Massive Blast of Radiation headed for Earth!

"The earth is due to be hit this morning by a massive blast of solar radiation that NASA warns could temporarily disrupt satellite communications and power grids.
The solar storm began Thursday when a sunspot unleashed a huge flare that hurled a cloud of highly charged particles toward earth at almost 5-million kilometres an hour.

Video: Massive solar flare hurtling toward Earth

Scientists say it’s the strongest sun storm so far this summer, adding it could be up to 300-thousand kilometres long.
NASA says the solar eruption could trigger an exceptional northern lights display that may be seen as far south as Alabama and California.
There have been five previous solar outbursts already this year, but none caused any problems on Earth."

Massive blast of radiation from a huge solar flare headed for Earth - The Globe and Mail

I hope I get to see some northern lights :chupki:

Re: Massive Blast of Radiation headed for Earth!

288 views and 0 posts. No one cares that the solar storm is coming our way :D!

Btw, what's the update on this?

Oh darn, I didn't even read this before. I have always wanted to see northern lights (okay fine I care about the solar radiation as well).

I missed this :frowning:

Anyway I found an article of the sighting of the Northern Lights soon after the flare was expected to arrive …

Auroras widely seen July 14. Chance on July 15, too | Space | EarthSky

True enough as predicted the lights were stronger and were seen further south …

***A shimmering aurora – or northern lights – was seen at lower latitudes than expected last night (night of July 14, 2012). Spaceweather.comsays it has gotten reports of sightings as far south as California, Colorado, Missouri, Utah, Wisconsin, Iowa, Oregon, Illinois, Nebraska, and Arkansas.

***​

^ I was at work that evening...so was unable to see too much...but I have seen the northern lights just once...very lightly though...the sky was a little light green....

I hope to make a trip up north just to see the northern lights one day InshAllah. :D

hahaha....I was actually planning to work up north...coz they pay a lot...but plans changed...now thinking of moving to Calgary...

Yeaa...they have northern lights all the time!

Actually I don’t think northern lights are around all year round. My BIL went to Yukon in summer and the days are super long with very short nights and he didn’t see any. Maybe he just slept through it. :hehe:

^really??? I thought they would at least have it during the long summer "nights"....I was planning on moving to Cambridge Bay...and I know they have 24hr sunlight days during summer and 24hrs darkness for winter...

Wait aren’t days longer in summer and shorter in winter? :confused:

^yup...but because it is Northern most tip of Canada...they have 24hr sunlight during summer and 24hr darkness in winter...

Yea I know that I think I just read your post incorrectly. So I'm assuming the northern lights are more common in winter during the night?

^:hehe: and I thought I wrote the post all wrong :cb:

yup…they are more common during the winter…

Damn we need a bigger storm… one that disrupts technology totally… computers and electricity in general gets a total wipeout and we are back to the dark ages… oh yeaaahhhh! :hbk:

Well one can dream anyway. :bummer:

^^ why u be so mean and evil O Faris Udeen jee :(? Duniya ne aap ka kya bigaara hai?

Well its actually not mean and evil... the way I see it, man has destroyed most of this beuatifull world of ours and even today those who are "civilised" are the ones who massacre and starve myriad of people...

if the whole world was plunged into darkness everyone has fair odds. The poor and the rich will be in the same boat it will be survival of the best, and since much of the technology today is used to exploit and terrorize others... there is a balancing of odds.

Yes I know without electricity and water pumps the western world might become as poor as africa but that would serve them right for ignoring africas needs for so long.

Sometimes it is only by such devastating shocks and huge loss of life that we can wipe the slate clean... future generations gathering round post apocalyptic campfires will curse the wastrels of today who put prices on everything from life to death.

^ur signature is scary :eek:

I dunno about that... :@:

dont listen to her, i like it. in fact, i think i will make it my signature too.

I was going to use...

3 Biggest killers on the Modern battlefield.

1) UAV Drones, (2) Faris Udeen (3) Anti Material Sniper rifle