Married Girls - Friendships

Is it just harder to keep up with friendships after marriage? Is it harder to make new friends? Does your friend have to have a husband so your hubby can have a playmate? Or are you open to making friends with single girls?

I noticed the married girls tend to keep the single girls far away. Is that justified or just catty?

Re: Married Girls - Friendships

LMAO. Of course tumhe tho iss topic mein tapak na hi tha.

I think yahi masla Hai
My married Friends and cousins r very busy
They havnt much Time or woh shaadi se pehle bilkul Aur thi
Woh bohet zada Change ho gai Hain (positive And negative both ways)
Unki hubbys ko bhi pasand nahi if they have 2 much Contact with me cause im Not married Aur woh phir Bore ho jate Hain agar unki wifes Mere saath Time spent Karen :naraz:

I don't think it should be a problem as far as you have same gender friend.

I shall not speak for the "women folk" but it is a general trend with all married couples including the male element. My friends who are married are busy with their jobs, spouses and kids. So I speak to them once a month or so and just catch up.

In my scenario it has been easier to make new friends with other married girls where as the the single ones I see on occasions (weddings, masjid) but dont always get the opportunity to develop much of a personal relationship. And yes it seemsveasier to make friends with girls whose husbands my husbands clicks with as well. I think everyone is busy whether single or married that doesn't matter but it depends on your circle. My husband and I have a easier time going out with our married friends group that don't have kids yet where as the ones with kids either can't go out to certain places or seem to cancel more on us because of family commitments. I think when your married, it gets difficult to keep your old friendships because marriage can bring a lot of change (good and bad) in your life so you sometimes lose the relatable aspect. When your friends cant seem to relate to you, or you to them, I think it can sometimes make it seem as your growing apart because you automatically gravitate towards other married people for the commin factor. However I think that every relationship takes effort so if you maintain your old friendships it shouldn't be that difficult. ...I don't know if it's catty but really silly whenever I get an invitation that specifies "only married girls please." I only see that with the girls that are new from Pakistan that seem to make those specifications, I never had my American Pakistani friends ever put emphasis on that.

Well I had to move countries after getting married, but I think if I was still there, I'd still meet up with my friends from time to time. So would hubby with his because we both believe we need to also have our own life and friends and not always go together everywhere.

As for the question about finding married friends - We met a single girl here a few months ago and both of us hit it off really well with her. So whenever we meet her, it's mostly the both of us together with just the girl. I've met her alone or with a few other girls on a few occasions as well but I have no issues with the both of us going out with her.

Yes, it's harder to keep up with friendships once someone is in a serious relationship simply b/c their priorities change. At that point, its not only about us hanging out....the person also needs to make time to hang out with their SO/fiance/spouse's friends and family. In addition, of course they would want to spend time with each other.

If I meet a female who has a BF/fiance/husband that gets along with my husband....that makes life a lot easier. Its a lot less hassle for me to make plans to hang out with them. Although I'm open to meeting single girls....I've found its harder to make plans with them.

I don't totally isolate my husband from other single girls simply b/c it wouldn't work in our social circle. Whether married or single, girls who have physical traits that my husband finds attractive OR with whom my husband has common interests with ....I keep a VERY close eye on those girls. As the saying goes....keep your friends close but your enemies closer. When married men cheat, majority of the times the mistress is someone they already know (co-worker, friend, neighbor etc.). So with wives who flat out refuse to bring in single girls into their social circle.....they're justified in doing it. But they should also keep in mind that plenty of married women out there cheat on their husband's too........so just b/c a friend is married, that doesn't mean they should let their guard down.

I haven't found it to be much harder really. I mean if you were used to spending every waking second with your friends then thats probably not feasible but I easily find time once in a week at least to physically hang out with them and we're on the phone/texting throughout the week.

I find it hard to make new friends in general because it takes me a while to warm up to people but I don't think being married has anything to do with it except maybe you have less incentive to make friends because you have your husband to rely on. Pretty much all of my friends currently are actually single girls, I have very few married friends.

It would be ideal if I could make friends with married couples but I find it really difficult because I don't always get along with the wives of my husband's friends. I mean its not like I have any issues with them but so far they have very different viewpoints and lifestyles to me and I often get along better with my husbands friends themselves. Its tricky to find a couple where my husband gets along with the guy and I get along with the wife.

Married gals can b friends with single girls. However often younger married girls r not as educated as single girls. So therefore the click is not always there. Married girls tend to talk about house things a lot and kids...yawn!! This puts single girls off, they then go off n find single girl friends cos they can no longer click with their married friends and so drift apart from them.