Mecca for the rich: Islam's holiest site 'turning into Vegas'

Re: Mecca for the rich: Islam’s holiest site ‘turning into Vegas’

they could have done it on the outskirts of the city not directly in the center. the entire picture looks so ugly :disgust:

Re: Mecca for the rich: Islam's holiest site 'turning into Vegas'

Your logic defy the very reason we are talking about here. If Saudi continue there bullshyt ideology by next 100 years we will only left with Kabbah in Mecca & dome of Prophet (PBUH) in Medina. These dumb idiots already destroy the old maps of graves & markings in Jannat ul Baqee, and hundreds of mosques, Prophet (PBUH) era forts, columns and what else not.

Doing hajj is minor issue compare to the destruction done by these lunatics. By the way Saudi's are not having paid lunches all of these pilgrims add considerable revenue to there economy.

They could have built a level above and expanded without touching the original sites for mosque expansion, for accommodation, high-rises make sense due to land issues, they could make it a little farther out though. The challenge now is that how do u expand when you have massive hotels in the way?

Building and expanding is fine, but they have to preserve history, how about markers for sites, forget preserving anything but critically important sites, at least mark the sites, move any original material to a museum.

Most of the history has already been lost. All that remains now is Hira and Thour.

Not even. I bet you they'll do something to it, it was in the article.

Al-Masjid al-Nawabi*For many years, hardline Wahabi clerics have had their sites set on the 15th century green dome that rests above the tomb holding the Prophet, Abu Bakr and Umar in Medina. The mosque is regarded as the second holiest site in Islam. Wahabis, however, believe marked graves are idolatrous. A pamphlet published in 2007 by the Saudi Ministry of Islamic Affairs, endorsed by Abdulaziz Al Sheikh, the Grand Mufti of Saudi Arabia, stated that "the green dome shall be demolished and the three graves flattened in the Prophet's Masjid"

They'll have to be ready for the world's revolt if it comes down, which is why they never did it in the 1920s. But just wait, I'm sure they'll do something to it during our lifetime.

So now you can gamble, drink and whore around in Mecca? Wow. Saudi has really changed or people have never been to vegas. :rolleyes:

Vegas is not only for gambling, drinking and whoring around, plenty of which happens in saudi palaces, so get a clue as well.

it's sad. and surely they can't change or do anything to Masjid-e-Nabwi. It's a beautiful place and surely they wouldn't demolish or remove the grave markings because that would be downright cruel to our Islamic heritage and history.

It's the mosque that needs expansion. What's the point of buidling skyscrapers and loads of hotels there. It just isn't fair. Makkah is a wonderful city. Please let it be such.

good point, the comparison is asinine.

there would be better ways of saying it has become more glitzy or caters more to the rich, or has obnoxious buildings popping up (as anyplace does and as it did even 10-20 years ago. I know, I was there)

Islamic heritage is not graves and buildings , Islamic heritage is Quran , Sunnah and Hadith.
Holy Prophet(SAW) himself said that my legacy is Quran and Sunnah if you hold on to it you will never go stray.
Al a Saud have taken this hadith and this philosophy literally and look at them they are Mashallh so blessed in this world. What more can they ask for ? :silly:

Sarcasm is intentional.

You won't see Skyscrapers going up in the Vatican. This is so idiotic.

Pope is not as rich as Al a Saud

although in the defense of saudis, vatican does not attract the sheer number of people at one time in the year. the logistics that it takes is massive in magnitude comparatively. The terrain also does not help, and if you have people too far out, the load on any transportation system will be significant. I am aware that the large hotels around do not serve all pilgrims and you still have to deal with the transportation issue.

had I been charged with the task, I would preserve as much of the ancient mecca as possible, building above it. for other parts of the city, I would designate them as the area to build pilgrim residential/commercial places and move the regular population outwards to a new city built outside. That is the only way to have room to expand, provide easy access to pilgrims without having to maintain and run a big transportation service moving pilgrims back and forth etc

Maybe the article is exaggerating with the vegas comparisons..

BUT

as i have come to saudia yesterday and read this article almost the very same day, almost everyone i talked to said one similar thing..

'People look at royal clock instinctively when they should be looking at Baitullah'

should be able to post first hand impressions and pictures. but this commercialisation of mecca is pathetic

I would love to see Turkey invade Saudi Arabia. March into Riyadh and get rid of the filth (Royals). Remove the authoritarian regime.

Wishful thinking.

Oh good. Now Jeddah is like Vegas. Lets not forget Doha, Amman and a few other cities added to it. :rolleyes:

How is Prophet (pbuh)'s wife's house going to benefit you? Its insignificant in grand scheme of things. The history of lives of his wives and people of that era is well documented, you don't need a mud house to tell you that.

People rather see hundreds and thousands dead in yearly stampedes than see the mosque expand and authorities taking steps to accommodate growing pilgrims.

masjid main tou ye log namaz parte nahi, kabhi naseeb nahi huee, in choti moti darbaaron aur purani hastiyon ke gharon main jaa ke namaz parhna zeada acha lagta hai.

Wow.. some reply's just astonished me. No wonder we don't posses any love for culture as a whole Ummah. A quick question, is there any Islamic Heritage museum on the scale of Lourve or BM? Nope its bidat.. kill them brother, yeh kill kill kill.

The title is grossly, intently disrespectful.

More appropriate comparison should be like

Mecca for the rich: Islam's holiest site 'turning into Hong Kong'

Mecca for the rich: Islam's holiest site 'turning into Shenghai'

Mecca for the rich: Islam's holiest site '*turning into Singapore '
The core purpose of expansion is to facilitate / accommodate ever increasing numbers of pilgrims. The argument that it should be done miles away from holy site does not hold worth because 97.39 % pilgrims don't like the idea at all. Because

1. Mostly 80% pilgrims are old/retired/fragile people.
  2. Mostly pilgrims are not in very good health

Now it 15 million people agree with this project and 84 thousand are against it then they should try to convince the majority first. Historical sites which are already erased and no mention in this essay.

Hazrat Abu bakar's shop and house
Hazrat Usman's house and market
The house of very first martyrs of Islam ( saw in movie the message )
And 64 other important historical places in Islamic history.

^ thanks for already destroyed sites list.
do you wanna wait until they level whatever is left?