There are some families/parents who insist on marrying their children off to someone among relatives,because this way,according to them,one will never face such a thing called divorce after marrying someone among your relatives.So,how many of people actually do it,to marry someone among relatives,just because this way the girl especially would never become a divorcee?
Because of the same reason,people don’t prefer marrying anyone outside relatives.
Is it a right thing to do,especially if you know the person whom you would be marrying isn’t your type/uncompatible with you ? ![]()
Re: Marrying someone among relatives
Some parents are apprehensive of getting their child married to someone out of the family because they have a fear of the "unknown". They don't know what this girl or guy will be like. Some parents think that marrying their son to a girl from the family is better because she will be more obedient and less likely to be chalaak or "steal their son away". Fear of divorce can also be a motivation to arrange marriages within the family.
Bottom line is that there is no guarantee. Marriage changes people. Your niece whom you once thought was obedient....can change when she becomes your DIL....because the marriage naturally changes the dynamics of family relationships.
I dont' agree with parents forcing their children to marry ANYONE (cousin or non-cousin). But if one wants to marry their cousin and the feelings are mutual....there is no prohibition in Islam.
Are your parents trying to pressure you into marrying a relative? I don't mean to be nosy, just trying to make some sense out of these threads. I agree with RV that marriage to a relative is seen as a "safe bet" by many elders, however, when it goes wrong, it can tear a family apart. A close friend of mine is married to her first cousin. She said that her khala became an entirely different person after she married khala's son.
I certainly don't think that two obviously incompatible people should ever marry, regardless of their relationship. If you know clearly that a situation is not going to work well, then why put yourself in that situation?
My parents are getting me married to a second cousin of mine this year inshallah. The guy is decent mashallah and to be honest when they mentioned him it was a very big issue trying to accept this idea of marrying someone in my family and whose from back home despite me never seeing or having any contact with him before the proposal.
Looking at it then it was difficult and i remeber going through some crazy emotional times but in the end i decided to leave it all up to allah and my destiny. I think this is the best way. Islamically 3 parts of our lives have already been predetermined that is, the day youre born, married and die. Using this bit of literature i understood that no matter what if he's in my kismat it will happen regardless of whether i say no and honestly i had no reason to say no apart from the fact that he was from pakistan and the fact that he was a relative was slightly of putting for me but mashallah hes educated, good looking an most importantly has the religious quality in him that im comfortable with.
what im tryna get at is dont worry you're head too much coz if its in ur kismat itll come ur way regardless!!
=)
^ Some things are predestined, it is true. But at the same time, Allah has given free will as well. And there is a hadith that dua has the power to avert what is destined. You try your best to control what you can in life and leave the rest to Allah.
Mashallah hes educated, good looking an most importantly has the religious quality in him that im comfortable with.
Quite a catch, so what do you have on offer?
hain? will never be a divorcee? how? ![]()
what if they r liek 2 frigging opposite charged electrodes? helloo u marry the person not ur relatives! brrrrrrrrrrr
never will be a divorce, meh! ![]()
Marrying your daughter away is one of the most difficult thing for the parents to do. There are too many doubts, insecurities, worries that go along the whole process. So if the parents see they have a good match for their daughter/son within their family they would prefer it because usually one knows their family better than they would be knowing some strangers. So i think there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. However, if you think who they have selected for you is not someone you are compatiable with then let your parents know about that. I am sure they would listen to you. No parent want their kids bad so they would definately understand your point of concern.
Yes, right..Because when a person marries a relative, there will not be divorce, even when things go wrong in their relationship and even when they wouldn’t be happy with each other. They will compromise and live together :hinna:
lol, nice thread.
im in the same boat sort of. my mum especially speaks of 'importing' a nice girl who is a 'rishtedar' from Pakistan. we haven't had a one to one conversation about the issue as im only 20, but sooner or later i think i will be facing a problem.
I also feel the reason my mum is thinking this way is for herself. By importing someone she probably wont have to do the housework and everything will be just fine.
I might be thinking wrong but why would my mum be selfish? I cant speak urdu, my Punjabi is retarded and im far from being religious.
I think its about trust. When parents marry within the family, its because they supposedly know the guy and the fact that he is a relative adds pressure to the relationship...it has to work now. Lots of people marry within the family and feel safer about it...especially with girls.
But is it a compulsory that one should marry among relatives only?
No.
But some parents see/make it as compulsory .
those parents who make it a compulsion are ignorant and jahil
we have a clear indication and a clear thing in Islam when you see that our Prophet Hazrat Muhammad(SAW) Married Hazrat Khadija(RA) and some other Sihabiya(RA) Who were out of his tribes and even caste and family!
I am pretty much in the same boat, as my mum is forcing me to get married to my Maamu`s daughter and I personally am against cousin marriage, All the aunties related and non related have come up with their own arguments religious ones and non religious as well, the 2 biggest ones being Islam mein ijazat hai, aur khandan kee larkee aayegee to khush rakhegee aur hamaaree rivayaton ko samjhegee, And i have been fighting this for the past 2 months, Oopar sey the girl i like and i wanted my mum to ask the rishta for my amma does not approve of her so sometimes i just feel like going up to that girl and proposing her, dekha jaayega jo hoga.