What’s the most memorable meal you’ve ever had?
What made it memorable…was it the company, the location, the food itself or all of the above?
What’s the most memorable meal you’ve ever had?
What made it memorable…was it the company, the location, the food itself or all of the above?
hmmm the most memorable meal i had was around 5 years back…
with someone very special…
it was in India…terrace restaurant on 13th floor…cold breeze…night scape of the city…Yanni in the background…
the food was delicious or may be the company made it so…
we had some coctails to start with…
hot and sour soup..
then fish tikka…then some prawn curry and parathas…veggie biryaani and finished off with a triffle…
that was the most beautiful meal i ever had…and the discussion we had was so very important at that time…no longer now ![]()
but memories
i can still recall each and every moment of that evening…
Best meal was near a small road side restaurant/dhaaba.. in balochistan. We had goshth curry and fresh naans, fresh tomatoes..
we set under a tree, near a well, all you could see surrounding us was mountains, and that dhaaba... it was a quiet afternoon and very peaceful...
I took photos there too..:)
Eating at a truck stop in Peshawar, nothing beats that daal and roti.
dang there were so many, i jus cannot decide ![]()
Well just pick one randomly and we'll tell you if it's good enough or not.
ok, i’ll pick the most recent one ![]()
it was at this restaurant called KNIGHTSBRIDGE at the outskirts of karachi
run by some pathans i think
u sit on these charpais and chownkis and u order food
we ordered lots of tasty food but the reason i loved it was coz my whole mom’s side of family almost was there
tho my dad wasnt with us he was out of town
but i had lotsa fun at that dinner ![]()
and yah it started drizzling during it too ![]()
^^
irem i jus had french fries yaar…
Hmm i remember i had some kababz … kissi aunty kay ghar khaye thay… they were so tasty
i can never ever forget em. Everytime i go to that auntyz place i always tell her how much i luv her kababz ![]()
Quite a few actually. One of them was when we were on vacation and we rented this cute apartment in the city we were staying. So dad and mom made ribs and bhai's were eating them in the funniest manner, while making faces, and mom was telling them to behave themselves. It was my birthday and I had a headache and was in shalwar and t-shirt and everyone else was dressed well so I was the odd one out. I didnt eat ribs and bhai's and dad were trying to tantalize me with them, but it didnt work. Was fun. grin
sheru
one was when i was about 5.. my mum made this huge pot of keeme walle chawal.. my parents, bro and i sat on tinish table in the lawn (taxila) and ate plates upon plates of chawal
another was when i was 10, we went back to pak and my mamoo got us fried fish with naan.. all my cousins got together and ate everything and there was nothing left for the parents ![]()
Its gotta be in Lahore, the food street and there is this channa wala in Liberaty Market, hes sells plate of Channa and NaaN, they have to be the best non- meat food that I have eaten.
The most memorable meal I have had (many times actually) in Grant road area of Mumbai, in the Coronation restaurant which is owned by a muslim and packed with us Hindus. The best damn mutton, naans, very teekha pyaz (I don't know where he got them) and washed down with a divine lussi.
dekho tum logone kya kiya. Ab muzhe meri bibi ka khana accha nahi lagega.
best meal was at midnight, early hours of the morning.. it was chargrilled chicken (sajji) . with ketchup and roti. with ice cream..to follow.
it was dark in the room ( yaani ke chup chup ke) we fed each other. so romantic.. so sweet… 2 of other cousins were there too.. laughing, joking.. saying filmi dialogues and physically wresting… hitler uncle antie were sleeping.. we were running on pure adrenalin - ke wo na jaagay… kiya yaadain taaza kar di ![]()
fab :k:
sighzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Aray yaar, main yahan baithke mera pastrami sandwich kha raha hoon aur tum prawn curry ki baat kar rahe ho. Gharib par reham karo yaar.
Shahreen,
Recently I was visiting Toronto and my cousins, my parents, sisters all decided to hit Gerrard Street. We went to this Lahore tikka House that has shameeanas (tents) outside. The music was blasting and the wind was blowing. Felt just like a wedding in Pakistan. Good old days !
The company was amazing. My cousins and I had a blast. We cracked jokes, told old stories, had dinner, ate kulfi, masala chai...
Its so vivid in my mind..still...
Beautiful evening...
having lunch at a truck restaurant on the silk route highway. We went down 2 a lake to cool our drinks and cool ouselves… :love:
When we went to Isloo a couple of years ago and went up to one of those mountain sight seeing spots (don't recall the name!), but we were all starving and it was lunch time. From the tiny restaurant at that place, we ordered Karhai chicken and daal with Naans. uff!!! it was one of the best karhai chicken and daals I've ever had in my life!!!! Just wonderful!! The weather was gorgeous and we were all so relaxed. The food was amazing from that lil tiny 'restaurant' :)
Then when I stopped throwing up during my visit in Karachi, my chachi and I went out shopping and we ate gol gappay from this really gaanda sa thailay wala LOL!!! The gol gappay tasted so good after the plate was washed in some highly dirty unhygenic water :D hahaha! Can't beat that - memories :)
*Originally posted by Simba Mamoo: *
hmmm the most memorable meal i had was around 5 years back...
with someone very special...
it was in India...terrace restaurant on 13th floor...cold breeze...night scape of the city...Yanni in the background...
the food was delicious or may be the company made it so...
sounds so romantic :)
Re: Memories
*Originally posted by Shahreen: *
What's the most memorable meal you've ever had?
What made it memorable.......was it the company, the location, the food itself or all of the above?
it was back in june 2004, having tea and pakoras seated on top of DAMAN-E-KOH overlooking the full arch of the rainbow,(coz it just rained)with my other half. WOW B-E-Autiful!!!!!!!