Re: Marrying someone deaf/mute etc
i have never been approached by a deaf man so I could not say how I would react. I would like to think it would not matter. But, I am taken now so I guess it does not amtter anymore!
oops that was a typo ![]()
hmmm I know of a pretty and nice deaf girl... I hope she marries soon..not b/c she's a girl and should marry..but she wants to..and have a family and all.
thanks for your responses all!
Desis have problem marrying punjabi/non paunjabi speaking urdu/non urdu speaking english/non english speaking etc
very few will take anyone with some disability into consideration
it takes a big heart
^ That is so true. Desi’s are definitely the most picky, even though not all are up to a level standard themselves! ![]()
Dead/Mute?! Our "broadminded" society don't want to marry dark skinned girls never mind deaf or mute. I have yet to come across someone who said " kali larki beshak ho". It's usually " Tall, fair, slim, long hair". When you look at the son he's " short, bald, kala, fat". Charming!
So true..
I wouldn't rule out marrying a deaf person just because of their disability, esp nowadays when there aren't many practical problems with it, living in the west anyway. I'm a total romantic so honestly speaking if I was single and there was a strong attraction or spark there I'd go for it..
..and why is it ok in our culture to marry someone who's practically blind without their glasses but not a person who's deaf without their hearing aid??
I know a girl who married a man who was deaf. It was an arranged marriage. She was totally against it at first but the parents went ahead with it as he had a good character and a good job. She is happy as far as i know!
All men become deaf after marriage anyway... so i've heard
I knew a guy from my university who was partially blind. He was not blind by birth but when he was 5-6 years old because of some medical problem he became blind. He was such an intelligent student. Got gold medal. He got married even before the graduation ceremony and his wife was perfectly fine. The kind of person he was I am sure his wife must be very happy with him. He was very witty and had amazing sense of humour. Not everyone think about rejecting people who are a little less fortunate when it comes to physical attributes.
I would never reject a person on the basis of his disability.
All men become deaf after marriage anyway... so i've heard
Aapne ghalat sunnah hai!
two of my close relatives have deaf wives. both got beautiful kids....all healthy and fit.
^ I have seen that happen quite alot in Pakistan.
A little off topic, but I know this guy from Pakistan who is doing his PhD in quantum physics at Harvard. Whats so special about him? He's totally blind!!! He was also interviewed in Geo a little while ago. It's amazing, he lives on his own too (fam in Pak)! He came to visit us and I took him to watch Leo's 'The Aviator' and boy he pretty much heard the movie and seemed like he grasped more out of it than everyone else! I guess God didnt give him an eyesight, but gave him a lot more to compensate.
I guess a disability can only be your disability if you make it one. I think whoever marries my friend would be one lucky girl.
Can I contact your friend :-/
Am serious.........
i wont hav any issue as long as we love each other ![]()
I would say yes to a marriage with a deaf/blind man. Bas acha insaan ho.
Another thread dug up ![]()
^ Thats like a trend these days
People digging up old threads.
My cousin in Pak is 23 and was born deaf and mute. But man is the most handsomest and hard working person ever! As most of his friends were also deaf and mute, he saw that the guys that got married to non deaf and mute girls, didn't last long, as the girls got tired of it, and walked out. So he asked himself to get married to a deaf and mute girl. He's engaged now mashAllah, and they are the cutest couple ever! When Allah takes something from someone, He also gives. My cousin may not have hearing, but has the biggest heart and looks better than any supermodel, and his fiance is also beautiful, not just pretty, but like husn tapak ta hai... so beautiful couple
Survival of the fittest :)
Namaan,I am sorry but this was a shocking reply from you.
My fiancé is visually impaired (he has to read large type print, he cannot drive, etc.). Ours is an arranged match. He had bad experiences with rishtaa aunties; he was always told to take what he gets and not ask for anything else.
I do not think I could have found a better man for myself on my own, Shukr Alhamdulillah. He is amazing, to say the least, Masha'Allah.
A very good friend of mine who is pretty by any measure, well educated (MBA from IBA), working in good position in multinational company in Pakistan (to give an idea, making more than 100k per month) married this very sweet guy who lost his leg in an accident (when he was in his teens). Guy uses artificial leg.
Against all odds and against the wishes of family (in fact opposition of family), my friend willingly married this guy and let me tell you, this is one of the happiest couple I have ever seen. Its been more than 8 years now since their marriage Mashallah. She is still working full time. Guy works from home office (he completed his CS degree after getting married). Drives car (modified according to his needs) and pretty much does anything that a normal person can do (except for heavy weight lifting).