Maulana

so when quran refers to god as maulana..i dont see it referring to anyone else as maulana, instead the term Maula was used. I doubt it was an oversight on the part of God

But then I guess our mullahs may know better than Quran. ;)

Aslam-o-Alakum,

Rehman01: Why are you insisting on it without any solid proof?

‘Maulana’ is an Arabic word derived from the root letter wa.1a.ya as I mentioned in my previous post in this thread.

The word “maulana” is a compound word – MAULA and NA(our). The word Maula has an established mim (masdar mimi) within it and it acts in place of a doer (fa’il), and the Na which suffixes it is to convey plurality. Hence, the word Na can be substituted by other pronouns to produce Maulahu (his Maula) or Maula’i (my Maula).

There are other spellings of this word “Mawla”. Means “Maula” or “Mawla” are same its just English style of writing.

Instead of giving some solid proof with research about the topic simply cut and paste Ayat of Quran to show people that is an answer from your side. This is same as people start talking in English to show their English speaking power, when they feel themselves in trouble. Similarly some religious people who don’t have much knowledge in religion start reading quran and hadith without any relevancy. They don’t even use their brain to find that it is appropriate for that specific topic or not.

Rather than going to find out the meaning and origin of the word, you straight away start thinking that it might be shirk if you use this word for others, other than Allah. This style is not good.

When things go against you it become off topic.

Rehman1: BTW how do you measure the knowledge in a person? So you can easily tell that which one has less knowledge and which one has more. Do you have certain gauge? Anyway this is a simple way to deny.

Fraudz: Before giving arguments about Rab and Rabana first find it in Quran, for whom else it is used. Don’t play with words.

The significance of the word “Rab” used for Allah, and for that matter, to some extent for the parents, is that Allah has not only created all the worlds, but He also fosters His creation to enable it to develop to perfection, realizing its full potential so as to serve the purpose for which it has been created.

http://www.dawn.com/2002/03/15/op.htm
This link is good for Rehman1 also..

Refuting with illogical way is not praiseworthy.

Thanks,

illogical?

here are 2 statements, prove them wrong

1. the word Maulana has been used in Quran for God
  2. the word Maulana has not been used in quran for anyone else

then we can talk..going off on tangents is not praiseworthy.

Thanks

You have posted the same old information.
I think this topic doesn’t need anymore input.
Pir sahib has adequately explained it.

sincerely
Masoom Ur Rehman
the 8th

I read in newspaper in Jang that Darul Uloom Deoband has issued a verdict saying it's halal to use the word Mawlana for scholars..

We already know it is allowed in all other factions of Islam, including Barailwees and Shias.

Wa'Salam
Ali

*Originally posted by PrinceCharming: *
I read in newspaper in Jang that Darul Uloom Deoband has issued a verdict saying it's halal to use the word Mawlana for scholars..

We already know it is allowed in all other factions of Islam, including Barailwees and Shias.

Wa'Salam
Ali

give us the reference.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *

You have posted the same old information.
I think this topic doesn't need anymore input.
Pir sahib has adequately explained it.
You both dont have any solid proof...simply insisting for whatever in your mind.

*Fraudz: *
1) the word Maulana has been used in Quran for God
2) the word Maulana has not been used in quran for anyone else
Where it is said in Quran that you can not use the term "Moulana, Moula or Mowla" for others. It is NOT proved from Quran that you can not use the word Maulana for Prophet Muhammad; like Sayyidina wa Maulana Muhammad or for other Wali, and religious scholars.

If you dont find a thing in Quran it DOES NOT simply mean that it is forbidden.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
The problem is lack of religious knowledge in Pak.

Desi Ulemas ke pass knowledge turha less he. That's why
they use this word. And their teachings are also influenced
by Sufism.

*Are you talking about the following people. *

Maulana Rasheed Ahmad of Gangoh - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Qasim of Nanauta - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Abid Husain - Deobandi
Shaikhul Hind Maulana Mehmood Hasan - Deobandi
Maulana Obaidullah Sindhi - Deobandi
Shaikhul Islam Maulana Syed Husain Ahmad Madani - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Miyan Mansoor Ansari - Deobandi
Maulana Hifzurrehman of Seohara, Distt. Bijnore U.P. - Deobandi
Maulana Habeeburrehman of Ludhiana - Deobandi
Maulana Nusrat Husain. - Deobandi
Maulana Ahmad Saeed of Delhi - Deobandi
Maulana Mufti Kifaytullah of Delhi - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Miyan - Deobandi
Maulana Hakim Sayyid Abdul-Hayy Lakhnavi - Deobandi
Maulana Mahmood ul Hasan - Deobandi
Moulana Muhammad Yousuf Banuri - Deobandi
Moulana Fadhl Hamdan Banuri - Deobandi
Moulana Anwar Shah Kashmiri - Deobandi
Moulana Husayn Ahmed Madani - Deobandi
Moulana Shabbir Ahmed Utmani - Deobandi
Moulana Mahmood Hasan Deobandi
Maulana Shabbir Ahmed Usmani - Deobandi

Maulana Haq Nawaz Jangvi - Deobandi
Maulana Zia-ur-Rehman Farooqi - Deobandi
Maulana Eesar-ul-Haq Qasmi - Deobandi
Maulana Azam Tariq - Deobandi

Maulana Yusuf Ludhinavi - Deobandi

Maulana Mufti Mahmood - Deobandi
Maulana Fazlur Rehman - Deobandi

Maulana Syed Abul A'la Maududi - Deobandi

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad - Deobandi

Maulana Samiul Haq: Taliban's spiritual guru
Maulana Sayyid Abul Hasan 'Ali Nadwi (1913-1999) - Deobandi
Maulana Motiur Rahman Nizami - Deobandi
Maulana Muhammad Ashraf Ali Thanvi - Deobandi
Maulana Mufti Taqi Usmani - Deobandi
Maulana Masood Azhar - Deobandi
Maulana Manzoor Ahmed Chinioti - Deobandi
Maulana Tariq Jameel - Deobandi
Maulavi Muhammad Husain Batalavi
Maulana Nazir Husain of Delhi Ahl-i Hadith
Maulana Sana-Ullah of Amritsar - Ahl-i Hadith
Maulana Ahsan Elahi Zaheer - Ahle Hadith
Maulana Habib ur Rehman Yazdani - Ahle Hadith
Maulana Moeenuddin Lukhwi - Ahle Hadith
Maulana Hafiz-ur-Rehman - Ahl-e-Hadees

Maulana Sayyid Jamal-Din Afghan 1214 - 1254
Maulana Muhammad Ali Jouhar - Khilafat Movement
MAULANA MALIK IBRAHIM Indonesia's pioneers
Maulana El-Mirghani Sudan
Moulana Shah Rafiuddin Muhaddis Dehlavi.
Maulana Abdul Sattar Edhi

*Originally posted by inuit: *

*Are you talking about the following people. *

Maulana Rasheed Ahmad of Gangoh - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Qasim of Nanauta - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Abid Husain - Deobandi
Shaikhul Hind Maulana Mehmood Hasan - Deobandi
Maulana Obaidullah Sindhi - Deobandi
Shaikhul Islam Maulana Syed Husain Ahmad Madani - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Miyan Mansoor Ansari - Deobandi
Maulana Hifzurrehman of Seohara, Distt. Bijnore U.P. - Deobandi
Maulana Habeeburrehman of Ludhiana - Deobandi
Maulana Nusrat Husain. - Deobandi
Maulana Ahmad Saeed of Delhi - Deobandi
Maulana Mufti Kifaytullah of Delhi - Deobandi
Maulana Mohammad Miyan - Deobandi
Maulana Hakim Sayyid Abdul-Hayy Lakhnavi - Deobandi
Maulana Mahmood ul Hasan - Deobandi
Moulana Muhammad Yousuf Banuri - Deobandi
Moulana Fadhl Hamdan Banuri - Deobandi
Moulana Anwar Shah Kashmiri - Deobandi
Moulana Husayn Ahmed Madani - Deobandi
Moulana Shabbir Ahmed Utmani - Deobandi
Moulana Mahmood Hasan Deobandi
Maulana Shabbir Ahmed Usmani - Deobandi

Maulana Haq Nawaz Jangvi - Deobandi
Maulana Zia-ur-Rehman Farooqi - Deobandi
Maulana Eesar-ul-Haq Qasmi - Deobandi
Maulana Azam Tariq - Deobandi

Maulana Yusuf Ludhinavi - Deobandi

Maulana Mufti Mahmood - Deobandi
Maulana Fazlur Rehman - Deobandi

Maulana Syed Abul A'la Maududi - Deobandi

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad - Deobandi

Maulana Samiul Haq: Taliban's spiritual guru
Maulana Sayyid Abul Hasan 'Ali Nadwi (1913-1999) - Deobandi
Maulana Motiur Rahman Nizami - Deobandi
Maulana Muhammad Ashraf Ali Thanvi - Deobandi
Maulana Mufti Taqi Usmani - Deobandi
Maulana Masood Azhar - Deobandi
Maulana Manzoor Ahmed Chinioti - Deobandi
Maulana Tariq Jameel - Deobandi

Maulavi Muhammad Husain Batalavi
Maulana Nazir Husain of Delhi Ahl-i Hadith
Maulana Sana-Ullah of Amritsar - Ahl-i Hadith
Maulana Ahsan Elahi Zaheer - Ahle Hadith
Maulana Habib ur Rehman Yazdani - Ahle Hadith
Maulana Moeenuddin Lukhwi - Ahle Hadith
Maulana Hafiz-ur-Rehman - Ahl-e-Hadees

Maulana Sayyid Jamal-Din Afghan 1214 - 1254
Maulana Muhammad Ali Jouhar - Khilafat Movement
MAULANA MALIK IBRAHIM Indonesia's pioneers
Maulana El-Mirghani Sudan
Moulana Shah Rafiuddin Muhaddis Dehlavi.
Maulana Abdul Sattar Edhi

:P

Brother Inuit
Janab Haq Nawaz Jangvi was a great guy.
A great Paki scholar. I hope you can have more
like him. App ko mubarak hu..

take care

*Originally posted by inuit: *
You both dont have any solid proof...simply insisting for whatever in your mind.

Where it is said in Quran that you can not use the term "Moulana, Moula or Mowla" for others. It is NOT proved from Quran that you can not use the word Maulana for Prophet Muhammad; like Sayyidina wa Maulana Muhammad or for other Wali, and religious scholars.

If you dont find a thing in Quran it DOES NOT simply mean that it is forbidden.

Okay so the question is debateable at the minimum.

as far as solid proof goes, where is your solid proof? you too are insisting for whatever is in your mind. I atleast have provided the reference in Quran where theterm Maulana is used explicitly for God.

frankly I dont care about Mawla or moula or moola or mooli. That is not my concern. I am only concerned with the use of the word Maulana. The fact remains that it is used twice in Quran referring to God. It is NOT proved from Quran that you can use the word Maulana for anyone else.

If you dont find a thing in Quran does it mean that it is NOT forbidden? :)

I do wonder why arab ulema did not use the term for themselves..dont you? and dont the same "maulanas" of yours say that if something is doubtful it is better to take the more safe and conservative approach. so this is debatable at the minimum and thus they shuld be more prudent and avoid using this term.

Lord Fraudia

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

Okay so the question is debateable at the minimum.

as far as solid proof goes, where is your solid proof? you too are insisting for whatever is in your mind. I atleast have provided the reference in Quran where theterm Maulana is used explicitly for God.

frankly I dont care about Mawla or moula or moola or mooli. That is not my concern. I am only concerned with the use of the word Maulana. The fact remains that it is used twice in Quran referring to God. It is NOT proved from Quran that you can use the word Maulana for anyone else.

If you dont find a thing in Quran does it mean that it is NOT forbidden? :)

I do wonder why arab ulema did not use the term for themselves..dont you? and dont the same "maulanas" of yours say that if something is doubtful it is better to take the more safe and conservative approach. so this is debatable at the minimum and thus they shuld be more prudent and avoid using this term.

Lord Fraudia

Peer Sahab
I like the Mooli part.