Men, who dont eat at parties

Re: Men, who dont eat at parties

in 2001, I went to PC lahore for some IT some thing. dont even remember now. I tagged a friend along as I didnt want to get bored all alone. that experience was priceless. I was very young then 16-17 I guess :hmmm: any ways they announced something (which we didnt catch as we were busy in our own chatting and taank jhaank ) and every one just rushed to the back section. We looked at each other k what has happened and where is every one running to. For a while I thought they have asked to evacuate the building or some thing :konfused: took us more than 10 mins to realize what has happened when we slowly went to the back and left to the food section. lol our elite or may be upper middle class attacking the food. we didnt bother to join them and got busy with tea making process. As we were witnessing the our 1st food dungal, there was a waiter standing next to us smiling at what was going on. He looked at 2 of us and pointed to the tea table in the corner so we decided to have some tea instead.

So we poured some tea thinking it to be some kind of coffee, put some sugar in it but it tasted awful. my friend said “yeh konsi coffee hai yar, bara ajeeb sa chai wala taste hai”
there was another container sitting beside it, on further investigation we realized it was hot milk. they had milk and the tea in separate containers :smack2:

we didnt bother to make another cup of tea as we already had a cup each of plain milk less tea. :hinna: and decided to go home.

we couldnt stop laughing till we reached home and told the story to our families and laughed again for ages :hehe:

so yeah, we had to ask our mothers to give us some thing to eat :frowning:

*i couldnt post this all together, fazool ISP. :hinna:

merge if u like

LOL nice story

Just a sample :stuck_out_tongue:

Btw this is not Manu’o’Salwa , but just ice cream :slight_smile:

It has nothing to do with Insult. Some people just don't eat (and some cant eat) outside food for health or other reasons. Now personally I think one should not be that strict about these things but some people really have sensitive stomach/digestive system.

Only thing thing that I used to ask for was TEA and this was well known and documented in whole family including my susral so my cute Salis bring the T themselves as they know that even if I am not going to ask for it, I need it :)

Sometimes I don't but then again someone always tells me that maizbaan ki izzat rakhne ke lye you should eat at least a little. Then I have to.

:lifey:

Fuking hell! :rotfl:

Thats serious socializing right there CP :k:

LMAO! Mango ice cream yaar, it's to die for. Literally... hahahaha

dude, i know what you mean..the dining scene at some desi events can be rather comical if you step back and observe. you see the aunty stampede for food..

other observations

desi uncles acting like they are some kind of jacques costeau, and the serving spoon some kind of deep sea explorer rather deep qorma explorer to dig for the target piece of chicken. then you also see the qorma hockey with uncle ji performing some amazing dribbling techniques in trying ti navigate the boti from the far end of the serving dish to their side while avoiding the other predatory spoon in the way..Wayne Gretzky would be impressed, so would shabaz and saleem sherwani.

then there is the crafty mr spock uncle, who decides that it is only logical that he take the serving spoon from a less desirable entree, like salad, and teleport himself over the line and straight in the middle of the qorma hockey.

he is met there with a 14 year old mcguyver who has dcided to use his own spoon to start filling his plate..

close your eyes and listen, the cling cling of the serving spoons and it seems like some sort of medieval wars…the battle of biryani in full swing..

then you see ladies..acting like war generals and sending their kids for acquisition mission sorties…especially for nan (and dessert later cuz they dont want to be seen taking their third helping of ras frikkin gullas)

then you see desi musical chairs, no matter where you were sitting, ppl will use this opportunity to change seats on the fly and you find an entire new crew hanging at your table as if nothing is going on.

later we see ppl carrying 3 cups of soda with a ear to ear grin on the face as if tariq aziz just announced that they had won inaami bond from millat fan. the rush to the drinks is as if it was not coca cola but the fountain o youth..

and then there is dessert, the entire guest population becomes cirque de soleil acrobats balancing 3-4little plates of assorted dessert and weaving through the crowd like devin hester going for a touch down or zidane dancing around a hapless teams entire defensive line.

then ppl sit around bored..too full to move…doing very good jabba the hutt impersonations involuntarily …mounds of left over food in their plates looking like some kind of culinary armageddon took place…or the guys from DTX, bluto, d-day, otter and co had a toga party, or that the huns swept through some event..

in this disaster of a scene the ruqsatti finally starts, and ladies who were all having a blast all of a sudden on cue start crying..

I mean what manhoos scene..a destroed place, ladies crying in bakri tones..kids wailing cuz they are grumpy and its way past their bedtime, waiters and serve staff cursing everyone and praying for the torture to end..limo driver saying to himself, never again, never again..

if desi shaddi type events were in black and white and sped up a little, it would look like some brown charlie chaplin movie..

that movie…while smoking a blunt would probably be funny as hell

I guess stuff like that happens because desi weddings can be boring and food is considered to be the 'highlight'.

I need to attend more desi weddings… they sound like fun :hmmm:

Latest Report: So far government is strictly enforcing the rule of 12 Mid Night - Lights Closes.

All the lights etc are now turned off at 12Midnight so Barats are now arrieving at around 9pm /10pm (way to early as compared to 1am/2am).

:yahoo:

Smoking a blunt would make anything funny as hell.

is that experience talking? :)

I thought my Dad was the only person who did that, now I read this and many males do it. I should show this to my mother when I get the chance. When I was little, my Dad often felt uncomfortable to eat in front of other people. Sometimes he did have something, but very often uncomfortable. So he had to have real dinner at home after the visit or party, always annoyed my mother. Now she can see many males do that.

I think I inherited this uncomfortableness from my Dad. Often I don't feel comfortable eating at parties or during visits. Nowadays I'm trying to get over it and I do eat, even when I don't feel like it.

hehe i do tat sometimes if food is not good. come home n eat but i try to make food myself rather than order/insist my family to make it :)

notorious, its not a matter of being uncomfortable eating in large gatherings, that seems a diff angle. many dont eat because the dinner is too late, it is many times very unhealthy, and some people just dont want to deal with the mob scene.