Matrimonial Websites

Are the worst in our culture.

Best one I’ve come across:
Half Our Deen. Affordable. 5 dollars a month if you get the annual membership, otherwise 9 for one month. Lots of American-Canadian based candidates.

MuzMatch. I guess it’s popular in the UK. You want to contact one person out of 100 cuz they captured your heart. Great. You pay per profile, so it forces you to contact people that you would be serious about, less time wasting.

SingleMuslim. Mostly a UK crowd, but lots of normal people in the States too.

Naseeb. Sad that it went down after they decided to charge people. It’s now controlled by two guy users who are addicted to giving anyone insults there who posts on the newsfeed. They have singlehandedly driven everyone away.

Qiran: I know some people support this, but mostly older guys and FOBS on that site.

Shaadi: Probably the best business model on the market. Only one person needs to buy the membership to write emails, and the other person can see the emails and respond back without paying for a membership. So great for the hot cheapster that EVERYONE wants to contact. Still need to pay if you want to explore contacts with people.

Isnamatrimonials.net: Seems to be a good idea, and very good folks on there. Except everyone is cheap and has just tried the trial membership!! Very few have paid, it’s 25 for a month. Costly. And what’s WORSE is that if you contact someone, they have to have a membership to contact you back. So it forces a couple to both buy a membership, unlike shaadi, where one of the two can buy the membership and contact the other person.

What I’d like to know is how much does a well maintained website cost per month? I don’t understand why there aren’t websites that are available for free??? This whole paying bit is preventing people from connecting. ISNA model is good in that it focuses on one continent and takes out the folks from abroad who are trying to contact people for green cards!! But it forces the other person to buy a membership even if you’ve already purchased one. And 25 for the month is pretty costly.

I almost want to finance a website myself for charity to the muslim people who are trying to find their mates and want to bypass meddlesome and unhelpful aunties.

Re: Matrimonial Websites

Anyone who wants to open up a website, and if funding could be do-able, let me know. I’ll finance it out of CHARITY. God lord.

There are a few desi Facebook pages and groups which provide free matrimonial services in the major cities of Saudi Arabia. If one is really interested, it should not be difficult to start up such a page or group free of cost.

i’m no longer available or else i would have joined with you to have a site for girls and boys who are sincere in their searches and who are genuine and not fake/time-passers.

You don’t have to be available to partake in a charitable event, bro. Charity goes with you the whole life, and in the hereafter. :halo:

PCG, Your effort and outreach is really commendable. There are a good number of members who post in Computers and IT sub-forum quite regularly who can guide you in terms of the process, and associated costs to setting up and running a website. Please post there too, you may garner additional responses.

#C&IT](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/computer-and-information-technology/)
#GetHitchedRight.com](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=GetHitched)

true, but my would be wife will not allow me to deal with other women’s info and pictures…i think it’s fair on her part. if it was my full time job then it was another story.

vo socheNgii k maiN part-time ‘tafreeH’ kar rahaa huN. :cb:

Doesn’t the saying go “Charity starts from home”. MashaAllah, you both can volunteer.

good idea…lemme talk to her and tell her that it’s your idea! :wink:

What if she agrees and finds another match before you do?

Catchis win matchis in cricket
Here catchis are matchis

yaaraa, yeh to maiN ne sochaa hii nahiiN thaa…oops!

vaise, mujh jaisaa sajeela, bar-sar-e-rozgaar, shareef aur Khaak-nashiiN kahaN milegaa…ab yeh baat aur hai k tabiiyat kii Kharaabii se sookh kar hhohaara lagne laguuN yaa kabhii kabhaar naukrii ko laat maar duuN yaa phir kam vazanii ke sabab ‘hawaa hawaaii’ ho jaauuN! gaahe ba gaahe 'sharaafat chhoR dii maiN ne!"…:stuck_out_tongue:

Matrimonial Websites

I heard of one more- JazaaMatch but not sure if it’s still operating now.

I liked JazaaMatch’s model. It is a one man show. A lady operates it for mostly American rishtas. Guys and girls send their details in and also details of the type of spouse they want. Every one’s details are added to a spreadsheet and the spreadsheet is emailed monthly/every few months to those who sign up for the mailing list. If interested In a rishta, email the person in charge with the seriel number of the rishta you are interested in and she contacts the rishta.

Why not something like that instead of a shaadi.com type of website.

How would you judge and measurs sincerity of members?
A site free for all will be open invitation for all the pervets and chuskay baz.
Free matrimonial site can not be a financial burden I can have one up and running in a couple of weeks .
How do you make sure that it does not become a joke?

If i were to open a matrimonial website it would have the following features

1- confirm your identity
2- confirm your education and employment
3- you pay to join, which would go towards the cost of confirmations using a third party (like used in employment screening)
4- members dont have access to your specifics but see what all is verified and basic info. e.g.
name - verified,
age - verified, give range rather than specific age
education, verified, give generic info such as BS in engineering from US state university, or MA in architecture from UK university
employment- verified, and how long has someone been there

now if you start talking to someone and it is serious enough, they can give you more access to their verified information such as exact age, exact university and degree and exact employer etc.

The sign-up fee would be enough to keep time waster or playing the field types out.
I would also put a monthly membership fee, and the more info you get verified about you in the beginning, the lower your monthly fee is.

Now would this model work for desis :slight_smile: I dont have the time to evaluate it right now. So if someone wants to run with it, they can. but if you make it big, just pay off my mortgage etc. and include me in credits.

I have some very specific ideas on usability and match logic and approach as well. interested serious parties are welcome to contact me.

YPN - I forget what it stands for , it’s a service run through APPNA. They have events regularly. Next event in late October.

Muppies Events - meetups for young muslim professionals. I think this is a model that is the best - low stress, and you show up for networking and entrepreneur type seminars, etc. And you get to make lots of friends within the educated muslim community. I’m sure people can easily hook up this way.

Various meetup.com groups. I started one and it did pretty well. Although I moved so the events mostly were run after I left, but I kept financiing it.

I think fee-based models are driving people away. Desis are cheap. Girls tend to be the ones paying for the profiles, and guys are cheapos refusing to cough up cash. People are on multiple websites anyway, so the bills add up.

You moderate it, like GS is moderated, but it’s free. As soon as you get wind of abuse, you kick people out.

X2 please provide verifiable information on your mortgage details. The more information you provide upfront, greater the revenue sharing opportunities.

900 profiles of girls, 248 profiles of men. Just checked their excel sheet posted from dec. 2013, so I guess they’re not active anymore.

That’s a pretty steep ratio. And you guys say I’m imagining things when I say there are not enough guys on the market, because guys are marrying out of the culture and marrying girls from back in Pakistan.

I can’t possibly believe we just have way more female births than males…