycott list because I’m trying to adhere to the BDS movement…now there are two Dunkin Donuts that have opened up within a 4 mile radius of my house…one being literally down the street..however, it’s owned by none other then Jerry Jones (in partnership with Troy Aikman no less!).

EVERYONE here knows I bleed blue and silver, and my Cowboys are my jaan and jigar, but Darth Jerry…seriously..I just don’t know if I can line his pockets knowing he’s the reason my beloved 'Boys are in the state they are :crying:

#firstworldproblems](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=firstworldproblems)

#JerryWorldWasBadEnough](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=JerryWorldWasBadEnough)

#MakeMyFrappsAtHomeNow](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=MakeMyFrappsAtHomeNow)

Now we have upset OP. How soon we forget OP is not only inscrutable, but also saansitive.

#tonyhomo](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=tonyhomo)
patriots](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=patriots)

Noone can upset Monk :nahi:

I think I brought unusual crowd to cafe.

JK was better :smiley:

I keep reading BDS movement as BDSM.

:confused:

:sannan:

#BradyIsADouche](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=BradyIsADouche)

Jaisa leader waisa crowd :nahi: I kid :smiley:

You would :nahi: