marriage into a different social class and cast

I know the amount of money someone has shouldnt make a difference when chosing a suitable partner.

But in real life does it make a differnce?

and what about different regional casts…like pathan, punjabi, gujrati, urdu speaking etc etc

Re: marriage into a different social class and cast

i think money is an important factor and matters hugely for majority. as for the different ethnicities it depends. those who are brought up in comopolitan environments usually arent as affected by different backgorunds but if its otherwise there are many adjustments to be made. and language can become one of the biggest obstacle.

Money does make difference, and about casts,. its mostly depend on your thinking..

as far i concerned, none of it matter to me ..

I'm marrying into a diff caste - however our backgrounds are v.similar. Big factor is language - they speak Hindko and we speak Punjabi. But both me and the fiance communicate in English most of the time.. and his parents can understand me and i understand them, but we don't speak same language! inshallah it won't create too many probs, but at first it was a big barrier when trying to arrange our marriage..

^ you are not married yet,.. your id is like more then 6 months old know :emmy: .. go get married :mad:

so my dad insisting whoever i marry should be same social and cultural background as me is pretty normal then?

I see so many potentials at uni, but they are alllllllll a different cast!

So long as he's Muslim, all is good. The caste thing is a little old-fashioned now.

Of course money makes a difference. Love doesnt pay the bills or puts food on the table. You want to marry someone that can provide you with the bare necessities at the least. That isnt asking for much. Now that does not mean that one has to marry someone rich. You can marry someone with a modest income and still live a comfortable lifestyle...you just have to learn to live within your means. It also depends upon the kind of lifestyle you are accostumed to living....one may want to marry someone that can provide them with what they are used to while living with their parents while others may not care much about that.

As far as marrying within your own cast.... this way of thinking is very outdated to say the least. Its hard enough for people to find a decent spouse in general ...why limit yourself to one cast? Just find a decent person and marry em.

very perceptive.. got engaged last year and joined gup shup for wedding planning ideas and inshallah will get married in aug, so officially i have been a dulhan to be for all that time.. would you like to go back to topic or are u going to check up on some more posters?

this paki mentality will never go away, no matter where people go and settle, or however educated they think they are… never welcoming and kind to people, always pick, pick, picking…

Bibi Jee, i just asked you a question ... and you get in the Pakistani mentality, then where ever they go.... and settle... . and blah blah..

yeh you are right, people never get change, no matter where they go.. what they do.. and etc

My family is very conservative...they really care about it.
Pathans only,no punjabis.

Punjabis bach gaey. Phew.

I know every girl wants a rich n handsome husband/life partner.
But now i have realized that,your partner should be trustworthy n good looking.
Yaar come on ...we will make our life beautiful together.

Things n circumstances are not always the same.

Where is the question? At no point during that post did you ask a question. Don't try and justify yourself now as you realise how silly you sounded..

Imo money usually will make a difference in practical terms, caste really shouldn't... I mean unless the person is a complete backward thinking snob.

My hubby is a different culture, class, religion and "caste" from me. Yet we are in our 12th year of happy marriage Mashallah. Where there is love, there is understanding, acceptance, forebearance, forgiveness and understanding. When you have these things...nolthing else matters.

You can marry ... bare necessities
You can marry... modest income and comfortable lifestyle
You can marry... provide lifestyle you are accustomed to living

If you have so many options (possibly in order of increasing wealth), money doesn't matter! or does it? I am confused!

Money is an important factor...although it's no substitute for a guy's character. But it's practical to choose a partner who........doesn't necessarily have to be rich.......but is well settled career wise. In other words, he has graduated college and he is working a real professional job and not some odd-job...and has the means to support a wife and family. Of course, sometimes both partners have to work to make ends meet as well. But when a guy is well-settled in his career, it helps him to feel more secure about the future.

As far as caste is concerned...........it shouldn't matter. But to some families it does. Caste does not determine the character of a person.

You shouldnt marry if you feel you are not able to stand on your own two feet - financially, make your own decisions and stand by them.

Caste means nothing in the US as far as I see. People here marry in and out of castes all the time...no one cares anymore unless you're coming from super conservative roots.

Its the intentions that count not the money in your pocket or your catse , every married couple has to make adjustments one way or the other be it financially , behaviourally or anything thing . So even if you are of same caste and of same financial background and not willing to compromise and adjust with each other then your caste and money can't help you but if you have the willingness of accepting each other and forgiving and ignoring things fall into place. All you need is PATIENCE and believe me income and regional caste will not matter in the long run....