okay so heres a simple question, im meeting my bf’s parents , i noe" boyfriend" isnt the right word to use, but we wanna get our nikkah done. and well. im fearing the question " why did you choose him" obviously there are many reasons however i dont know what to say, i mean i dont want his mother to think that its puppy love because its way more then that. your opinions would be much appreciateddd , thank u so muchh ![]()
Re: meeting the parents
just be yourself and speak from the heart, no matter if its puppy love.
Why DID you choose him?
If it isn't puppy love, your reasons will let it show. Don't stress about it. If you believe he is the one, you will be fine.
don't try to be someone you're not. like everyone said be yourself. dont try too hard to impress them, because they should accept you for who you are exactly the way you are.
just dress nicely, and be polite.
i dont think anyone asks this question but we love the people we love because of who they are.
Huh??? ![]()
I’m having a hard time picturing desi parents point blank asking the girl “Why did you choose him?” I could be wrong, but I doubt that such a question would even come up. His parents would be more interested in knowing why he chose YOU.
exactly.. guys mom are usually too picky.. the find their ugly husband extremely beautiful too unless she's understanding and not possesssive type.
The politically correct way to say it would be "I care for him very much, and I see him as part of my family".
Period.
Why would she even ask you such a question??? I can't imagine it taking place among desi parents. She may ASK her OWN son why he picked you.......she more than likely will do it in your absence. Even if his parents don't ask this question, then they will wonder about it and attempt to find the answer after they have met you (by observing your positive traits, etc).
Your parents might wonder "Why you picked him"....they may ask you this.....or try to find out the answer after meeting him in person.
In the event that you are asked such a question by his parents....
You can say that you find his personality compatible to you (similar temperaments and interests, sense of humor, , etc).
That's probably the last question in your in law's mind. It's not a job interview!
Parents ask such questions…???
For some reason, I can’t imagine that. If a girl were to answer that, I picture her parents or the guy’s parents saying, “Haaawww, sharam kar!!”
But IF I were asked that, I’d say, “Your son and I have a good understanding. We’re compatible. I can see him as a good husband, son in-law, and brother in-law to myself and my family.”
LOL. Would that be a trick question then? Shame on the parents for deliberately asking her a question they don’t want her to answer (using it to measure her level of sharam). IN that case, she should either
A) twirl the end of her dupatta with one finger…a strand of hair with another finger…look down at the ground and display all the sharam in the world.
B) Or turn it on the parents…“Haaaw…aap kaisy baykhuda sawal pooch rahain hain mujh se!!”
A) twirl the of her dupatta with one finger...a strand of hair with another finger....look down at the ground and display all the sharam in the world.
Hmmm, maybe say, "Honay walay ammi ji aur abu ji (giggle, look down, blush)... main iss sawaal ka jawab nahin de sakti (giggle)"
All you need to do is smile at he guy and wink at him, when his mother asks the question. Trust me it would be totally worth it.
LOL that would shock the mother!
I could imagine that.
Just speak from the heart. Why did you choose him?
"Because he is a well rounded individual, hes kind, caring and understanding, I can honestly say that it must be due to his excellent bringing up aunty jee. I admit everyone has faults, but I would have search high and far to find his"
smile sweetly at aunty jee
No one will ask you that...in their minds the question is actually "why did our son choose HER?"
Focus more on leaving them with a great impression of you, polite, respectful, modest, etc.
that would be such a stupid question, you should just stare if someone asks you that
LOL...has anyone ever been asked that? Im just wondering here...
Just something to consider for the OP here...MILs never wonder why YOU chose their son. They will always wonder why their son decided to settle for someone like you.
Just tell them you didn't choose him, he chose YOU!
"auntie jee, it's cause your son is so well hung Mashallah."
and whatever you do, make sure you wear the heaviest, most hardcore makeup you've ever worn. they'll just fall in love with you. good luck.