marriage

i am a physician working in new york.recently my family met a family that we seemed to like.things went to arrangements for nikkah in 4months.i was very happy…although i was nervous,he took stand for me when my family was in doubt so many times that i began liking him.i couldnot fight things that should not have become a problem.my family loves me,i still think he will come back…should i contact him after all this happened?will i be able to keep everyone happy and resolve any differences?

Re: marriage

It depends on if you like him enough. If you think he's okay overall then I would go back to him. A good rishta nowadays is hard to find.

please give us a bit more detail :)

the person you are in nikah with has disappeared? or you are going to marry someone you don't know and you like someone else and he has left you because he is hurt?

i like him and his family overall.i strictly believe in arranged marriage,however several factors have influenced my decision not to marry him.now i feel i could have tried for my happiness.my family has become very afraid after two divorces in close family.may be that affected their decision.i know its over,i am having hard believing it...i didnot judge things by my self.it is very important to make decisions yrself.

if you had a nikkah with him and it is nullified (spell?), then there is no use of calling him back.

we never reached day of nikkah.I was feeling low tonight but thanks everyone.i strongly believe in Allah,He always shows me right way..

Hina, chin up. There’s probably a better guy somewhere else in store for you. By the way, props up for being a female Pakistani doctor. :k:

you broke off your 4 month old engagement coz you were 'confused' and 'in doubt' about him??? If yes then you DONT deserve him....confused people should really avoid marriage as much as possible. Sorry magar yeh tum logon k bas ki baat nahi hai!

You can not say that they should avoid getting married, they should be given more time to understand the person and get more comfortable with the person before making any thing official.

He took a stand for you but you couldn't reciprocate. Don't expect him back.

That’s my point exactly. From her post it’s clear that her family did make it official. I think it’s highly unfair for a any reasonable perosn to be engaged with such confused people who can’t really understand what the word ‘commitment’ means. My brother went through this recently and I absolutely hate it because my family is hurt. People should really evaluate all things before they say ‘yes’, not everyone likes to go through this whole desi rishta process again. It annoys me so much to see a cinfused woman or someone who can’t stand up for herself!

All these judgements without knowing any details of the situation. Why, who , what, when, where...