Married - What should you know?

I have almost a month & want to utilize this time & learn the essentials of desi cooking. What are a must knows?

Daal: Masoor, Massar, Maash, Channa, Moung

Vege: Aloo ki bujhiya, Bhindi, Saag, Palak, kareiley, gajar-alu-matar sabzi, what else?

**Gravy:
**Chicken/Mutton/Beef Karahi
Chicken/Mutton/Beef Korma
Aloo Gosht
Karrhi
Haleem

**Rice
**Vegetable rice
Biryani
Chicken/Mutton/Beef Pulao
Khichri

What else is a must?

Re: Married - What should you know?

desserts....kheer, gajar/suji ka halwa, sheer khurma, maybe cakes etc

LOL...I was expecting something else.

I think you know most of the stuff mashallah ... once you know the basics , cooking isnt really the hardest thing in the world ...

and hey if you know a bit of stitching and basic sewing , that will be immense help .. not thats its going to be much required here in the UK , but you know for most desi clothes , changing fittings and doing buttons etc , really helps in time of need ... so you might wanna ask mommy for any shortcuts ...

Rest , inshallah you will do fine ... and here's an insider tip .. take it easy .. focus on what husband likes and sometimes men can be picky about their food .. so expect lots of changes in your cooking style later on .. you might go there thinking hey no one can cook saag better then me , you end up realizing he hates saag all together ! ... so yeah , now that you know the basics , dont fret too much ...

too late now. only trick u should know now is "hot to make hubby dine out alternate days" :)

Kebabs! You need to know how to make kebabs (shammi. chapli, seekh - which ever ones you like), especially to freeze and take out to serve when you're running out of time.

Koftas are another thing you can make ahead and freeze and save time with later.

next you have babies! boy first!

I don't think you're missing anything...CB gave a great reply.

Oh yes yes Kababs!!

Stitching & Sewing - I know how to do buttons and normal hand stitching. But altering clothes using a sewing machine, i don't know. should i learn it? How much do these sewing machines cost in UK, generally?

• some chinese cooking like fried rice manchurian, shashlik, pasta, singaporian rice. they are all made of same ingredients
  • salads
  • nuggets
  • chicken sticks
  • boneless haandi

Chinese - i do know some of it already.

Boneless handi - CB can you share an easy recipe for it?

You should just know how to take care of simple things so you don't have to find someone for every single stitch you know?

And I think you already do. Buttons, small hand stitching to tighten something or mend/repair.

Pasta ... Nothing beats a Ravioli and Tortellini on a nippy evening !

You almost know everything.. If you know the basics you can make any cuisine. Internet and youtube is full of cooking recipes .

And seriously I think guys these days are not PAI-TOO so don't spend you time and energy learning all those dishes with difficult names :P

All you need is the will to learn things and make accommodations as needed. When my mom got married, she didn't know anything and now she makes the best food I have ever had.

Ahem .. the first entry just has things that I need to know, i don’t actually know them all .. :blush:

Daffy :grumpy:

Koi gul nai kuriye , jsut learn the basics ..you will learn the rest .. fikar not …

Then watch Bajia's kitchen on youtube :P

Waise you should learn the basics according to your hubby's eating habits. If he is choosy about the food like he loves meat then learn the tactics of cooking meaty items.

He says he eats everything (except raw onions that he is allergic to) , now that is veryyy helping! :naraz: