MBA from Devry

Anyone know anything about DeVry University? More specifically their MBA program? Do students get a good job upon graduation?

Re: MBA

The biggest factor is what are your career situation and goals.

the prestige factor is not there, and its also not accredited by AACSB, and the network of alumni not very strong. quality of faculty is generally debatable.

that being said, I have had colleagues who have done their MBA at keller school of mgmt of devry. These people usually were middle aged mid career ppl who were not being sponsored by the company for either an executive or a part time MBA program.

They were doing okay in career but needed to get the MBA, and it did help them in their career. as I said, it depends on what your career situation and goals are as well. the program seems to be designed for ppl already in the industry who want the designation to further their career.

I would recommend that if you have other options in your city, please investigate them as well. just so you can compare the two programs.

in the end though, from a career perspective not having an MBA is def a weaker position that a Devry (Keller) MBA.

The program will not be around if students were not getting jobs, if u let us know a little more of your current situation, education completed and goals, i may be able to give u some more ideas.

I second X2's advice.

Devry hold a very narrow niche. There are plenty of better business schools that will fulfill your specific requirements. You did not mention your motivations for going to business school/career aspirations. Depending on your interests you may or may not need the MBA.

In any case, do an ROI (Return on Investment) calculation before you proceed. This is a great forum with folks like X2, Umar etc who can be very helpful.

^ excellent suggestions... I would also add that for an MBA, you had better work in a management/semi-management position before getting into an MBA program to fully appreciate it and realize your potential. Many serious schools would actually require some managerial experience for this very reason.

DeVry, and UofP both fall into this category... they are for-profit organizations at the core, and their target audience as pointed out is by X2 is middle aged executives.

I would recommend that if you are really serious about actually going to a good school, then be ready to relocate to the locality. I would not recommend distance learning (or online learning) if you do not have significant work experience. You need an in-class mentorship, and professional coaching plus a solid alumni network. Professional accreditation, if you have high aspirations, in my opinion is a must though some may disagree with that... When in Rome, do as the Romans do: You do not want to experiment with your life, so do what works :)

I agree with both X2 and hypnotix…

In my own experience, Devry is often viewed similar to the other for profit, private schools such as Phoenix, Kennedy Western, and Kaplan. Furthermore, the negative stigma associated with online degrees aisn't going to be disappearing at least in the foreseeable future.

Also, the AACSB accreditation used to be something that only mattered to students who were considering further post graduate studies but more recently, I’ve read employment surveys where big companies like P&G, GE, and Intel have started to focus their recruiting efforts on schools that are accredited.

Overall, I would personally consider an MBA from a public/state University any day over an online MBA from Devry. This is however a never ending debate because if you play the ranking game, then Ivey grads will tell you that there’s little point in going to a state University for an MBA.

In the end, you need to take into account, your current career state and your objectives and aspirations from your MBA degree. It may just be the case that you don’t care about how popular a program or a University it, and you’re confident that your professionalism can carry you through after the MBA which may just be merely a stepping stone.

Re: MBA from Devry

As the saying goes: What goes up, must come down. UofP to pay a hefty fine for non-disclosure of recruitment practices to the USDOE; I am surprised it took so long. More on Google News (cannot post the URL since I am 22 posts shy of being considered "mature" on this forum lol):

What about an MBA from Adelphi University in New York?

Regionally accredited (MSACS)... That's good!
Professionally accredited (AACSB)... That's great!

Seems like a reasonable place to graduate from. What's the tuition?

adelphi is not liek nyu or columbis etc so easier to get into, easier than hofsrta, st johns and pace..although not by much. the good thing is that the uni is fairly connected with NY institutions, with alumni working in many banks etc, and thus the placement is pretty good.

I always tell ppl, if you are going to a uni which is not in a major city then make sure its a good uni which has a good recruitment track record, e.g. cornell, michigan, notre dame etc.

if its a middle of the road uni, its much better to be in or close to a major city than be far, it would be easier to land jobs for an adelphi MBA in NYC than that of a Drake or Citadel MBA (although citadel does well with the military connections)

fraudia bhai :)

ji janab? aap ko bhi mba karna hay?

nahi.
mujheye tow nahi kerna.
meye calculator kerte hoon. :>
aur meireye koe dividends nahi hein liquid.

meye economy of scale ko manti hoon.
market monolopoly ko nahi.

Pir Saahab,
Ii would be great if we were to have a list of all universities considered MBA-wise good in your books... I'd suggest make a new thread titled "North American MBA Programs: Guppies' Seal of Approval", and make it sticky :D