I know what PCG is talking about and i've seen this kinda attitude alot where desi ppl and pakistani ppl in general will talk to the people they know and not really try to involve the outsider in ... luckily the solution to this problem is simple ... nxt time u meet any of those grls PCG just pass a compliment to one of em ... about anything hair and shoes are usually the more receptive topics ... and end it with oh i wish i cld pull it off and just see how they become nice to you ...
hi pcg, here is what i tell all my socially defunct clients
carry with you at all times a list of icebreaker topics.. these can be anything really, but try to avoid politics and religion. also, absolutely no mentioning your bodily functions at any point in the conversation. it could be something like this.
*PCG: Salaam Aunty. Kaisey hai aap? baal bachey? Uncle? Aap ka woh cute sa beta? :) :)
Aunty: ws. :|
PCG: Aur woh aaj mausam kitna hot thaa.. global warming ka hai zamana :(
Soon you will have a regular circle of acquaintances wherever you go, and you will have no trouble breaking into cliques. Good luck.
Thats so true. No politics or religion.
Even In the workplace, when there aren't "desi's" its just better to talk about current events, interests, etc.
Anyway, before this thread becomes about me. Let's get back to the main topic.
hey..i was just responding to your experience and not the concept or general topic of desi cliques. was not trying to turn this thread about you. I think you already did that :)
the opposite. no one invites me to desi parties.
they're so clicque-ish down here. i try to talk to girls, and they will be short and resume chatting with their girlfriends.
Being social is easy when you’re genuine and don’t come with an agenda. Part of what makes life amazing is the opportunity to meet new people, talk, and learn about different perspectives.
I feel bad for people who are socially awkward, their lives are not enriched by the cross-communication with other human beings. I suspect that GS is popular for this very reason – it’s easy to type away behind the computer screen rather than stepping out in the sunlight to talk to another person.
I think it’s going to get worse in the twitter, myspace, facebook age.
Being social is easy when you’re genuine and don’t come with an agenda. Part of what makes life amazing is the opportunity to meet new people, talk, and learn about different perspectives.
I feel bad for people who are socially awkward, their lives are not enriched by the cross-communication with other human beings. I suspect that GS is popular for this very reason – it’s easy to type away behind the computer screen rather than stepping out in the sunlight to talk to another person.
could not agree more, but in some weird situation it depends on the ppl you mingle with.
Now come on dude, you were one of the coolest guy, now you picking on ppl?
First, I think its all upon an individual.. Yes, desis are most often shy but not all. I know so many desis who are as much social with everyone as can anyone be. But again in desis, it also depends whether they are FOBs or ABCDs. Usually ABCDs have absolute no problem in getting acquainted with anyone and increase their social terms. FOBs are quite opposite.
I dont think so....I know people who dont have agendas and yet they have a hard tme being social, making friends etc.
could not agree more, but in some weird situation it depends on the ppl you mingle with.
Now come on dude, you were one of the coolest guy, now you picking on ppl?
Jimmy, I am not naming names here. But it’s true with any online community where people spend way too much time, because it’s easier than stepping out and actually talking to someone.
Once or twice you can say the person wasn't a good friend or the crowd isn't right for you..but if it happens frequently enough and often enough, one should be strong enough to look at themselves at what they're doing wrong instead of going through life playing the victim card.....
You want to meet new people? Get away from GS! Seriously, if you sit on this online forum all day exchanging messages with people you really don't know much about, it will severely inhibit your social skills!
I think online forums are worse than facebook/chatting with friends. At least people on your facebook are your actual friends or acquaintances that you've usually met in person or at least you can put a face to their names!
Once or twice you can say the person wasn't a good friend or the crowd isn't right for you..but if it happens frequently enough and often enough, one should be strong enough to look at themselves at what they're doing wrong instead of going through life playing the victim card.....
Social awkwardness doesn’t mean that you can’t make friends. There are entire social networks based on a group of socially awkward friends who prefer to play World of Warcraft all day and attend sci-fi conventions together. You don’t need to be the life of the party to make friends, in fact most people make friends one at a time, where social conventions play less of a role especially when the other person is as awkward.
Even on that show “Big Bang Theory” you have 4 super smart guys who have a small network of friends.
Actually I know a lot of socially awkward people who are very social and can be seen at every event! Whether they have any real/close friends in their huge social circle is up for debate.
Spot on. Just add to that, we are not discussing becoming Mr./Mrs. Popularity here.
Social awkwardness doesn’t mean that you can’t make friends. There are entire social networks based on a group of socially awkward friends who prefer to play World of Warcraft all day and attend sci-fi conventions together. You don’t need to be the life of the party to make friends, in fact most people make friends one at a time, where social conventions play less of a role especially when the other person is as awkward.
Even on that show “Big Bang Theory” you have 4 super smart guys who have a small network of friends.
Any other reasons?
Okay so what exactly is being "socially awkward" anyways? maybe i have the wrong idea of it......
I dont think socially awkward means having interests that are outside of the norm.but rather social skills that are just not in place...for whatver reason.