Im getting married in 2 months, and i still don’t know how to cook perfectly!! im so scared, because were gonna be living alone, and of course were expected to know…i started learning like 6 months ago, but i feel that it takes so much pratice to perfect our desi cooking! when did you guys start to learn?
Re: Marriage and Cooking...when did you start learning?
i started cooking when i moved abroad for study, and had no choice ... in the beginning i was rusty ... but my confidence gre over time and i started experimenting ... it became my favorite hobby :D ... got married a year later .. and it's really all good.
i think this thread should be moved to household affairs and cuisine.
Just keep trying you'll learn. Why don't you take a look at a few receipes online?
maybe your husband knows how to do it.
Re: Marriage and Cooking…when did you start learning?
thatz my feartoo:(..i dunno how to cook:bummer:
join the club hun :p
First of all congrats…now chill n take a deep breath
now i hav been married for 4 months…i was “not at all” an expert cook before my marriage…that is…i never cooked rice or roti…or any daal sabzi…although i was used to stove…like i used to make macroni or chinese stuff…n i knew the recipes of daal n sabziz too…i had accompanied my mom so many tymz in kitchen…n sumtymz near my wedding days…mama used to “by force” take me to kitchen along wid her while making pulao or shorba n stuff!
But guys…that actually helped me…i started cookin on my own wen we moved to states…3 months bak…n almost everything i cooked for the first tym for my husband…call it a beginners luck or sumthing else…they went gud Alhamdulilah…n now i do all the daily cookin…even including roti n parathas ![]()
so my point is…kuch na kuch seekh lo…i mean atleast u shud knw the procedure of how to cook sumthing…at least to sum extent…n get rid of stove phobia (if u hav any)…cook the stuff u love…n sumtymz the stuff u dont love too ![]()
I learned fast coz i love to cook n eat
if u love to eat…u wil learn cooking soon…Good Luck!!! ![]()
omg join the club!!!
i also am getting married in a few months, and i dont know how to cook and im getting in such a stress about it! i just have no time to learn im working full time and weekends are busy shoppin and getting everything together!!
problem with me is i will be staying with the in laws, they have a cook but i still beleive i should know how to cook im getting so nervous!!!!!!
I think it is best to learn after marriage.. because the in-laws cook differently and the girls side might cook things differently.. so why to go over the hassle to learn recipes of the same dish two different ways? .. because after marriage.. husbands would still want their mommy dearests cooking.. so better give them what they need... and be chill :)
i know cooking.. but i aint perfecting myself for party dishes.. because we cook differently and my fiance's family cooks differently.. so i am going to learn after shaadi..
Re: Marriage and Cooking…when did you start learning?
We have a thread similar to this in Household affairs and cuisine corner:
Anyways, I did learn everything form my MIL after marriage but I would not want my daughter to go through the same process. I am going to teach her all the basic things and the mandatory fancy ones because it becomes a hassle afterwards. You keep worrying about the cooking issue instead of just breezing into the kitchen and whipping up a decent meal for your own family. It really becomes very overwhelming at times when someone starts mentioning that ‘is ko kuch aata nahin tha, hum ne sikhaya hai.’ :bummer:
There are so many cooking classes and channels around now. It is pretty easy to learn to cook so why not do it when you are hassle free! ![]()
Oh god, Mahi. Don't tell me your MIL actually said that!
i didnt know a single thing of cooking when i got married.............. and i was also living alone.......... even i made first time tea after my wedding.............. so chil atleast u know the basic things...........woh kehtay hn na "sir pe parti hai tu sub khuch a jata hai"..........everything vl b fne just tell ur huby to be that you r not an expert but still learning so dont expect much in the beginning..........n inshahallah by practicing u l become more expert...........
n congrats for ur wedding may god bless you...........
omg join the club!!!
i also am getting married in a few months, and i dont know how to cook and im getting in such a stress about it! i just have no time to learn im working full time and weekends are busy shoppin and getting everything together!!
problem with me is i will be staying with the in laws, they have a cook but i still beleive i should know how to cook im getting so nervous!!!!!!
am exactlyy in the same boat as you..getting married in Sept InshAllah. Got my final year of med school with full days and evening wards at times too.
Would be living with my in-laws for at least a period of 5-6 months before I move to UK inshAllah with my hubby after my final year exams ..
they do have a cook but even he goes on a chutti or something plus on barri eid I would be the bahu of the family. Wouldn't they expect me to be able to do cooking not the usual handis and stuff but also the fancy dishes?? :(
help girls ! i have accompanied mama too alot of times and have once in a while cooked a few salans but that's usually with alot of supervision from my mom.
am just scared of the cooking something totally on my own!
:p
am exactlyy in the same boat as you..getting married in Sept InshAllah. Got my final year of med school with full days and evening wards at times too. Would be living with my in-laws for at least a period of 5-6 months before I move to UK inshAllah with my hubby after my final year exams ..
they do have a cook but even he goes on a chutti or something plus on barri eid I would be the bahu of the family. Wouldn't they expect me to be able to do cooking not the usual handis and stuff but also the fancy dishes?? :(
help girls ! i have accompanied mama too alot of times and have once in a while cooked a few salans but that's usually with alot of supervision from my mom.
am just scared of the cooking something totally on my own!
:p
EXACTLY!! even though we live with our in-laws....we need to know SOMETHING!! i feel we are expected to know at least some stuff....im an expert with american cooking, but when it comes to indian, i get all the masala's mixed up...and indian cooking cannot be fully perfected by looking at recipes...PRACTICE is what it takes...because theres little things that we need to get used to...
and theres no exact measurements in cooking....only ANDAAZA!! lol
[quote="“mahismart, post:347, topic:216097"”]
Anyways, I did learn everything form my MIL after marriage but I would not want my daughter to go through the same process. I am going to teach her all the basic things and the mandatory fancy ones because it becomes a hassle afterwards. You keep worrying about the cooking issue instead of just breezing into the kitchen and whipping up a decent meal for your own family. It really becomes very overwhelming at times when someone starts mentioning that ‘is ko kuch aata nahin tha, hum ne sikhaya hai.’ ![]()
Exactly - and who needs this kind of stress on top of everything else you have to cope with when you first get married?
Everywhere I’ve lived in the US & UK, even before marriage, all the girls are expected to help with with the preparations no matter what the occasion, even if there is a cook in the house. My mother would have been very ashamed & offended if someone criticized either me for not helping or her for not having taught me.
I think they would, or at least help your MIL. Even if they don’t expect it, wouldn’t it be nice to be able to offer to make a special dish for the occasion? I don’t cook usually, but one thing I do every year is cook a special birthday meal or special dishes on barri eid at my father’s request - these kinds of things make him very happy.
My mom started teaching me when I was very young, just little things so I learned by watching her & as I got older then she’d watch me do things by myself. Her father had insisted she learn early & she said the same to me. Back home in grandfather’s house, he said what was I going to do if the cook made food I didn’t like? In order to teach the cook to make food to your taste, you need to be able to show the person how you want it done. ;D
Cooking isn’t hard, it just takes a little practice - you’ll find the more you do it, the more confidence you will have. And there’s lots of books & recipes online to guide you.
I think it gets better when you start cooking, because cooking can be really very fun. You can't do a crash course in cooking, just learn the basics and learn the rest from your in-laws, they're gonna have different tastes anyway. But you know one thing you should be perfect at- a sweet dish, isn't a sweet dish the first thing you make at your in-laws? :S
Sorry, I didn't realise you were going to live alone, well in that case I'm sure you'll be fine, you won't need to worry too much about the in-laws pasand and stuff, you can just tell your hubby you're still learning, just learn a few dishes both of you like and learn the rest over time.