massive universitys being setup

PAUT campus being set up in DHA, says Maqbool
Staff Report

LAHORE: A** campus of Pakistan-Austrian University of Technology (PAUT) is being established on 130 acres in the Defence Housing Authority (DHA)** under the Universities of Engineering Science and Technology of Pakistan (UESTP) project.

According to a statement, Governor Lt Gen (r) Khalid Maqbool said this while talking to a six-member delegation of educational experts from Austria, led by Federal Science and Research minister Dr Johannos Hahn, at the Governor’s House on Sunday.

Honorary Consul of Austria in Pakistan Sarmad Amin, Higher Education Commission (HEC) chairman Dr Ataur Rehman, HEC advisor Dr Haroon Ahmad, executive director Dr Sohail Hussain Naqvi, Federal Commission coordinator Javed Masood and Dr Khalid Mehmood, the project director of UESTP – **being set up with the collaboration of international reputed universities of Germany, Austria, Italy, France, Sweden and China – were also present on this occasion.
Welcoming the Austrian delegation, Maqbool said Lahore was an important cultural and educational centre of the country and was also known as the centre of engineering economy.

He said campuses of Pakistan Germany University of Technology on 480 acres and Pakistan China University of Technology on 320 acres would also be established in Muridke, near Lahore, on under-construction expressway between Lahore and Sialkot. He said the three universities would have their own technology parks.

The governor said due to establishment of the technical universities, various industries would be benefited from the expertise of international-level technical experts. “Pakistani industrialists will be able to introduce their new products through these technology parks,” he said.

Maqbool said the talented Pakistani youth would graduate from those reputed universities in Pakistan. **“The entrepreneurship culture will also be promoted in the country,” **he said.
Home](http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp) | National](http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=main_10-12-2007_pg7)

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\12\10\story_10-12-2007_pg7_44

this is amazing and great news, massive new universitys are being setup on international standards.
another great achivement by perveiz musharraf, may he continue to take pakistan to super power

pakistan zindabad, long live musharraf :jhanda::jhanda:

Re: massive universitys being setup

good news with pathetic support for musharraf with no sense.

^^ everything has to do with President Musharraf and his team .. Accept it or keep crying :jhanda:

well i wont beat drums of mushy all the time, if he is done good things, it was his duty and promise.

I am not against musharraf, he has brought changes in recent Pakistan history in education sector. which is good.

musharraf has brought about a revolution in education sector and not just that in all sectors, which have seen huge growth since he came.

MUSHARRAF ZINDABAD, PAKISTAN PAINDABAD.

:jhanda::jhanda::jhanda:

^^ Mushy Man, any idea why it has to be in DHA???

just to increase the real estate price of army janta?

^May be there is a lot of free land available there. And since Gulberg is the new downtown of Lahore , it would be nearer to it.

I am from lahore, I know where this phase Vi DHA is. why this couldnt be on cheaper and free land anywhere else instead of inside DHA, so DHA can boast about public uni in its real estate project at government/aid expense.

Musharaf is a liar... He hasnt brought any change to education... If you have any proof that he has, then present it...

Pakistan has the lowest enrolment in South Asia, second only to Afghanistan... Pakistan has the highest dropout, second only to Afghanistan... Pakistan has the highest disparity between girls and boys education second only to Afghanistan... Pakistan spends less then the average that most developing countries do on education...

Last year the govt promised to raise the spending on education to the average of 4 percent... Never happened...

Ground realities expose the dictator and his govts lies for what they are...

well its not only in DHA, its a massive project of musharraf to setup state of the art unis in pakistan,
theres an ecucation city coming up with big unis there,

look at the article 2 big unis are being made in a place like Muridke, its not only DHA

I am not die hard or blind supporter or musharraf. but

thats a bit harsh an un true, have you been to Pakistan ever? or know what has changed in past few years in education sector?? let me know the realites.

number of universities are increased from 20 to 120+ now so thats not a big change for you??
in higher education there are many programs to attract foreign faculty on very decent pay .
just visit www.hec.gov.pk

pakistan students are being sent by HEC to foriegn unis in Europe and US on scholorships for research

in the rural sector Pakistan Human development Fund done very nice job with backing of the government, its lead by Dr Nasim Ashraf (PCB) they select districts, build schools train local staff and leave to them to run it.

Punjab government ia lauded by WB and running a very good education program

I am not saying its only in DHA's but DHAs specific location is only because of real estate business for the Army by the Army

suhaib, alasi, reza pehalvi: are you guys on payrol? from mushy or ISI? the way you support him blindly in right or wrong really makes many wonder here.

dont know which unies are getting these token foreign teachers. no point in building new ones (i heard a lot about Sweden making unies in Punjab some time ago too... where are all the swedish graduates?) when the existing ones are floundering.

Take GIKI for example, my alma mater. It used to be Asia's 4th best university in 1997. We had plenty of foreign teachers, and the criteria for a teaching position was atleast phd. Last time I was there in 2006, there was at most a single phd in most faculties, the rest were my CLASSFELLOWS, and not even graduates with particularly high GPAs. They'll be lucky to break the top 50 now.

From my observation, the quality of students has gone down, not up, in recent years.

^What batch were you in lj? During 2000, the electrical engineering dept at GIKI had 0 PhDs. Hopefully things will improve when the HEC graduates from abroad return, but from what I have observed, alot of them are unnecessarily prolonging their PhDs for no reason, as they are getting everything paid for, getting stripends etc. Also, alot of 'brigs' and 'cols' who arent even that smart have availed that scholarship and taken their entire khandaans abroad, mostly to the US for their PhDs. Its funny how their army influence doesnt work over there, and they have to soften up to the civilian HEC scholars to get their dissertations/projects etc done. I asked this one friend of mine why he was helping this incompetent brig with his PhD stuff, and he replied, 'meney pakistan wapis jana hai aur wahaan yeh mera boss ho ga'... NUST is another great example of how the they have to inject incompetent military ppl with otherwise well qualified and capable civilian professors, but then again this is a dictatorship so we can expect such things.

AttaurRehman however deserves praise, he worked hard.

what do you mean by dhas specific location.

well we must praise the gov. for taking international standard unis to a place like Muridke.

Mashallah. More great work under the great leadership of President Musharaf - the greatest Pakistani leader since Quaid-e-Azam. :k:

:k: :jhanda:

Education is THE way … Pakistan can only progress by educating their masses be it private institutions or govt institutions !

alhumudilla, musharraf will continue to take pakistan to new heights
:jhanda::jhanda:

Thats because only the students in that locality can afford these universities.

oh boy! means now QUALITY of education is replaced by the AREA an Institution covers!