Maulvis: Through My Eyes

I absolutely adore maulvis. I think there is some confusion as to who these people are. A person with a beard and shalwaar/patloon above ankles is not necessarily a maulvi. A person without a beard is definitely not a maulvi. A maulvi has to be a bearded person who has understanding of Basic Islamic fundamentals AND who tries to implement these fundamentals in his everyday life as much as he can. A maulvi differs from an aalim in that his knowledge is limited whereas an aalim has a more comprehensive understanding of his religion. A maulvi differs from a common man in that he STRIVES to implement whatever knowledge he possesses about Islam in his daily life where as a common man is loosely concerned about learning and implementing Islamic Fundamentals. Examples of common men/women are me and you. Now if you just read the preceding sentence and you know for a fact that you are a maulvi in that case I would like to be excused. Now the mobs of angry men wearing beard cursing, burning effigies and flags and destroying public property are not maulvis. Infact they are ordinary men, yep common men (with beard). As you can see it’s not hard to tell apart maulvi from a common man. Over all maulvis are simple, patient and tolerant people. People say maulvis love halwa and kukkar cooked in desi ghee. I don’t know how true that is because I have yet to see one who loves food. The ones who used to come to my place wouldn’t even take a soft drink. I haven’t seen one in a long time. It was many many months ago, I guess eight months ago precisely. It’s been a while since I went to mosque. I miss their knocking on my door and asking me if I could spare 5 minutes. And when ever I told them I was taking a nap or busy doing something they would kindly apologize and ask me if there was a better time to visit. Other times I would see through the peep hole and not open the door. They were very polite and kind. But at times I felt like talking to them and when I did talk to them I figured out they were like me in many ways: they didn’t have answers to some of my questions, they were clueless about certain things just like I was. The difference between them and me was that they had implemented whatever they had learned over the course of time and still continue to learn more while I let myself bog down trying to make sense of certain facet of religion refusing to move on till I have grasped it, till I have left no doubt in my mind. And so I am stuck.

Just felt like writing my thoughts about maulvis and my experience with them.

Re: Maulvis: Through My Eyes

i agree sugar free

now u r confusing molvis with the tableeghi jamaat....

Im confused by your explanation

tell me again

Maulvis are ordinanry men with some basic education of islam?

Aalims are the chaps that STUDIED Islam

so does that mean that every Tom Dick and Harry(I saythat with respect) in the mosque is a Maulvi?

and why do they need to go around to peoples houses...i thought only the Tabhleeghi's did that.

I absolutely loveddddd ur post lol
so so true and i agree

i am ur fan from now on... :D

armughal: y cant maulvies described by sugar free be part of tableeghi jamaat?
its certainly not confusing.

lol every tom dick harry and hum hain in the mosque is not a maulvi because we dont strive enough to implement what we know of the religion in our lives…

maulvis can do tableegh too…

sugar free has given an account so simple ad straight forward and yet u guppies r getting confused… :smash:

L_D is a a RAW agent who wants to plant seeds of confusion and anarchy among unsuspecting guppans.

Islamic Fundamentalism is a misused phrase. But if you're going to ignore the fact that many religious people who claim themselves to be knowledgeable about the deen have done a lot to hold back our society from becoming more civilized, then you're ignoring the other side of the picture yourself.

I was very interested to find out that when the printing press was first constructed, it didn't come into the muslim world for a very long time, because it was considered unIslamic...especially unIslamic to use the printing press for printing religious documents and the Quran.

^ How is that a reflection of the Maulvis? Can you try to explain that.

That's obvious.

I guess you need to define Maulvis for me to understand the relationship....How do you define Maulvi?

Anyone who claims to have more knowledge of the deen than a layman (and we all know how much knowledge the layman has).

A maulvi to our resident Mod squad is one who does not agree to everything the west has to say. That is what PCG means. A maulvi is one who thinks that what is in Islam is right and the west is wrong. This includes everything.

Um have u forgotten the oh so many parallels and overlaps between Islam and the current West, and the much fewer parallels and overlaps between Islam and the East?

Don't make this into a West/East argument because that would be silly. The areas controlled my muslims today are all in the dark ages of jahaaliyat, simply because no one there follows their own religion.

You also have to wonder what this jahaliyat muslims keep referring to. jahaliyat prior ot islam only existed in arabia. everyone else in the world was pretty much enlightened..jahaliyat still only exists in arabia..so a failed model at best.

Well, no. There was peace right up until the Prophet's death...

Then things went spiraling out of control of course, when people forgot about Islam and the Quran.

Actually there aren’t. Though i would love it if you explained how a secuarlist society in the west is similar to a religious Islamic society.

Oh lets see...

A justice system that delivers justice efficiently ....

Non-corrupt leadership...

Discipline as actually being practiced...hence throw the trash...into the trash can.

Don't hit women...otherwise the State WILL intervene...and it does actually...

A good system for taking care of orphans....

Widespread (private and state funded) charities...

Taxes being used by the government to actually construct roads and hospitals and all other zaroori civil needs....rather than being pocketed by minister sahab so his wife can go shopping in Prague...

Teaching kids how to share since when they are growing up.

Teaching and practicing the value of education / learning.

Teaching the concepts of tolerating other faiths and cultures...and actually managing that... (as long as the faiths and cultures aren't transgressing upon basic human rights, like nightly human saccrificial ceremonies or something satanic like that).

etc etc.

u totally missed what jahaliyat means as per Islamic terms…
u r a good example of jahaliyat…
and likes of u exist more outside arabia than in arabia…

According to this definition PCG=Maulvan