Marriage Vs Friends

Does it really become tough for a man to get time for friends after marriage??

P.S: One on a friend in a group met us after 2 months of marriage…

Re: Marriage Vs Friends

Of course, he has additional responsibilities now.

I agree, her wife have more rights than us… but week me 1 bar bhi milna muhaal hojata hai kya?? or it does depends on a person?? like 2-3 hours on a holiday?

Working on a new relationship is not easy. Once one is settled and the relationship is stable, it’s easier to find time for friends . The friends should be supportive of this. When my friend got married, I wouldn’t even msg her at a time I thought her husband might be home, let alone calling her. She would tell me that it’s okay to message or call, but I thought if it’s not urgent then wait till her husband is at work.
If our friends are not supportive of such a life changing phase, then whom can we expect to be?

It differs from person to person too. People have their priorities. For some, friends are more important than family. I am definitely not from those. For me it’s family, family, family, extended family and then friends.

Hmmm…

Yes we are very supportive friends… bohat pyara group hai Alhamdulillah :slight_smile: ye sirf mere apne zehan ki soch thi kyunke I missed our group’s gathering and today we enjoyed at our hearts…

Alhumdulillah.

I was one of the first people in my circle of friends to get married. Naturally that resulted in me not meeting them as often as I used to. However once they started getting married as well, we ended up meeting more again. Their wives are friends with my wife, their kids are friends with my kids, etc.

I asked this question to someone in my city, he said a bit same “aahista aahista sab wapis hona shuru hojata hai”

by the way, good for you MashaALLAH :flowers:

Exactly what Umer said. I experienced the same in my husband’s group . When spouses get together , we bond together as families and that changes the previous relationships into even more precious ones and we tend to meet each other more .

What if you are an introvert and don’t want to bond with husband’s friends and their family?

That’s perfectly normal too. I’ve developed this actually. Younger I was more of extrovert and loved to socialize. Now I do it mainly on a half to basis. I don’t mind being around, but I would rather not be. But, luckily my husband isn’t much for finding new friends cause he’s always been an introvert. So…either way…the friends and spouse of said friends should be respectful of the marriage…the marriage/family come first…and it changes completely once kids are involved bc there is less time for friends.

In my case personally, I still see my friends on an almost daily basis going to the masjid. I would say the change in how much I got to meet them was not so much due to marriage itself, but was more affected by the schedule and constraints that come with working full time. However, once you get married, family gets higher priority when it comes to free time for both you and your friends. In my case, I still do meet with friends outside of family gatherings. Occasionally we might still get together to meet up for a meal or even coffee. I’ll even go as far as to say that getting together less with friends is more due to nobody taking the initiative to get everyone (i.e. friends group) together and not due to a lot of time being tied up by wife/family.

With my friends..at least for 2 years they didn’t hang out much…after those 2 years they hung out more, however not as much as they used to before marriage.

thanks guys for your nice meaningful replies..

so shadi is a big deal too.. :cb: :hehe: