marrying outside your ethnicity

Wish I had a significant other too :( You folks are lucky to be married to such wonderful people. Where is MY Prince Charming?!

Moona darling, u'll get your prince charming too, soon enough. Dil chota na karo.However , if you really wish to marry you have to consider the regular guys too, after all they are not so bad, mellow down a bit and lower the bar on your priority list.
But I don't think you'll have much problem since you are quite good looking and it is the looks mostly that matter in our desi culture and that compels a-not-so-good-looking girl to give in, thinking she might not get anyother person after that.

Best of Luck!

Lost soul, thank you for your best wishes. I’m sure that there is someone out there for me, as there is someone out there for most if not all of us. ITts just a matter of time and patience I think.

:flower1:

*Originally posted by moona: *
Where is MY Prince Charming?!

Moona dear: sabar karo. Sabar ka phaal metha hota hai :)

you know it's all just about cultural biases and un-informed opinions that have been shaped over the years...if everyone realized that religion- Islam makes everyone equal and that it is a way of life..its principles and basic foundations...none of these problems would occur...but then again..who's gonna explain this to these ignorant people?

For those who have problems..Inshallah Allah swt will make them less and less as time goes on....just stay strong in your Iman..and you will persevere. :)

so you wont lower the bar on ur priority list? :slight_smile: koi kala bandar na mil jaye tumko lol

Sorry Irem,

I just didn't visit this form & now today I checked it again. My wife has to speak only in English with my family & elders. I have to do the same or we translate it for our elders if cant communicate in English.

The gap between my wife & my family will be there always. As far as my children are concerned they will learn both father & mother's language & will be able to communicate with both sides of family equally.

In the end the thing that matters if u are happy with ur husband/wife & children. If one is then thats the best one can get out of marriage.

i duno…but wht i think is that,like prophet MUHAMMAD(s.a.w) said that all muslims r the same,kisi ajmi ko kisi arabi par aur kisi arabi ko kisi ajmi par fazilat hasel nahi,so i think as long as the two ppl r muslims,it doesnt matter…but obviouly like ppl have mentioned there will be communication gaps between the families,like my teacher is a sikh n shes engaged to a gora n english person,n she was telling us how she has to translate everything he says to her parents to them,well atleast they are happy togeher:)
but in my family:smack: jahan dekho there are cozn marriges but it is changing with time.

Sheraz, will I lower the bar on my list of priorities? Yes I guess I have to just a bit because I realize that, looks aside, I’m not perfect either, so if someone isn’t perfect in MY eyes, who is to say that I am necessarily perfect in HIS, right? So yeah, I have decided to delete some requirements on my list of priorities (the lower priorities, that is). Key priorities still matter to me of course and will not change (as in education, career, motivation, etc.) I’m confident that I will find my Prince Charming soon even though I do get antsy sometimes about the whole “process” of “finding” The One.

:flower2:

moona..they say it happens when you least expect it..so stop expecting and it might just happen..dont forget to invite me to your wedding since you are only 2 hours away :)

Especially his dad told him that there's alot of cultural difference between gujratis and punjabis(ignoring religion which is and should be major issue for them), <<<

CorruptAngel., What exactly do you mean by that? Are you suggesting that religion should be a major issue for them?

thanks so much for the replies everyone… :slight_smile: really appreciate your input… :flower1:

Najim bhai - no need for sorry in fact thanks for visiting the thread again n replying :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by NYAhmadi: *

Especially his dad told him that there's alot of cultural difference between gujratis and punjabis(ignoring religion which is and should be major issue for them), <<<

CorruptAngel., What exactly do you mean by that? Are you suggesting that religion should be a major issue for them?

yeah well religion is the most important issue because I think the biggest part of any culture is religion plus I haven't found 'any' difference between my lifestyle and his lifestyle then why should his parents care so much about cultural difference and castes?!