MASJID yaan PARK / MAIDAAN?

salams everyone

there is a peculiar kind of masla going on in our mohalla

its actually kind of funny lol coz the laraiyaan among the mohallaydaarz r quite funny :smiley: but if u think abt it its also kind of a masla

so here’s the thing

we live in this area with a lot of appartment complexes and there is a big open rayt ka maidaan [plain play ground] in the middle of these apptmts encircled by the apptmts where boys usually play cricket in the evening and then at night or in the morning ladies n girlz [and some mard hazraat] do walking…

we mashallah also have a masjid that is a ten minute walk from the appartments, u just have to cross two roads and there it is…and there r other masjids in the mohalla too mashallah…like no house is such that there isnt a masjid in 10 minute walking distance…

there are also some other parks nearby…10/15 mins walk…but for ladies its difficult to go that far at night plus aunties feel comfortable sending their boys to play cricket in the evening in that ground coz its right there nazron k saamnay…

now the problem is that recently there is a phadda going on becoz some residents want to turn that ground into a masjid while others want it to remain as a park…there’s no middle way especially becoz if it becomes a masjid then ladies wont be able to go walking there etc aur larkon kee cricket bhee band ho jayay gi…

i was thinking abt this issue…and i was wondering k dono kee baat apni apni jagha theek hae…coz masjid waisay bhee itni kareeb hae doosri whereas there is no park so much nearby…but it also doesnt look nice to say k no dont masjid becoz there shud be a park/playground here…

what do u guys think shud be the solution to this and is there an example of such a situation in sunnah ?

Seems like another masjid (or masjids) is within a reasonable distance, so why do some people want to add another masjid? If it is because the other masjid is over-flowing and can not take all the namazis, then it is a reasonable proposition, and should be carefully thought about. Most mosques hardly have 25% occupancy during five daily namaz, but are over-flowing for jumma ki namaaz or Eid ki namaaz. If over-crowding is occuring at those times, then these people should consider using the playground, for prayers, during those times. Shamiana can be erected and namazis won't have to crowd an already over-crowded masjid. And kids can play in that area at all other times.

Potentially there can be two other reasons, why these people may want to build a mosque.

1. They don't agree with the maulvi saheb there (different firqa etc), or
  2. Because they feel they will earn a lot of sawaab if they build a mosque.

If its #1, then its sad, and they should be discouraged. If its #2, then these people should be advised to build a mosque in any other location, cz they will still get as much sawaab.

I think it’s an urban planning issue, the open space are a must in between apartment complexes as per an urban code. As per you description it seems like a planned area, and I think you cannot just erect a mosque in any open space available.

I am not really sure about this, but there are certain opinions that you should not create mosques in gardens. I think that can be implemented here as well. Masjids have their own particular needs and that’s why they are assigned special land so that they can be properly used.

Faisal bhai not sure why exactly they want to build a new masjid...i dont think theres any problem with the molvis of the existing masajid nor are the existing masjids overflowing to that extent...i think some ppl are just of the opinion that why not use this land for a masjid instead of a park...

Minime urban planning rules are not that strictly enforced in pakistan :D and about the needs of the masjids, yup u r right...but i think it also depends on how large of a masjid they want to make...i think they'll make a medium sized one if they end up making one and it wont be that difficult to maintain that...

i think it wud be best to retain the groud for the PARK purpose it is serving at the moment....
unless the mosque is not sufficient to hold the number of people coming to pray....

I think it should remain a playing ground.

1. Sports is a Sunnah
  2. One of the purpose of praying in congregation is so that the Muslims come together as a group five times a day which creates a community spirit, having loads of Mosques so that everyone is going to a different Mosque is not going to serve to unite the community but rather divide them further.
  3. It’s better to have Mosques further away because a sin is forgiven for every step you take to the Mosque.

Agree. If there is no overflow in the existing masjids, then i would support the above - keep it as a playing ground. If in the years to come, more space is required, then that’s when they should seriously consider relocating the playing ground to somewhere else and use that land to construct a masjid. However, since currently there exists no overflow, then why create a problem where it doesn’t exist. Just my humble little opinion. :flower1:

If the other Masjid is at 10 mins distance, it reachable easily so you should remain the park as it is. The other reason is that there souldn't be too many Masjids close to each other otherwise there will be problems of different maslaks two Masjids coming close to eachother.