Men more selective than women?

I don’t know if this is part of mainstream thinking or if I just happen to have been exposed to this idea a lot recently. I’ll tell you what I’ve been hearing a lot or seeing a lot on TV presently.. it is the idea that women are the desirable ones, who choose their partners carefully with male competition expected, much more so than the other way round. One way or another it is presented that modern men must fit some kind of a template to be attractive to the modern emancipated female, and such like. The ideal male is apparently caring, loving, domestic, maybe even be the ones to stay at home and cook/iron/ween kids and etc., and modern women have high standards for selection of partners.

you must have noticed that female clothing is much more styled, more colourful, more emphasising, more highlighting, more revealing and etc; and on odd bits of makeup, lipsticks and other decorative things.

I mean these women really do go to extraordinary lengths to make themselves presentable. If men had these opportunities to decorate themselves, the world would descend into one almighty shuckfest. I came to the conclusion that women are NOT the selective ones. On the contrary, they are generally the passive ones, they wait to be selected, and they decorate themselves in the hope that their chances of selection are higher. They intuitively know what is attractive to the animal in men and they appeal to it. For example:

a) Reveal neck and tilt head to one side = evokes instinct to sink jaws into jugular vein
b) Wear red lipstick
c) Wear loose clothes that hang of one shoulder for example = looks like all clothes are about to fall off and invites sudden ravishing by predatory male
d) Wear jeans tight around the crotch
e) etc

Now men just don’t do that, unless they are homosexual. I think this concept of the modern, non-predatory, domesticated, passive male is WHOLLY unattractive to females, and gets you nowhere.

Re: Men more selective than women?

^ Definitely. The stereotype is that men are more visual creatures, and women go by personality..which happens to be true (every stereotype is a stereotype for a reason)..men tend to go more towards looks (and then persoanlity/character make the diference) whereas women are more forgiving ( for lack fo a better word) in that aspect---

else why do you see so many buddhay ugly guys with really young beautiful girls

lets not talk about gold diggers here.

Men and women desire their partners on security basis. Women want to be protected and men want their legacy secured. Grooming shrooming are just icing on the cake.

People who wait to be 'selected' are more like idiots than passive in my book.

And, it is not about being selective, grooming or legacy, it's about being compatible to survive.

the worth of a women is her ability to bear children...that is "beauty"

the worth of a man is MONEY...that comes with age or family

so women wear make up and tight clothes (and breastimplants) while men wear Rollex and Ferrari...

Now men just don't do that, unless they are homosexual. I think this concept of the modern, non-predatory, domesticated, passive male is WHOLLY unattractive to females, and gets you nowhere.
speak for yourself....this is WHOLLY very attractive...but unfortunately very much tooooooo rare! haha

I think it may be attractive in the beginning of a relationship when there is a requisite to be safe herself first and then later her offsprings. However, once the safety aspect is established, it becomes important to have aggressive partner who can protect her from outside dangers. The initial requirement becomes less important.

yup! its all about genetics, baby

a) i'm pretty sure our ancestors weren't vampires, so the instinct of sinking teeth into the jugular isn't very true... even neanderthal man wasn't a cannibal. it is really funny though! lol
b) red lipstick. thats a personal preference... it doesn't look good on me, but it doesn't mean subconciously i wasn't thinking of height, strength, intelligence, etc. when i was attracted to my 6'7", soccer-player, business-owner fiance :p
c) the loose clothing thing? dude, haven't you heard? tight is the new loose.
d) and too tight is just painful. ow.

its evolution, people. women want a protector who will ensure their survival and protect their children. men are attracted to women with pretty faces, curves, all the other indicators of good health and grooming etc. because they sense someone with those traits will ensure healthy children who will survive and continue their lineage.

What about Monsieur Count Dracula?

i just want hugh grant :love:

POP! goes mah heaaaart!

^ :hoonh: you just want his tight pants.

:Dhaha it sounds as if we are still in dark ages....with wolves and lions hunting for meat:D

there is no "outside dangers"..only INSIDE dangers!!
most women are killed by husband....not by strangers:D...so as i'm more intelligent than average i want a WEAKER man;);););)

correction: i want HIM in tight pants :blush:

women want money/fame…and man.. well u all can guess:cb: …

ok lemme guess: their mommy?

thank you.clap clap water cooler mera hua

america main fridge nahi hai kiya jo ghareeboun ka cooler chori kar rahi ho..:hoonh:

amreekan hoon na....ghareebo se churra ker khanay kee purani aadat hai

accha hai …kam sai kam apnai ghar sajanai ka to pata hai:halo: …

OK! Change outside dangers with "Having to work"! :)

weak guys can be very inteligent and make smart surgeons, lawyers or bankers...then wifey doesn't have to work too hard:D