Media attention given to VTech Killer

Now with the arrival of an 1800 worded statement, 28 video clips, and 48 photos by Cho Seung-Hui and (most likely) sent by him to NBC studios via mail after he killed 2 students in a dorm but before killing another 31 (including himeself) the media blitiz about Cho has come with it. What is the effect of this? Is it a good idea to disect, analyze, and pour attention over Cho in the mass media forum? Does such attention and post mortem fame from the media spurn other mental disturb/violent/evil people to act in a similar manner? Among Cho’s partly incoheriant whine sent to NBC he does make reference to the Columbine High school killers.

Does this spotlight cause any deranged person to ever think, “Hey that could be me?” and of course more importantly, does such a person then act out that thought?

Or is the damage of this media attention limited to causing the society to become more fearful and yet at the same time move them one step closer to being numb to such violence?

Re: Media attention given to VTech Killer

media is always good in playing with minds...so they create more n more hype...to create more an more revenue...in fact BRAINWASHING (since we are packed among their gadget)
n ya u r rite in returns they wana reveal that we are teh most innocent creature world have ever seen..."magar pata nahi q phir bhi hum per he zulm hota hai"

Nothing makes news in this world until there's some violence, vulgarity or some astonishing things about the item the media wants to cover.

There's no doubt that media sometimes goes over the limit but for these kinda incidents, the media has to pour its whole effort in digging out the background of these kinds of monsters. If they start censoring info about people like Cho or any other criminal, there will be more crimes committed simply because we won't be able to know the root causes for these kinda things.

Umer

Im glad i havent turned opn the TV for the past 4 days. No stress. No bad news or good news. :yahoo:

Funny, no updates on Imus. This tragic occurance is perfection for the media. They can trot out every talking head criminologist, psychologist, crisis expert, blah, blah blah. Wait til they find this kids parents. Those poor people will probably commit suicide out of typical Asian shame. Actually the whole of South Korea is apologizing for the actions of one of ther sons.

The People who seek to find the "lesson" here are actually almost pathetic. The "lesson" is that mentally ill people can be dangerous. In every society, in every community around the world, this kind of thing happens, albiet in smaller ways and with little or no press coverage. This kid was deranged, delusional, paranoid, and a classic case of psychosis. My biggest regret is that other delusional people will embrace his acts, like this guy did with Columbine. He becomes a counter-culture hero to his fellow delusionals.

People going berserk with weapons is not a racial thing. The press coverage tends to make one think that this is more or less concentrated in one class or race, but mental illness is a universal affliction.

2 Likes

Media is playing the role, from "VTech Massacre" to biggest killing spree in U.S history. So much attention is given to this person and his personality that it just makes the mourning of victim's family even thornier.

its really disgusting how much media coverage the guy and his pathetic plays/dramas/mug shots are getting. this is exactly what he wanted.

24 hour news was the worst thing to happen to news.

when events like this happen, they spent 80% of their time if not more on these. and I just wonder...dude what would yo be covering if this did not happen.

right now its hokies, priot t that it was Imus, prior to that it was anna nicol,e at one time it was that scott dude i cali who killed his wife, we had the whole arthur andersen lynching by media way back in 2001.

I dunno, I am fed up with al these 'news' channels. I am better off getting my news from other sources.

These regular channel news are good for Sports & Weather only.

they keep mentioning his ethnic background - i mean give him some break on his ethnicity. He didn't kill others becasue he was S.Korean...
Most of the school killings were done by whites in past.. if ethnic background is the reason..............

Fox News announced on the air late Thursday morning that it would no longer air Cho’s material, saying “sometimes you change your mind.”
Source

I wonder if this quote in the gunman’s manifesto made them change their mind:
“Thanks to you, I die like Jesus Christ”
Source

Who wants to bet that if it was another prophet (you know who), things would have been different.

^^EXACTLY! this is what I had been thinking after I saw a small clip of Cho using Jesus's name in his message....I think main reason for the media to not show Cho's whole 23 page long message is because he talked about Christianity in it. If it were Islam they would show every sec of the video and writings....soo sad!

Dang folks, everything does not revolve around Islam.

The fact is that frequently people experiencing psychotic breaks invoke extreme sexual, religious, paranoid fantasies. Religion has nothing to do with this. Race, social station, political views all take distant second place to a profoundly sick human being.

And, just for the record, the last mass murderer that was a 24/7 media phenomenon was the "beltway sniper", who happened to be a Black Muslim. Nobody made a big deal of this, as he was basically a sick individual. His religious views were relatively unimportant in the scheme of his illness.

^ Actually a really big deal WAS made out of his being a Muslim revert at that time. Of course, with time, the story goes away, so we don't hear much about that guy.

UTD, I think you have a good point. News, by definition, is any thing that is news worthy. It doesn't have to be focused on covering only the good guys. In fact, more often it is coverage of bad guys, because that is news worthy. I didn't watch any news channel for the past 3-4 days due to various reasons (not to avoid this news) so I am not sure what they were telecasting about this guy, Cho. But I'll be glad if they focus on future i.e. how to keep our kids safe in schools and universities, as well as investigate the harmful affects of drugs like Prozac (assuming that contributed to this guy's mental disorder). Its more important to talk about how we can avoid such a deadly tragedy in the future, rather than focusing too much on one dead SOB.

I think that Romanian born Jewish professor is getting a lot more attention than the other victims. There are three muslims killed but no one is talking about them .

Well said!!!

Thing is you can blame media outlets as m,uch as you like but the simple fact is they give the public what it wants...

We as people are more interested in hearing bad things than good things...imagine if a paper only printed good news...it would be boring...

Fact is bad things are the only thing of interest to us really...how many of you who complained about this media portrayal clamoured to see the manifesto video and read all about him...

If we as a public werent interested then media outlets wouldnt be interested...dont make them the fall guys especially when yo uread the stuff...

I mean people moan about the Royal Family getting hounded by the press but those same people know all their business...

Sounds like BS to me...if the media didnt tell you what was going on then you'd be annoyed...