Mashriq Maghrib Shimaal Janoob

I think all these are Arabic words for four directions.

But then Arabic got terms like Mashariq, Magharib, Mashriqain and Maghibain? What does these terminologies mean? and why there is no Shimalain and Janaobain?

Re: Mashriq Maghrib Shimaal Janoob

Maybe similar to English where we have South West and North West, South East and North East where as we have North and South.

We also have shimal maghribi, shimal mashriqi

^ yes but then again in english you have two Easts and wests and only one north and south.

so what does two Easts (Mashriqain) and two wests (Maghribain) means?

here is something I find out using google:

‘The Two Easts’ & ‘The Two Wests’ - The Meaning of Al-Rahmaan 55: 17 [5183] -Sources of Islam - Understanding Islam](Understanding Islam - Explaining Islam in Light of the Qur'an and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad)

The Qur’an has used the words “Mashriqain” and “Maghribain” (translated as “two easts” and “two wests”) as dual nouns and has also used these words in plural: “Mashaariq” and “Maghaarib” (translated as “all the easts” and “all the wests”).

It is quite well known that in the Arabic language, a plural noun does not only imply the plurality of the noun but is also used to refer to the vastness of that noun. In my opinion, the literary translation of the phrase “Rubb al-Mashaariq wal-Maghaarib” should be: “[the sole] Lord of the great vastness of the east and the great vastness of the west”. The same is the case, for instance, in" Rubb al-` aalameen" it should be translated as " [the sole] Lord of the whole vastness of the world".

The dual nouns (i.e. Tathniyah, normally implying two numbers) are also sometimes used in meanings quite close to those explained above. To fully comprehend the implication of the dual nouns, “Mashriqain” and “Maghribain”, as I understand it, I would like you to consider the usage of the words “Mashriq” (east) and “Maghrib” (west) as we use them in our everyday life. In our everyday usage, in contrast to the geographical or the scientific usage, the words “Mashriq” and “Maghrib” do not refer to a specific directional point only, rather they are generally used for a direction, in general. When I say that “I live in the east”, I use the word “east” in a general rather than a scientific sense[SUP][1][/SUP]](Understanding Islam - Explaining Islam in Light of the Qur'an and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad). Thus, in everyday usage, the words “east” and “west” may be used for a direction extending from the right of the particular point of direction, which is scientifically termed as “east” to the left of that point. In this sense, if a person facing east, observing the vastness of the east, moves his head from right to left, he would have [his own] starting and ending points of “east”. In my opinion, “Rubb al-Mashriqain” implies that God is the sole Lord of all the vastness that lies between the starting and ending points in direction referred to as “east” and the sole Lord of the vastness that lies between the starting and ending points in direction referred to as “west”.

I have given my point of view regarding the meaning and implication of these phrases of the Qur’an. A difference of opinion in these spheres is not of any great significance. The important thing, in my opinion, is to arrive at that interpretation of any given verse, which is most appropriate from the linguistic point of view and the one that is in accordance with the literary style of the Qur’an.

East and West do not give a full description, therefore we need to make use of North and South as well. e.g the latitude longitude for Lahore is 31.5497° N, 74.3436° E, Perth (Australia) is 31.9522° S, 115.8589° E, Rio de Janiero is 22.9083° S, 43.1964° W and New York is 40.6700° N, 73.9400° W. When we say that Allah is Rab ul Mashriqain, that means he is the Rab of the two Easts and so on.

I am sorry it's off topic, but can't help mentioning that the correct pronunciations are "shumal" and "junoob".

lols. Then all the media persons are pronouncing it wrongly 'shimali wazeeristan', 'Janoobi Sindh'

Gone are the days of PTV and Radio Pakistan when proper pronunciation and correct sheen qaaf were pre-requisites for anyone appearing on-screen or on-air. ab to jitnay munh utnay hijjay wala muamla hay.. kon poochta hay..

Ab poora zor munh teRha kar ke angrezi bolne per hai. Kawwa chala hans ki chaal,apni bhi bhool gaya :bummer:

:(

waqt acha bhi aae ga Nasir
gham na kar zindagi parhi hay abhi

because it relates to positions of sun rising and setting in the east and west respectively during the extremes of summer and winter months.

explain a little bit more.