Marriage

Is Nikah different than Shaadi? Is being nikahfied equivalent to getting married? And where does Rukhsati figure in all of this? Is Rukhsati a part of the whole wedding ceremony?

Re: Marriage

Whos askin'? ;-)

Nikkah is an arabic word, and islamically is all that's required to be married. Just sign the contract. Shadi is the Urdu/hindi word for a wedding, but I'm not sure which particular part it refers to, or if it means the whole shebang.

Rukhsati is the ceremony where the bride leaves her family home to go to her husband's, again, a desi thing.

chloe it has been nicely discussed recently:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=206707
i’m glad i’m not the only one wondering about it those days :blush:

never mind

...once ya nikah has been done, ya marriage is valid.

:nuch: :blush: :balley:

ASN...with a nick like that, if i was you i would be worried. :)

Amna, thanks. But this rukhsati bit, why is it delayed at times? Shouldn't the bride leave with her husband once the nikah is done?

never mind

Asn don't make me slap you. Indian Muslims don't take 7 pherays. Stop being a dick.

never mind

well she doesn't necessarily have to go with him - if you read the thread that paris so kindly attached you'll find out that there are many different reasons why the rukhsati is delayed

i.e - the wife is in a different country than the husband (nikkah was done over the phone) or the couple is still in school and need some time to settle down before being together in their own home...etc, etc..

can u really conduct a nikah whilst in two different countries?

You can if you want to. I know quite a few couples who did. Even in American civil law, you can have a marriage by proxy, in which one party is absent but has sent his/her consent.