KARACHI/FAISALABAD: Security agencies picked up at least six people from across the country on Friday in connection with the recent terrorist attack on PNS Mehran airbase.
Five of the suspects were arrested in Karachi and the sixth in Faisalabad.
Sources said raids were carried out in Karachi’s Shah Faisal and Model colonies and five suspects were taken into custody. All of them belonged to proscribed militant groups.
In Faisalabad, security personnel raided a seminary in Chak 363-GB, Sattiana, and arrested a man identified as Qari Qaiser for his alleged links with terrorists who attacked the naval base.
However, the police did not confirm the arrest and said no policeman took part in the raid.
The accused was shifted to an undisclosed location for interrogation, the sources said.
**KARACHI: **Initial investigations into the terror attack on PNS Mehran in Karachi revealed on Saturday that the terrorists attacked the navy installation in two groups, Express 24/7 reported.
One of the groups targeted P3C Orion aircraft while the other entered the flight line building. Security forces surrounded that building from three sides and an exchange of fire ensued.
According to an officer of the investigating team, one of the terrorists, who was hiding inside the building, got injured by a bullet and blew himself up, turning the building into rubble. The rubble has now been removed from the base. All necessary evidence has also been collected from the site.
Earlier, five people were taken into custody for suspected involvement in the attacks. One of the suspects was nabbed from Faisalabad while four others were caught from various areas of Karachi.
One of the arrests resulted from traced phone calls from a terrorist cell phone, recovered after the 17-hour siege at PNS Mehran Base. Sunday’s assault was the worst on a military base since the army headquarters was besieged in October 2009.
According to the report all the arms used in **PNS Mehran attack were Russian-made and communication gadgets were made in America.
**Out of seven rockets used in attack two didn’t work. The bullets were produced in 2008 while guns were made in 2004. The base personnel were attacked from a distance of 80 to 100 meters.
Musharraf said that he was not responsible for Benazir Bhutto’s death and would soon be acquitted.
At a press conference in London, former president of Pakistan General Pervez Musharraf said** that India could be involved in the attacks on the Pakistan Naval Station Mehran Base. General Musharraf said that it is possible that there may be sympathy for the Taliban in the lower ranks of the army.**
General Musharraf said that the Pakistani and Indian Intelligence agencies need to stop operation against each other and both the countries need to cooperate with each other to eliminate terrorism.
General Musharraf said that Benazir Bhutto was not shot and she died due to a head injury caused by the lever. He said that he was not responsible for the death of Benazir Bhutto and would soon be acquitted. He also said that the Akbar Bugti case is also false.
General Pervez Musharraf said that the Obama administration needs to bring forth the evidence of Osama’s assassination. He said that President Obama’s statement on the operation in Pakistan was irresponsible.
According to the report all the arms used in **PNS Mehran attack were Russian-made and communication gadgets were made in America.
**Out of seven rockets used in attack two didn’t work. The bullets were produced in 2008 while guns were made in 2004. The base personnel were attacked from a distance of 80 to 100 meters.
why dont they tell identity and role of those people arrested. Atleast this time people need to know.
They have arrested people in the past to make the headlines but released them in few days . i hope they get to bottom this this time.
why dont they tell identity and role of those people arrested. Atleast this time people need to know.
They have arrested people in the past to make the headlines but released them in few days . i hope they get to bottom this this time.
they must be inventing support documents and stories to prove raw indian hand, poor i.s.i. very hard job to do for experts in training terrorists , except subversion they know nothing about covert operations ,
Poor RAW, how silly of ISI to accuse this whiter than white organisation of subversion. Get a life.
The Sindh Government on Sunday formed another joint investigation team to probe the attack at PNS Mehran Base.
Provincial Home Department has also issued a notification in this regard. The investigation team will include personnel from the ISI, MI, Rangers, Police and other law enforcing agencies.
The team will look into various aspects of the attack at PNS Mehran and submit its findings to the provincial government.
The navy team already investigating the attack is led by Admiral Tehseenullah Khan and includes personnel from navy, air force, police and rangers.
According to Tv channels Rahman Malik disclosed in brief that attackers of PNS Mehran were helped.
He didn't said who helped but it is very clear that the help was from inside PNS Mehran.
Forget covert operations. Indians don't even know where their most wanted terrorists are.
no problem with that after all they were terrorists on i.s.i. pay roll but caught by indian agencies and under legal proceeding, after all they have been caught by indians like your own kasab. and your i.s.i. criminals act against your own govt. this happens only when you use your agency for terrorists training agency and bomb blasting criminals in the name of defence agency, so you are reaping today what you did sow in 80’s. abhi aur bure din aane wale hai because you do not try to learn from past.
abhi aur bure din aane wale hai because you do not try to learn from past.
Thank you indi k
Thanks for informing.We are learning and hope will tell you soon the result.
Wait, We are still alive and soon you will see us in much better position.
just ignore Anwer shahib!!! its useless to speak to ppl who hav nothing but hatred for my motherland!!
they can say whtever they want!! humein kio ferq nahi perdta!! let them satisfy their ego!
It is better to see them here.
Their opinion may be a lesson for us.
No problem what happened ,
We are still a brave and struggling nation,
We have a bright future and we are among richest and power full nations of the world.
God is there to help us if we tried.
It is better to see them here.
Their opinion may be a lesson for us.
No problem what happened ,
We are still a brave and struggling nation,
We have a bright future and we are among richest and power full nations of the world.
God is there to help us if we tried.
Indeed!! Pakistan is sucha resiliant nation!!! we will bounce back!! just like we always do!! :)