Mard Bhee Bol Sakta Hae

This program was on ARY just now, in relation to 8th March, International Women’s Day.

An amazing and extremely interesting program it was :k: Excellent and eye opening!

The program was ‘Shaista and U’ and the host was Dr. Shaista Wahidi, young female.

The guests were all men. (I hope I remember their names correctly)

Akhter Ali - A watchman who was from a village in interior Sindh and his monthly salary was 6000 rupees, he came home every night at 2:30 am after his daily duties *

Danish [lastname] - A rich Pathan businessman, seemed to be from a traditional background. [seemed somewhat bossy and stubborn but not a bad person]

Somebody Awan - A famous national human rights activist. [seemed too politically correct but raised some good points]

Iqbal Haider of PPP - a high ranking politician. [true sayasatdaan nevertheless humble in way of conversation and raised good points]

The small audience consisted of men and women from all walks of life.

Basically the program meant to ask these men to voice their complaints about the women in their lives (wives, mothers, daughters, sisters etc) and comment on the status of women in our society.

Some very very interesting points were raised in the program.

Akhter Ali’s complaint was that his wife is asleep when he reaches home at night and he asks her many times to get up and give him dinner but she wakes up after many calls. Her mother and his wife are not happy with each other, although his mother chose his wife. His wife demands expensive clothes. He also made the statement that har mard apni maan kee marzi se shaadi karna chahta hae. He admitted to beating his wife, kabhee kabhee haath chal jaata hae. He also said that buzarg kabhee kabhaar ulti baat kar jata hay but ye beewee ka farz hay saas kee baat ko nazarandaaz karna. He also said his mother was most important in his life.

Danish complained that he never wanted his wife to work but she has been working for 12 years since they got married despite his wish not to. She was not attentive to the kids and house. His expectation from her is 'acha kapra pehne achay zevar pehne aur mehmaanon kee khatirdari karay. He also said his wife doesn’t need to work since they are already rich. Plus his wife ‘bachon ko kabhee goad mein naheen bithaya, kabhee homework naheen karaya..Mein raat ko aata hoon to un kee kaapyaan dekhta hoon’. He said he beats his wife jab baat hadd se guzar jaati hae. For example, if he comes home tired, asks for water, she goes to kitchen and starts thinking something else and then he asks her again and she is still lost, such situations make him very angry.

The human rights activist said that women in the country are very mazloom and its the fault not of the men but of our society because since they are kids, men are told ‘dont cry, be a man’ and all the gaalyaan are based on women etc etc. Paanch saal ka bacha apni bees saal kee behn ko bus stop tak chorne jata hay…kya woh us ka tahaffuz kar sakta hae? The men who bother women in public are zehni mareez. Men beat their wives because since childhood they are told that this is the way to ‘control’ their wives and they don’t want a relationship of partners but a relationship of ‘haakim and ghulaam’.. [This guest got the most claps from the female audience]

Iqbal Haider said that unless women and men, work together, har satah pe, har shobay mein, shana ba shana, the country will not progress. Hukoomat has to facilitate this progress of women.

The audience asked some questions and raised some good points. The best point raised was by a young guy in the audience that the basic issue is trust..AITEMAAD and if mard and aurat have aitemaad on each other then problems will be minimised.

Don’t know if they’ll show re-runs but a program worth watching, specially for the ladies :k:*

oh, forgot one thing, lol, Iqbal Haider said, hamaray muaashray ke mutabiq program ka naam ghalt rakha gia hay...program ka naam bajayay "mard BHEE bol sakta hae' hona chahida 'mard HE bol sakta hae'

lolz

Re: Mard Bhee Bol Sakta Hae

*Originally posted by irem: *
This program was on ARY just now, in relation to 8th March, International Women's Day.

Akhter Ali - A watchman who was from a village in interior Sindh and his monthly salary was 6000 rupees, he came home every night at 2:30 am after his daily duties *** **

Sure, beating up your wife is very sweet, humble and soft with traditional and moralistic sidekick.

It pisses me off when educated women grads find 'beating of a woman' all so acceptable. No wonder that's why Pakistan is in the state it is.*

Not just that he gets home at 2:30am and wants his wife to wake and up serve him on the first call!!! No harm if she does, but he should be a little considerate too and not disturb her in the middle of the freakin night!!!

And expecting his wife to blindly oblige to his mother is very unjust. He admits that they BOTH fight. Then why beat her up for that?. Why not sit down with the buzurg maama and go over the basic “Huqooq-al-ibaad” with her. Tell her that being nice to ALlah’s creation is next to Godliness. Learning to forgive and not running other’s lives may also help.

I swear Pakistani woman is the biggest enemy of other women. I am a man and I know many other men who would be super nice to all women only if they learn how to respect themselves first. and it pisses the living hell out of me when parhi likhi aurtain try to justify man’s unjust behavior. :mad2:

That play 'Phir Yoon Love Huwa' was about an unjust, control freak M.I.L. and how its always her way or the highway. Also how the son gives in to his mothers wishes everytime and disgraces his wife just to please his mother. Great play.

I think the first two guests were complete jerks and need to be kicked real hard.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Not just that he gets home at 2:30am and wants his wife to wake and up serve him on the first call!!! No harm if she does, but he should be a little considerate too and not disturb her in the middle of the freakin night!!!

FF this question was raised by a female in the audience too. his reply was that if he is out earning for the family till 2:30 am, surely she can stay up till then to serve him dinner? and i agree. after all, aren't they aik gaari k do payyay, two wheels of one car? shouldn't they be working equally hard? its like, if all parts of a machine aren't running smoothly, the machine cannot function, and a family is like that too imho.

FF and funguy i never said that wife beating was acceptable...but obviously, the wives are doing something wrong here too...taali dono haathon se bajti hae...
the pathan guy and the sindhi guy both said that no man would like to beat his wife, just like no mother would like beating her kids, but they only do it when they are absolutely angry and its their very last option...
maybe some guys just r mean, i dono..but imho most ppl r sensible n reasonable...n will reciprocate sincere goodness...
imho the wives should also be smart enough not to bring things to that state where the guys haath uthanay pe majboor ho jatay hayn...? i mean its a fact that in a fight someone will use all the resources they have and mard aurat se zaada taqatwar hota hay so he's gona use force...jis aurat ko apni izzat pyari ho gi, she'll remain in her limits so the guy also remains within his...i am sure the guys r not so unreasonable to just beat their wives for no reason?

digitalsurgeon same here bro, dont get much time to watch tv either...but this program was on n just got me glued to the screen

Irem I disagree. If she were to go out and work I'm sure his inflated male ego would have problems with that too. The problem with these genre of desi men is that that are looking for a maid more than a wife who is there 24/7 at their beck and call to make them feel all superior. I agree she shouldn't be demanding very expensive clothes if they cannot afford them, but does the wife have absolutely nothing to do all day long? I'm sure there is a lot for her to do especially in a joint family system where the mothers-in-law retire from all house chores as soon as the bahoo walks in to the house(in 95% of desi middle/lower middle class families). The wife too is tired by the end of the day and if she wakes up in the middle of the night to serve the husband dinner or get him a glass of water he should take it as a favour. Instead he loses his temper because she doesn't wake up on his first call!!! How difficult is it to pour in a glass of water yourself? Or if the food is already cooked how much of an effort is it to just put it in a plate yourself. In most Pakistani families its considered disrespectful if a man has to do things for himself and is not served like a king! First the mothers pamper them and then the wives too in most cases and then the daughters learn the same. Men are much like demigods which screws their mind up. So when a woman comes there way who does not act like a servant before them they naturally take offense and may go as far as physically abusing them.

The second guest is equally ridiculous... "His expectation from her is 'acha kapra pehne achay zevar pehne aur mehmaanon kee khatirdari karay". Does he want a show piece or a wife? Where many women may be very happy with such a life many are not. If his wife happens to be one who doesn;t want to be a show-piece he should be a little accomodating too. She is wrong not to pay any attention to the household and kids but he should understand too that working is not always about earning money so it doesn't matter if they are already rich or not.
"For example, if he comes home tired, asks for water, she goes to kitchen and starts thinking something else and then he asks her again and she is still lost, such situations make him very angry." Now if she is a working woman doesn;t she also come home tired??? I'ld love to see his reaction if she asked him to bring her a glass of water. Again it's a cultural thing. Men doing stuff for themselves is considered disparaging.

Physical abuse is the last resort? It isn't in my opinion. Lots of men drive women to the brink of insanity too, but they don't beat them up do they? Ofcourse women are physcially weaker so they surely find other ways to vent. Why do men come down to this level then? Just because it is more conevnient for them? Can't they find other means to vent too?

FF, you deserve a hug for this post above. :hug:

I almost cried reading your post. You will make a great wife.

You forgot your annoying little j/k at the end of that.

If you really love eachother it's not such a big deal to be doing all this. If I do it out of my own will fine but why should anyone make it a compulsion for me?
Also the chances of a couple having opposing ideas of how to live their lives is more likely to occur in an arranged marraige. In the second case if the two had gotten to know eachother upfront they wouldn;t have had to go thru this. He would have married someone who enjoyed being a show-piece and she could have married someone who didnt disapprove of her career. It's our cultural practises that give birth to most of our domestic issues.