Meetha oil... what to cook in it??

hi guys.. my lovely GS members.. i know u guys are always there to help so am here. just made gulab jamuns yesterday and MA turned out gud.. not bad at all cus i made them for first time. now i deep fried them. now prb is i duno wot to do with the oil now.. the prb is oil tastes a bit sweet so i def cant use them for normal khana shaana paka’ing’ :smiley: so pls suggest wot other meetha i can make that requires frying. i dun wanna waste the oil… i wanna make atleast 1-2 more sweet dishes in it.. and also pls suggest even if i use it for one or two more sweets wot do i ULTIMATELY do with the oil (if its left).. ? pls share sum nice meethi recipesssssss.. love u thanks in advance

P.S: I know i can make siwaiyan and all that by using this oil but i wud prefer sum kinda fryin sweet dish so most of the oil is used.. i used alota oil for fryin jamuns

Re: Meetha oil... wot to cook in it??

how about zarda? or shahi tukray ?

By the way... I use the same oil for frying anda's in the morning .. it gives the anda a nice sweet taste :@:

meethey meethey kahaneyannn aur baatein

arrrrrrrrrgh...... pls suggest something!!!!!!!!!!!! i m serious!

hmmmm zarda with the oil?? Hmmmm its supposed to b made with ghee i think! and shahi tukray fry nahi hote na i mean deep fry. i was thinkin somethin like jalebi.. u need alota oil for that.. i want something along those lines only. and ewwwwww dusnt the egg taste all weird.. sweet and salty at same time?

Re: Meetha oil... what to cook in it??

zarda, shahi tukray, jalebi, meethi tikiyan, bulbulay, halwa, sawiyan.

why your oil is sweet, gulabjaman mixture should have no sugar in it....

zarda, shahi tukray, jalebi, meethi tikiyan, bulbulay, halwa, sawiyan.

why your oil is sweet, gulabjaman mixture should have no sugar in it....

no the anda tastes brilliant with that saltysweet taste :@: ..

Waise , you know , the oil doesnt really become that sweet to overtake the effect of the masala's .. I have occasionally used the gulab jamun fry wala oil in day to day khana and it tastes fine ...

I use oil in zarda coz i dont have ghee easily available here .. so yeah you can definitely try making zarda..

hmmm ure rite. i shud take risk n probably try to make khana in it too!

dunnoo yaar.. i didnt put any sugar but nido milk (powder milk) always has sum amount of sugar in it rite?!

hey lusi can u gimme recipe of meethi tikyan?? n wots bulbulay???

Re: Meetha oil… what to cook in it??

well, why don’t you try making a small quantity of something, like an omelete, to see if the taste is affected, since u didn’t put any sugar in the gulab jamun mixture.

btw how did u maket he gulab jamuns, since they turned out good :yummy:

Also what kind of oil did you use for frying? corn oil, veg oil etc?

sara lemme go n check for kinda oil it was. brb

Re: Meetha oil… what to cook in it??

yeah could do that too but i m in experimentation mood… wanna make sweets and all cus hubs really liekd the gulab jamuns!! i used sunflower oil sara but i think oil kind dusnt matter as ive not seen any chef specifying which oil to use. i wudnt mind sharin my recipe but i think i made a few mistakes.. they were pretty gud and ppl said they looked and tasted like i bought them from outside but i am not satisfied.. ill change my recipe next time i make them. but here is exactly how i made it:

3 cups nido milk
5 tbs all purpose flour
2 eggs
1 tsp bakin pwder

i tink i shudnt have used so mch nido cus i cud taste too mch nido in the jamun. i saw another recipe and they had used 2 cups milk nido and one cup flour… so flour shud b atleast 1 cup less than milk and i only put 5tbs. another mistake i think i put only 2 eggs… i shudve put 3 large eggs instead of only 2 large ones.

for syrup i also made mistake i used only 2 cups sugar and 2 cups water… i shudve used 3 cups water as it thickens anyway. i put cardamon pwdr, rose water kewra essense. and i made another mistake. i made the sheera and then made balls and fried them. BIG MISTAKE!!! cheeni sari jam ke white hogaye it was baddddddd then i had to put water again and boil it again… make sure its not chachsni kind (as in chipkay na ungli pay) i tried chipaknay wala sheera and it was not working … water was thickening and i needed alot of wter so the jamuns can swim in them. so i guess make it thick but not vv thick u know. and put it on low flame so that when ur jamuns are fried u immediately put them in sheera. trust me it was crazy cus i had to make the dough two times cus it was soooooo crumbly. pls make sure you put no water.. lil bit milk(normal one) is ok but no water. and pls make sure if ur eggs are small u put atleast 4 eggs.. anyways the end result was awsum despite all the crazyyyyyyyyyyyy mistakes i made. i realised one more thing. if u think they turned out a bit crumbly or nido tasting put them in microwave for 5 mins.. they will become sooooooooo soft yar.. it was so yummy the next day i cant tell u. also pls make sure the balls are normal size cus they grow in size.. dun make them v big. i made round ones.

Mall , next time add a few drops of lemon juice to the sheera .. lemon juice doesnt let the sugar caramalize or become hard ... also, when you start frying the balls, reduce the flame under the sheera to the minimum... so its just warm but not boiling ...

Coz when you add water on top of already boiled sheera, it can make your jamuns soggy later on ....

hmmm thanks CB.. sum gud tips there. will make gulab jamuns again.. i did put sheera on low flame once i strted fryin. CB tell me something.. did i do anything wrong by using only 3 cups nido and only 5 tbs flour? i copied it from chef gulzar's recipe but other sites make it either equal or flour is only 1 cup less than powder milk... how do u make jamuns.. if u make them

CB has a very nice recipe ...this topic of Gulab Jamuns is i believe one of the much discussed topics at GS:P

waisey i last time used farah 's recipe...it was really gr8..i dont admire chef gulzar that much..to me he is not that a pro..but anyway to each their own:)...I rather would love to follow (and thats' what i do) shireen appa,rida and zubaida appa...

i don't experiment with anything unless i m 200 % sure that it would turn out fantastic...

by the way its u tellign the oil is meetha...i didn't know about that..:O

but i keep the deep-frying oil and cooking oil separate...deep-frying oil is sunflower or corn oil and cooking only canola oil...
and after deep-fryign for 3 times i don't use the oil anymore..i throw it in the sink simply...bcz then its not good for your health:)

oh i love gulzar for his continental cooking and all.. desi bhi acha karleta hia. i like rida and shireen too!! but i dun enjoy zubaida much cus she dusnt act her age at all.. all those sleeveless (trust me ive seen her on the masala anniv show) and those deep necklines.. i have lil respect for her in my heart really!! cookin bhi sirf gharelo type karti hia. anyway lets not get into this debate. why dun experiment? i found it odd that u wanna b 200 percent sure itll turn out gud. wots the point of experimentation if u KNOW it will turn out gud yaar??? experimentation ka matlab hi hia a bit of risk here and there. i love experimentin and MA it rarely ever disappoints me. also pls dun throw oil in sink.. it will clog ur sink.. its a complete NO NO!!!