Meera or Zara Sheikh?

Since this IS a Pakistani forum, how about we talk a bit about Pakistani actresses! I wonder if anyone has seen Zara Sheikh and if so what do you think? Im sure everyone knows about Meera - so if you were to compare the two - who would come out on top??!

well if u ask me i'll say that nealy all the paki actresses r pretty but they r damn bad at acting.
the point is that they r there for acting ,but at the end of the day if they can't do that then their looks r 'becar'(useless)
all of them just worry about how to compete with the looks of each other, agar thora sa waqat acting par dehann dein tho kahan se kahan tak pohanch saqti hain........

I think you've got a point khurri. However, I think that a lot of those actresses have the potential and under a good director you can glimpse that potential. The fault lies in the directors also - they put the actresses on the screen as a pretty thing to draw the public to, and the roles aren't too meaty. That industry needs better directors, script writers, musicians and designers - once that is taken care of, you'll see the performance of the actresses/actors rise. I haven't seen zara sheikh act, cuz i can't get ahold of any paki movie here in miami. I saw Meera only once in cheif saab - she was okay then, but i hear she's improved a lot since those days.

i haven't seen 'terey pyar mein' but Zara is supposedly a very good actor

"Yup. That's a bleeping dead alien."
--DM

well i dont see paki movies…
and i have no idea about how they act…
but i have see zara’s pics…
and she is ummm much better than meera…
so pretty

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

Zara is certainly a better actress than Meera, in my opinion.She won the best actress award for her very first film which is pretty awesome.Meera though, certainly has the style to go with her good looks.Plus she's an excellent dancer.Probably the best we have at the moment.

Most of these new Pakistani actresses are definately on the top in the looks department and can act as well.Its just the script writers and the directors that are lacking at the moment.

I haven't watched any movies/darams by either one of these actresses, so i can't really say which one is the better actress. I think they produce much off-camera action with each other, than they do on the sets. It's quite sickening actually.

About their looks, i think both of them are good looking in their own ways. Meera has been in the industry for a while, so she has that 'mature' look. I think she has very classical desi features. Zara on the other hand is relatively new compared to Meera, and she has the young/fresh look. It's a good change.

Maybe the problem lies in what we are comparing their acting abilities to.
Are we saying that they are bad compared to eachother or american actresses? I've only seen s few movie clips and I think Meera is OK for her field. I'm not used to foreign films though.
BTW, Meera's cool... I'm kinda biased.

well i dont watch paki movies really but i have seeeeeeeeen those two and i will definately say that its ZARA who is pretty and good.

So Stephie,
Where did you see the clips? It's interesting to see someone that is not Pakistani having such curiosity.

i just recently got into Pakistani movies in the past year or so. Indian movies are getting so blah. I like Pakistani actors...they're so attractive to look at especially Shaan and Moamar Rana. The actresses are pretty too, much better looking than their Indian counterparts, even though the acting and dancing needs much improvement when you compare the Lollywood industry to the Bollywood one. Even though I was born here in the US, I am patriotic, especially during these days, and I have to say, FOLKS: Watch Pakistani TV and Pakistani shows as much as you can instead of watching Indian movies and giving them $ towards theater tickets and Indian stage shows, etc.
After all, we're damn better than them anyday.

Between the two, I think Meera is very very pretty and Zara is pretty too. I like both their styles but Meera puts on way too much makeup...she needs to tone it down a bit. Zara is model-pretty with youthful rakish looks.

Moona - I totally agree with you - but our Lollywood has much more improvement that it needs to make before it can pull the same audience Indian movies do now. So lets wait and c if lollywood can pump up their talent --and it would really help the industry if they didn't refer to themselves as "lollywood" - what a stupid name for a film industry

They dont refer to themselves as Lollywood.Its the media that does so,just for fun.We dont have the likes of Meera or Zara or anyone else in the industry going around callin themselves “Lollywood stars”

What we need are real directors.So far the only on thats impressed me is Sameena Pirzada - watch Inteha youll like it.

Zara Sheikh ki apni beauty hey aur Meera ki apni. Meera key husn mein mashriqi pen hey aur uski beauty classisical legti hey, jebke Zara Sheikh mein thora maghribi pen hey. Hey na??

Zara is the BEST. Meera does not have a class, she looks like a street hooker.

Zara has some class.

The only reason why they look like street hookers is cuz filmi make-up artists suck royally. Zara Sheikh looked good in Tere Pyar Mein becuase Khawar Riaz, one of the best in paki fashion industry, did her grooming and wardrobe. If you look at Meera in print modelling photo layouts - she looks way better than she does on the film screen - its not cuz of the way she looks as much as it is becuase of the make-up...

both have their own charm and beauty…can’t say which is better…in some picturez u’ll c zara is better-looking than meera and in some itz the opposite…in my opinion, both are beautiful…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…