Meanwhile...back at the ranch..

India won the ODI series against Sri Lanka by winning the 3rd ODI at Vizag by 7 wickets.

Understandably, nobody cared enough to open a thread for this match. The dramaybaaji across the border is so much more intriguing…

Re: Meanwhile…back at the ranch..

yeah…
actor is good enough to keep the whole nation n GS ka bandbaja busy…:k: :halo:
forgive them…they are too caught up into their teampakistan n its mess…:hehe:

This was a boring series. No Vaas and No Murali. Srilanka is very weak without these top players. But remember LPC Silva batting was a magical show. He played wonderful shots. He will be next big batting talent coming from Sri Lanka. Bravo to Moody to give him a chance after 3 years of wilderness in domestic circuit.

Re: Meanwhile...back at the ranch..

The ground is miles better, hugely above average. Zaheer Khan's first ball to Atapattu; Karthik standing at covers; he ran, dived in an amazing action and stopped the ball like he was eating cheesecake with a spoon in his hand. He deserved that catch of his; saluted straight to the crowd after he grabbed it. The greenery on the ground is so lively, it lifts the spirits of those at home watching live.

Dinesh Karthik is just an outstanding fielder. Saved certain boundaries at the best of times. It was a great sight to watch him field. His eyes on the ball all the time; perhaps it would be suitable for Indian cricket board to FedEx a DVD of his fielding drills over across the border. Lord knows how badly we need it.

LPC Silva toyed around for a long time. It was enjoyable watching him go across the stumps and flick the ball past the fine leg on many ocassions. I was also shocked to see Yuvraj dropping a simple catch off the very last ball of the innings.

Personal notes from the match from my side were; why is Irfan Pathan of all people chosen to sit on the sidelines? Knowing he is the one from the lot needing real-world practice, was it necessary to exclude him?

Dhoni needs more time behind the wicket. His keeping was average, at best. It didn't look like he was applying himself all that much.

The atmosphere itself was pretty decent. I was, however, glad to see such a wonderful ground.

even the kiwis can beat the aussies on home soil, its away wins that matter....

cuz remember only one team has home advantage in the world cup....

seconday note: with so many indians in all parts of the world i think india cud have home crowd support anywhere

The ground was a real surprise. This was the only ground that I have ever gone to watch a match. This was in 1988. That was a match between west indiesXI and indiaXI. I think GusLogi and GordonGrenidge were there. India had Srikanth, KapilDev etc. I was 8 years old then. The ground then was very mediocore. It was a first match to be played there. The ground was previously used for football. It had patches of grey all over, no proper grass cover, the pitch was dusty.
After 19 years I am really surprised to see the improvement in the ground. It was lush green. I havnt seen such a green outfield in India may be with the exception of Mohali.
Coming to the match. What was heartening to see is the batting of UV. He is a true match winner. When he plays, the way he plays, he can take the match completely away from the opposition. He is a true match winner. The good thing about him is that he is able to get the boundaries with far less fuss than some of his more illusterous seniors. If he plays like this, I think India has a great chance to get to the semifinals. Hope he continues his form.
I think Irfan should be in the team inplace of Bhaji, he is not an attacking bowler in the onedayers and if he is there only to contain, then I think sehwag and tendlia could do the job. Irfan brings in an additional option in the batting too.

No vaas and murali was all right, but they had malinga, who was consistantly clocking 150km/hr. and also fernando with 145km/hr average speed. Atleast that is a good practice match.

I am an Indian who hates this lousy game called cricket. Boring and highly individualistic. No team work.

Sports which showcases teamwork in action are football, hockey, volleyball and basket ball. You have to prove your team spirit in 90 minutes not in 5 days.

India's national game hockey has gone to dogs because of cricket mania.

good comeback by india...and by ganguly...

india's opening pair hasn't really fired as well since sehwag was out of form...he managed to get some runs in the last game as well...the only consistent batsman from in this series from india's side has been ganguly :) lets see if he can carry his form thru to the world cup as well...

Glad you shared your experience with us, Vineshvk. Good read. Thanks. :)

dont cry ....
do you ever follow PHL ......

yeh waali baaji sirf india maiN rehti haiN :snooty:

^Are you sure ?
Once I wrote baazi and I was pulled up for that too.

must have been some indians, I tell you.

^ Unless Faisal is an Indian.

Refer Posts 33 & 34 at :
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=203148

you really miss understood him.. :cb:

hahaha, some1 you got it wrong that time as well.

kitnay dard dil mein daba kay rakhta hai hamara hindustani guppy :D

^So which one is right bhai log...resolve this issue pleez.... or pleej

Listen to the song Baazigar O' Baazigar :p

^ abey yaar...mai pehle sahi leekh raha thaa...tum log ne khamokha confuse kar diyaa