Haan sab khairiat haiy larki. Itnay daant na nikaalo! ![]()
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Marrying in a mosque
*Originally posted by cHEeGUm: *
Weddings are religeous first, social second.
You chose the wrong forum then. There is a religion forum for religion related discussions.
Try to apply that to everything you buy from houses to cars and almost everything you spend money on.
So basically you are willing to pay more to buy same or inferior products from Desis ?
Please let me know next time you decide to go shopping.
Answer this for me: Do you consider yourself a muslim (regardless of how religeous you are) ?
Yes or No. Any other answer will leave this discussion invalid.
Do you consider yourself a muslim .
YES, Now what ??
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
YES, Now what ??
Easy now. Good. You know Islam is a way of life, not a jummay kay jummay religeon. You can talk about islam in any forum, weather its Culture, General or even Corner. Its all around you. Kher, that was to answer your query why ive posted in culture and not religeon. I could have posted this in Images too.
Do you seriously consider yourself desi first and muslim second? Something as important as marriage holds more of an indo-pak rasam importance more than islamic importance?
there is nothing 'good' or 'bad' about getting married in a mosque. get married the way you want.
You can talk about islam in any forum, weather its Culture, General or even Corner. Its all around you.
I wholeheartedly agree. Islam incorporates every single aspect of life.
It's not about it being a good/bad thing. It's a matter of choice, I guess. Yes, religiously, we're taught to add simplicity to our lives...but then again weddings are happy occasions. I'm sure they even celebrated back in the day... just not as vastly as these days. :-)
When I get married, I'd want to have the nikah in a mosque...but the reception/wedding in a proper banquet hall. Personal choice. :-)
Nikkah in mosque is of course a personal choice, but if we are that adamant about following religion, then it's more important to know about the rights and obligations incumbent upon both individuals towards each other, as prescribed by the Quran. Read surah Nisa, and it may help answer some of the questions..
well, whether u marry in a mosque or at home, doesn't make much of the difference...u should stick to the islamic way of marriage and avoid un-necessary Rasoomaat..
Easy now. Good. You know Islam is a way of life, not a jummay kay jummay religeon. You can talk about islam in any forum, weather its Culture, General or even Corner. Its all around you. Kher, that was to answer your query why ive posted in culture and not religeon. I could have posted this in Images too.
Do you seriously consider yourself desi first and muslim second? Something as important as marriage holds more of an indo-pak rasam importance more than islamic importance?
thats what i mean..Islam is a way of life..but ppl dont really follow what the religion has to say..its not too convinient for them you see? :)
Mosque is just fine. All you need is four witnesses to be there when you are not thinking clearly.
Whats there to celebrate anyways? You are shagging the same person over and over and over again for the rest of your life..can it get more sad, depressing and miserable?
Mosque is the perfect place to show the depression , misery and irony of the occasion.
*Originally posted by BoSS: *
Whats there to celebrate anyways? You are shagging the same person over and over and over again for the rest of your life..can it get more sad, depressing and miserable?
Oh ho. Partner, seems like you are still not ready for it. Therez some more to marriage than just this. Kia khayal hai? :)
cheegum: The trend is growing..especially with the young brigage of mashallah religious youth. I believe its a good way to begin a relationship-in a mosque, to mark the sanctity of the new relationship...though i personally would be indifferent between the nikah being done in a mosque or the hall.
Pakistani weddings are not boring! Whose weddings have you been attending?
How very catholic of muslims. :k:
I agree with Chee on this one. But the thing is, very few mosques have accomodations for 250 or more guests or even more than 50. They just don't have banquet halls or a hall which can be converted for a wedding.
Alhamdulilah, the city i was living in just recently built a nice mosque which has a huge hall that could accomodate a large gathering. I agree that if proper facilities are avaliable, we should spend that $15K or $20k renting the mosque hall than give it to an exclusive hotel.
Yes, Desi weddings are boring! the only fun part of a desi wedding is the mehndi where u get to be festive. we don't really have a ceremony which is for show like american weddings and then after the nikkah, people sit thru boring presentations, speeches, and finally a lame dinner. Puleez, I'll take an american wedding any day with all the dancing, socializing, and mingling, and yummy expensive food. but then we all have preferences.
hey sis, have u been attendin desi wedding in US. Well they are boring, specially the speaches, well the desi wedding in pakistan, have none of that crapp. and Also my sis alsio had the nikkah at the mosque.
I am quite not with the guests being attending the mosque for wedding, as the mosque is worshipping unless u are in a western country where they change mosque is modifeied so u can have wedding and other events in the mosque, like they have here in NZ.
But guests in pak in the mosque is not right. And any way the wedding is actaully the nikkahm, the rest is for our own choice, and the walima is a sunna.
Allah hafiz