Men in Blue !!!!

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Oh please even your politicians are making a mockery out of your teams recent performance.

Can't you differentiate between mockery and Danger ??

Your govt couldn't prevent hundreds of people burning the photos of national heroes, and people trashing Muhammad Kaif's,

Thousands of people burn the effigies of BUSH they elected in America every day, does that mean they are a Danger to Bush's life ?? And Md. Kaif is in SA, How people are trashing him ??

how will they prevent millions around the country if Pakistan beats India. if something stings you doesn't mean it is biased or stupid, its realistic.

It may be realistic in your country, not ours. Even If some fanatic wants to do this there is law and order to restrict them. So stop making biased comments.

If Pakistan loses to India, nothing serious will happen as we have been losing to them for such a long time in the WC but I agree, the Indian players will be in danger if they lose to Pakistan.

Same will be true for Pakistani Players if they loose to Indians.You dont have history to substantiate ur claim but we do .....Dont tell me that Wasim Akram's home was not stoned after WC'96 loss in Quarter Final.

So stop using these incidents to humiliate other people.Fact is that lots of fan in both the countries are Jahil and fanatics and they do these stupid stuffs.

Dont use this to downgrade other country or players .Both of us are in same boat.

** Bottomline : Stop this Crap .Enjoy the thread it was meant for pure fun.**

** Come on lads, this thread was meant to be a light hearted look at the difficulties being faced by the Indian team. Our own team is not far behind. So chill and enjoy rather then taking it so seriously. **

Thank you Ehsan bhai, these people are so paranoid, they get offensive very often, I just simply stated the fact that the lives of the Indian players will be in danger if they lose to Pakistan, which I'm sure everyone agrees.

Dont start it again.Why u singled out Indians...isnt that true for pakistani players if they loose to India.

Stop that crap.

What you are calling a fact is yet another Bigoted satement from you and no not everyone agrees with you.

None of the players’ life is at risk, it’s just your bigoted view.

Indians rally behind team after protests

February 18, 2003 17:59 IST

**Cricket fans in India came out to support Sourav Ganguly and his team on Tuesday after two days of protests across the country over their poor start to the World Cup. **

There was also support from politicians while police in various cities said they had stepped up security around the homes of players.

A day after an effigy of Ganguly was burnt on the streets of Calcutta, cricket fans in his home city released pigeons in a symbolic gesture of support for the Indian captain.

India, one of the pre-tournament favourites, scored just 204 runs in their opening victory over minor nation the Netherlands before losing by nine wickets to Australia on Saturday in South Africa.

“Pride of India, Pride of Bengal, we are with you Sourav,” demonstrators chanted in Calcutta, holding up placards saying: “Tiger of Bengal, cheer up”.

Pradip Prasad, the leader of the Tuesday’s demonstration, said: “Stop it. That is our message to those who are burning the effigies of Ganguly, attacking Kaif’s home and set fire to posters of other players.”

The house of middle-order batsman Mohammad Kaif in Allahabad had been smeared with black paint and oil on Sunday by fans angry at his poor form.

In Bombay, security has been tightened up at leading batsman Sachin Tendulkar’s home after fans burnt pictures of him on Monday.

“At the moment we have increased patrolling in the area where Sachin lives,” said joint commissioner of police Javed Ahmed. “We are taking every precaution.”

In Bangalore, security has been stepped up at the houses of vice-captain Rahul Dravid, paceman Javagal Srinath and leg-spinner Anil Kumble as “precautionary measure”, police said.

PARLIAMENTARY SUPPORT

The team also found support in the country’s Parliament.

“This team belongs to India. It is very unfortunate that Kaif’s house was attacked,” opposition lawmaker Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi said.

Speaker of the house, Manohar Joshi, a former cricket administrator who travelled to Centurion to watch the India-Australia clash last week, said the country needed to be proud of its team.

“The government should ensure that they (players’ homes) are given full protection,” Joshi said. “The entire house sends its good wishes and this message will be conveyed to the team.”

Sorry to dissappoint Ehsan bhai but I have to deal with them.

Asif ji, if the Indian team can lose a single match to the world champions and the Indian crowd can behave like this than just imagine the impact if the Indian team loses to Pak.

I am not justifying the people of Pakistan, they are just as jahil and idiotic as the Indians but Pakistan has been losing to India for the past 4 or 5 WCs and another win for India against Pak in this WC wouldn't really anger the pak crowd as much as how the Indians would react violentely if India loses to Pak.

Take this for example, Pakistan just lost to Australia in a very convincing fashion due to some very bad decisions from Waqar, and bad bowling display from out bowlers, but there weren't many violent protests with pictures burning of Waqar, concerning that he played badly. But India lost to a bigger margin but the reaction from the Indian crowd was 100 times as worst.

I hope you understand where I'm getting at.

asif bhai ki itni hatTi kyon hai :D jub dekho safaayaan pesh karrahe hotay hain indian players ki.....

Umair Sir... cut the BS...
did you forget Pak team's plane being diverted for safety reasons when they were returning to Pak after losing to India in the WC Quarter final in Bangalore. Benazir and Pakistan's Parliament (senate whatever) raised the issue of the loss and asked for a full investigation into the defeat. Talk of BAD LOSERS....

Dont use the Indian cricket team's current situation to take the high moral ground. When it comes to letting out emotions related to cricket, Pakis are as bad (if not worse than) Indians.

Some1..... ur rite. but i see a difference in the protest. The 96 quarter lose was highly suspected for Akram's match fixing. He was also involved in the politics against Miandad/Aaqib/Waqar. People still think that he was sole responsible for that defeat as he might have bribed other players for their poor performance, not to mention his sudden drop from the game minutes before it started.

So there were evidence that players lost that match intentionally and the main suspect was Akram for aforementioned reasons. If they had played upto their level and then lost, yes, thats acceptable and torlerable. But with these dirty tricks one cannot risk a nation's 'cricket pride'.

However I must say that stonning Akram's house was still jahalat and unacceptable. There should have been an investigation outside the PCB, as the cheif was his own cousin, who also is a controversal personality.

*Originally posted by Some1: *
Umair Sir... cut the BS...
did you forget Pak team's plane being diverted for safety reasons when they were returning to Pak after losing to India in the WC Quarter final in Bangalore. Benazir and Pakistan's Parliament (senate whatever) raised the issue of the loss and asked for a full investigation into the defeat. Talk of BAD LOSERS....

Dont use the Indian cricket team's current situation to take the high moral ground. When it comes to letting out emotions related to cricket Pakis are as bad (if not worse then) Indians.

Some1, just like your countrymen, you are not getting my point. I never said the Indian crowd is worst than Pakistan's. My point is simple, us Pakistanis have felt what is like losing to India in the previous WCs, and a win for India won't make us burn posters of the captain or trash one of our player's house.
India on other hand have never lost to Pakistan in WC, a loss would be devastating and perhaps would lead to violent action against the Indian players.

Now please read my post carefully before making any derogatory comments.

Ppl , there r fanatics both in india n pakistan. If pakistan performing like india then the same may be applicable to them. At the moment india's performance is below par. And the problem i think is the commercials put on TV. Last night in the TV show "Follow through" sidhu rightly mentioned that the indian ppl see these man in blue playing like childs n then there comes the TV commercial showing these players as super human. I think this hype is due to these Ads.

So in this situation the only face saving thing for indian team is win against pakistan. Thats simple.

If this is happening in pakistan then it is also not good.

For some ppl saying that this could only happen in paksitan not in india may have forget the pitch destruction incident when pak. visited india.