Maulana

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *

fraudia its ur choice...i would rather prefer Moulana for me........it seems a rather foolish question to me.....we use imam for imam - masjid......here every one means leader with imam ......same is the case here......it simply means Leader ......bhai ye lafz urf main mashoor hay ....koi ghalat maainee nahin laita iss ka ......

okay from now on God means leader too, refer to me as God i.e. God Fraudia :) thank you.

If people can use teh argument that they use Maulana as a title because of some other meaning that they have developed rather than the meaning i just posted above with ayyats from Quraan to show that Maulana can only be used for God..then I suppose we can come up with different meanings or "urf" as well. So to me "God" can also mean Mr, and thus I should be referred to as God Fraudia. bless you

Someone putting God in front of their names is just as wrong as someone using Maulana, or khuda etc.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

okay from now on God means leader too, refer to me as God i.e. God Fraudia :) thank you.

If people can use teh argument that they use Maulana as a title because of some other meaning that they have developed rather than the meaning i just posted above with ayyats from Quraan to show that Maulana can only be used for God..then I suppose we can come up with different meanings or "urf" as well. So to me "God" can also mean Mr, and thus I should be referred to as God Fraudia. bless you

Someone putting God in front of their names is just as wrong as someone using Maulana, or khuda etc.

You can use god, or maulana or jackass or whatever suits you best in front of your name Fraudz...Maulana as best as I know is a term which refers to teacher/protector...If people use it to refer to learned people as their mentors, does it matter if you find it wrong? It's a term, not a title...

*Originally posted by Lajawab: *

You can use god, or maulana or jackass or whatever suits you best in front of your name Fraudz...Maulana as best as I know is a term which refers to teacher/protector...If people use it to refer to learned people as their mentors, does it matter if you find it wrong? It's a term, not a title...

Lajawab

"as best as you know it" is not good enough...is it

if you read above, I posted information on why it is not right.

it does not matter if I find it wrong, it does matter if a term is used incorrectly.

whats next, they can use SAW in front of their names also. or how about Z'ul Jalal e w"Al Ikraam? i mean if its just a title..that people can use to refer to learned people? howz dat?

Lajawab

"as best as you know it" is not good enough...is it

if you read above, I posted information on why it is not right.

it does not matter if I find it wrong, it does matter if a term is used incorrectly.

whats next, they can use SAW in front of their names also. or how about Z'ul Jalal e w"Al Ikraam? i mean if its just a title..that people can use to refer to learned people? howz dat?
I am posting the part of message which i posted above. I think you havent read that.

Allah has a few names and attributes which are exclusively reserved for His Being like Allah, Rahman, 'Alimul Ghaib etc. Some of His attributes have been used in the Qur'an to also refer to the Holy Prophet (SAW) like 'Aziz, Ra'uf, Rahim, Sami' etc. When these names are used to denote the Being of Allah, it is meant that the perfection of these attributes are only to be found in Allah, but when used for His creation, it means that these qualities have been bestowed upon some of the creation to a lesser degree. The word Maula falls under the second category of names. The difference is to be discerned within the context. Allah also used the word Maula to describe Angel Jibra'il and the pious believers in the following verse: "Verily Allah is his Maula, as well as Jibra'il and the pious believers." (Tahrim: 4)

:saw: and :as: are not terms and neither are they titles. They are duas reserved for the Prophets and the respect with which Muslims are supposed to address them…With honour, repsect, humility and thankfulness upon them and their families for their sacrifices and the pains they took to spread the Message of Allah :swt:…So that puts them out of our discussion…

Zul-Jalal-e-Wal-Ikram is an attribute of Allah :swt:, not a term, but a title…I will again say to the best of my knowledge that it is reserved for Allah :swt: upon which you will again say ‘best of my knowledge is not good enough’…Then I will probably find some Maulana’s, Mullah’s or Mufti’s proof in his knowledge of this fact and you’ll again refute it because in your wisdom you consider their lifelong knowledge ignorance based on your own criteria of some kind…

Anyways, maulana is a term like ‘Janab’ or ‘Hazrat’…Nothing wrong in that…

*Originally posted by inuit: *
I am posting the part of message which i posted above. I think you havent read that.

maula and maulana are not the sdame things.
thank you, drive through.

Zul-Jalal-e-Wal-Ikram is an attribute of Allah :swt:, not a term, but a title…I will again say to the best of my knowledge that it is reserved for Allah :swt: upon which you will again say ‘best of my knowledge is not good enough’**

and when it we look at Quran..

The word is used only twice in the Holy Quran, and refers to Allah Subhaanahoo Wa Ta’aala, indicating that it can be referred only to Him and NO ONE ELSE!

(1) “Rabana…anta MAULANA fansoorna alal qaumil Kaafireen – Our Lord…You are our Protector/ Lord/ Master, so grant us victory over the unbelievers” (2:286).

(2) “Huwa MAULANA; wa alal Laahi fal yatawakkalil Mu’minoon – He (Allah) is our Protector/ Lord/ Master, And on Allah let the Believers rely” (9:51

**…Then I will probably find some Maulana’s, Mullah’s or Mufti’s proof in his knowledge of this fact and you’ll again refute it because in your wisdom you consider their lifelong knowledge ignorance based on your own criteria of some kind… **

well the information that I have listed above about the incorrect use of the word Maulana is not something i cooked up while watching NFL,

it comes from a scholar, follow the link posted in my initial response and you will find it. I guess you are considering that scholar’s lifelong knowledge as ignorance based on your own criteria of some kind.

**Anyways, maulana is a term like ‘Janab’ or ‘Hazrat’…Nothing wrong in that… **

anyways, thats what you think, I am basing my approach on the fact that no other muslim country outside of the subcontinent uses this term from what I have read in the analysis of the scholar whose perspective i have posted. If you can find soemthing supporting the use of ther word maulana thenpost it, and at that point it will become debatable, right now its your views versus those of a scholar.

^^ Outside the subcontinent, you will find Turks use it too, only they spell it it Mevlana instead of Maulana...

[Edit]

No country uses “Maulana” title: The mullahs have adopted for themselves the honorific title of “Maulana” (which means OUR protector, OUR lord, OUR master) – which has the most serious un-Islamic connotation of placing another WITH the Almighty (SHIRK).

Not only Turks but Persians use it too...The argument of your quoted scholar doesn't hold much water to begin with...He should have done some research first.

^^ Outside the subcontinent, you will find Turks use it too, only they spell it it Mevlana instead of Maulana...

[Edit]

Not only Turks but Persians use it too...The argument of your quoted scholar doesn't hold much water to begin with...He should have done some research first.

Lajawab Bhi
Why don't you try explain the this term with facts or an
article.

take care

I had a Turkish teacher who talked about philosophy and Rumi in the same breath and kept saying ‘Mevlana Rumi’…

I don’t have a book or an internet article per say, but click below…

Link…

maula and maulana are not the sdame things.
thank you, drive through.
I already explained it in my previous message; I am pasting it here for your convenience.

‘Maulana’ is an Arabic word derived from the root letter wa.1a.ya as I mentioned in my previous post in this tread. The word “maulana” is a compound word – MAULA and NA(our). The word Maula has an established mim (masdar mimi) within it and it acts in place of a doer (fa'il), and the Na which suffixes it is to convey plurality. Hence, the word Na can be substituted by other pronouns to produce Maulahu (his Maula) or Maula'i (my Maula).

The word 'Maula' (& Maulana) falls in the same genre of words. The AI-Munjid gives the meaning of this word as: owner, lord, leader, chieftain, freed slave, supporter, ally, and Mahmud Safl has given the meaning of this word to be: benefactor, helper, and honourable person in his I'rab alQur'an. Frorn this linguistic finding, it becomes clear that to call any person schooled in Islamic sciences as Maulana, can be accommodated. When addressing such a person as Maulana, the meaning of religious leader is implied. It is a title of respect and esteem having no divine undertones.

Originally posted by Lajawab: *

The sufis who use mevlana, are considered heretics by the folks that use maulana in pakistan :)

but then again, what was posted as the term being used for Allah in teh quraan, that is not denied now,, is it?

*Originally posted by inuit: *
I already explained it in my previous message; I am pasting it here for your convenience.

‘Maulana’ is an Arabic word derived from the root letter wa.1a.ya as I mentioned in my previous post in this tread. The word “maulana” is a compound word – MAULA and NA(our). The word Maula has an established mim (masdar mimi) within it and it acts in place of a doer (fa'il), and the Na which suffixes it is to convey plurality. Hence, the word Na can be substituted by other pronouns to produce Maulahu (his Maula) or Maula'i (my Maula).

The word 'Maula' (& Maulana) falls in the same genre of words. The AI-Munjid gives the meaning of this word as: owner, lord, leader, chieftain, freed slave, supporter, ally, and Mahmud Safl has given the meaning of this word to be: benefactor, helper, and honourable person in his I'rab alQur'an. Frorn this linguistic finding, it becomes clear that to call any person schooled in Islamic sciences as Maulana, can be accommodated. When addressing such a person as Maulana, the meaning of religious leader is implied. It is a title of respect and esteem having no divine undertones.

and thus rab and Rabbana can be used as a title too?
kewl Rabbana Fraudia has a nice ring to it dont you think?
it is a title of respect and esteem, having no divine undertones..or overtones

My point of view: The word Mualana in urdu does not hold the same meaning as in arabic...

just like word "Zaleel" in arabic means "weak" but has totally a different meaning in urdu:)

well so does the word haraami.. but by that token if we use any word in a diff manner is it a good nuff reason to justify it?

I mean which champion started using this term for himself?

and the fact that arab speaking religious scholars do not use it for themselves raises an interesting point. why did they not use it? and then our desi Ulema..when they wanted to use some title in front of their name, why did they have to use a different word, and who decided that it can be used in a different context?

Desi Ulemas ke pass knowledge turha less he. That's why
they use this word. And their teachings are also influenced
by Sufism.

As for Intuit, if you are saying that Maulvi word can be used.
than I will give myself a title of "Masoom" ur Rehman.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
by Sufism.

It is not matter of Desi or Walayati. Ilm kisi ki meras nahin hay. Most of the Muhadaseens and Imams in Islam are non-Arabic. like Bukahri, and Hanifa. Dont make a joke of yourself. be responsible.

well so does the word haraami.. but by that token if we use any word in a diff manner is it a good nuff reason to justify it?

i think we need a bangali here who can also complain and whine about use of word "baal" (hair) in urdu :-D

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
by Sufism.

Haan gee ...issi liye arab say log indo pak kay maddrasson main parhnay jatay hain.......

BTW...Fraudz.........is the word rehman in quran is used for some other meanning........if it is used solely for ALLAH then kindly also include the word in shirkia alfaaz for the reason u gave before......

bao behari, sure, that should be preceded by abdul. Atleast that is what I follow. but then i know many raud, raheem, kareem, samad etc, atthis rate I will see someone named allah too.