McCullum, Ajmal on top in T20I rankings

**We have two bowlers in top ten and all three are part of the squad, so hopefully Pak will prosper

McCullum, Ajmal on top in T20I rankings**

ESPNcricinfo staff
September 13, 2012
[RIGHT] A[/RIGHT]

Twenty20 rankings

*=left]Batting: 1 Brendon McCullum, 2 Chris Gayle, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 David Warner, 5 Martin Guptill, 6 Mahela Jayawardene, 7 Shane Watson, 8 Jacques Kallis, 9 Eoin Morgan, 10 Tillakaratne Dilshan
*=left]
*=left]Bowling: 1 Saeed Ajmal, 2 Graeme Swann, 3 Johan Botha, 4 Ajantha Mendis, 5 Nathan McCullum, 6 Shahid Afridi, 7 Shane Watson, 8 Abdur Razzak, 9 Lasith Malinga, 10 Shakib Al Hasan

New Zealand’s Brendon MuCullum has moved to No. 1 in the Twenty20 Internationals rankings, following hismatch-winning 91 against India in Chennai on Tuesday. In the bowlers’ rankings, Pakistan’s Saeed Ajmal, who moved up to No. 1 in the ODI bowling rankings at the end of the one-dayers against Australia, repeated the feat in the T20s, where he took six wickets in three games at 8.66.
There was a lot of movement in the batting rankings following the clutch of T20I series in the lead-up to the World Twenty20, with Australia’s David Warner jumping up six places to fourth, and India’s Suresh Raina shifting up a place to third. The biggest loser in the rankings has been England’s Eoin Morgan, who slipped from No. 1 to No. 9 following the three-match series against South Africa, where he managed an aggregate of 15 runs from 20 balls.
Graeme Swann was the player replaced at the top of the bowling rankings, moving down to No. 2. Shane Watson was the biggest mover among the top bowlers, moving up eight places to seventh - he had picked upthree wickets in the three games against Pakistan, conceding less than a run a ball.
Yuvraj Singh, who made 34 off 26 on comeback from cancer in India’s unsuccessful chase against New Zealand, re-entered the rankings at No. 15.

ICC rankings : Brendon McCullum, Saeed Ajmal on top in T20I rankings | Cricket News | Cricinfo ICC Site | ESPN Cricinfo

Re: McCullum, Ajmal on top in T20I rankings

No Pakistani in the Batting List? That's the actual problem area for Pakistan.

We need first three batsmen to stick for 12-15 overs and with at least run rate of 6 or 7 and then go for the kill while still having 8-9 wickets in hand for last 5-8 overs.

yes... with the third unknown unseen bowler, we might have a chance yet :D the x-factor.

Yes this happens when you are hungry. :D

True but what is more surprising is that there is only one Indian in this list, I was expecting more and certainly Kohli in there.

Agreed. But that Indian is quite a tilla (in Punjabi, that is) himself.

I am sure Kohli will take his place soon enough.

and you eat the cricket ball :D

Mut shuru karo yeh qissa. :hehe:

Kohli has established himself in ODI's. Like superman said, I am also of the opinion that Kohli will be part of top 10 in due time.

I think Nasir Jamshed can be considered in the same category provided, he stops choking. The guy has a solid lazy action. He kinds of remind me of the early days of Inzimam.

Very much.

Not as classical as Big Inzi, but nevertheless seems to be of the same mold. Nasir Jamshed also possess sheer power, which combined with his hand-eye coordination means most of his shots are well hit. The only problem, as you mentioned, is his tendency to choke. Hard to depend on guys like these longterm, unless he improves on his shortcomings.

What irks me the most is that guys like him, while talented, still have a lot of work to do at this stage. These sort of things should be ironed out in under-19 cricket. Anyway, he’s doing his job right now in limited over cricket. I know, as well as all of you here, how many Pakistani openers that came and went in the past 8-9 years.

Eik bhi Pakistani lapairOO top 10 main nahi hai. :(

Pakistan is banking hugely on spinners to dry up runs in the middle of the inning. Hopefully they can deliver. With the likes of Kohli, Warner, Watson, Gayle, Morgin, Sanga and Mahela sometimes it becomes hard....

Ajmal <3