The same old. I bet her mother's pretty happy now. Sometimes, I really wish I could do something to stamp out this arranged marriage culture. Maybe I'll start with my own kids....
No she is not because my cousin married a person of her choice, regardless of what happened to her in the past, or her present happiness doesn't matter to the mother..
Yupp is dunya mein aasey bhi loog hain, and thats her real mother
No she is not because my cousin married a person of her choice, regardless of what happened to her in the past, or her present happiness doesn't matter to the mother..
Yupp is dunya mein aasey bhi loog hain, and thats her real mother
I don't really understand how mothers can do this. Fathers too, but the bond between a mother and her child is unique. I mean, I would expect my mother to stand by me if the whole Universe was against me. And then there are those mothers who are bent on ruining their kids' lives.... Amazing!
Most of the times desi think these kind of conditions as a result of some supernatural phenomenon like possession by Jinns , black magic, evil eye so they think that doctors , psychiatrist or psychologists cannot help their loved ones.
Desis think that banday par “saya hai” even when the problem is as trivial as sleep walking. I knew a guy who would often go to the roof while sleeping and his family came up with a complex explanation involving “Asaib” and other such nonsense…
This is EXACTLY what is happening with this patient. He is CLEARLY mentally ill and not possessed by a jin, but they refuse to bring him in and their beleifs are making him worse he is harming himself for fear that everyone is out to get him and he needs to kill himself before someone else does, if they dont something bad is going to happen, no matter how much you reason with the patients they dont understand.
They may have to detain him under the mental health act now as he is attacking his family members and one of the family members have reported to the police.
If they bought him in as an ‘informal’ patient things could actually be done to help him.
And yes it breaks my heart too everytime i see an asian patient in the ward, especially on days like today when its eid and they aren’t well enough to go home
and thank you to those people who understand what i am trying to say!
Please report this case to authorities before someone get hurt and things get worse . May Allah give wisdom to desi folks to see these things as they are. Ameen.
This is EXACTLY what is happening with this patient. He is CLEARLY mentally ill and not possessed by a jin, but they refuse to bring him in and their beleifs are making him worse he is harming himself for fear that everyone is out to get him and he needs to kill himself before someone else does, if they dont something bad is going to happen, no matter how much you reason with the patients they dont understand.
They may have to detain him under the mental health act now as he is attacking his family members and one of the family members have reported to the police.
If they bought him in as an 'informal' patient things could actually be done to help him.
And yes it breaks my heart too everytime i see an asian patient in the ward, especially on days like today when its eid and they aren't well enough to go home :(
and thank you to those people who understand what i am trying to say! :)
Yeah working as part of the authorities atm so he has been detained under the mental health act and is safely in hospital receiving treatment. Ameen to your duas.
Mental health is a social stigma in the west too even now, however, due to a lot of research and exposure its becoming less so. In general, I think for a lot of people mental health is feared and misunderstood and that leads to people trying to pretend it doesn't exist.
Hopefully with desis gradually with more awareness and information about what mental health is and how its not a choice or a sign of a persons weakness, but an actual disease, it will become less of a social stigma.
everything related to mental health ends up being judged as 'woh to pagal sar phiri/sar phira hai' for most iof the Asian people. They are afraid to admit this to other people.
Anyone seeing a psychiatrist is seen as dangerous, psychotic and becomes a stigma no matter how trivial the issue is. Even psychiatrists in our society are taken as 'khiske hue' which is really sad !
how many times have you seen erratic behaviour and the parents just say, "shaadi ho ja'ay tau sab teekh ho ja'ay ga....."
I haven't seen this, but then again, Desi culture can always surprise you!
I have heard "Bacha ho janay do, sab theek ho jaye ga" though :p
Sadly, both of these are all too common.
The thinking behind it is that parents think once their child is married or has a child of their own, the person will be too busy in family responsibilities.
can't believe how such twisted thinking is so prevalent...
In order to fix a problem you first have to acknowlege that it exists. Desis do not understand what mental illness is. It's the lack of knowledge as well as the fear of what others will think if their son/daughter were to be diagnosed with a mental disorder.
However I would expect this kinda behavior from someone living in a third world country, not a place where medical treatment is so easily available. Looks like fear of others becomes the deciding factor in some of these cases???