March 21, Group D Pakistan vs Zimbabwe (Pak team reluctant to play)

Re: March 21, Group D Pakistan vs Zimbabwe

aray TATTOO…

abey jaoo yaar ..... tum sai acha tu f&b hai, atleat its easy to pick fight with him over TEndulkar's matter :D

Pakistan can score over 500 runs and Afridi can hit 200, as they don't have any pressure of losing or winning. :)

I am definately gonna watch it and cheering them on. The depressing feeling of failure to go past this round will take a back stage and I will be rooting for Bob and Inzi. Someone said this is going to be one of the most emotional day in pakistan cricket history. Completely agreeing with him.

Go pak Go!!!!!

seriously... i am backing my team too... they need all the encouragement in the world right now !

Pakistan keen to leave on a high](http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/wc2007/content/current/story/286395.html)

Games of football were one of the ways Bob Woolmer liked to break down barriers based on age and experience. With the ball at their feet, there were no juniors and seniors, just team-mates having a good time and aware that the goal couldn’t be reached without everyone doing their bit. So it was poignant that Pakistan started their pre-match preparation for Wednesday’s game against Zimbabwe with a game of football.
Mushtaq Ahmed, Woolmer’s assistant, took charge of proceedings, and played himself, as did Inzamam-ul-Haq, who will captain Pakistan for the last time against Zimbabwe. Many in the team were absolutely devastated by Woolmer’s death, but back on the grass and with a ball to kick around, the smiles started to return to faces. There was even some of the banter that typifies these sessions, and it was only once the boys were sufficiently relaxed that Mushtaq took them across for nets.
Pakistan have never departed a World Cup without winning a game, a fate that befell neighbours India in 1979, but Zimbabwe - who could still qualify for the Super Eights with a win - will pose a stern test. Mushtaq acknowledged that rousing the team for one last push would take quite some effort.
“The worst news was Bob’s death,” he said. “For many of the boys, it was like a father passing away. And quite a few were also depressed about Inzamam deciding to retire [from one-day cricket]. I went to each and every room to comfort them. Some of them were in tears [after Woolmer’s death]. It’s the biggest blow in the history of Pakistan cricket.”
As a player, Mushtaq had a reputation of being a bit of a practical joker, but he admitted that coaxing a laugh or smile out of his wards was difficult. “Whenever we lost badly, I’d do my best to cheer the boys up. But this is not a game of cricket that we’ve lost. It’s a life. I can’t even begin to explain how much passion Bob had for our country’s cricket, and how much he’ll be missed.”
As for Inzamam, Mushtaq reckoned that history would view his time in charge with kind eyes. “He took charge at a time when many of the boys had no experience,” he said. "Some of them didn’t even think maturely. He helped to nurture them. At times, he would even forego his own practice to take care of them. He always thought first of the team.
“He was a very good captain and role model for the boys. After he announced his retirement, they all went to talk to him. Some of them even told me: ‘We need another man like that to captain us’.”
Mushtaq also said that nothing would change on the field against Zimbabwe. “The one thing Bob taught us was that you have to be professional,” he said. “My job is to organise things, Inzamam’s job is to captain them. Before and during the match, each person has a role to play, and we’ll all concentrate on that.”
**According to Pervez Mir, Pakistan’s media manager, the team would have a remembrance meeting for Woolmer after the Zimbabwe game. “Tomorrow evening after the game, the boys will come out and pay their respects. And some of them may speak about what he meant to them.” **
Those words may be of solace to the Woolmer family, but the best possible homage to the man who spent three years with them will be a victory, with some of the men whose careers he resurrected delivering keynote performances.

Go Pakistan, a win tomorrow will mean a lot. :jhanda:

Yes, it will mean a lot :jhanda:

I will look forward for it…

My full support to my team:jhanda:

inshallah for woolmer, they will.
I am rooting for afridi in, azhar out
sami out and kanairia in as we need a spinner

its gonna be tough game. Pak should bat second I think if they win the toss.

The way Sami bowled in the last match (which he should always do by the way, he is no line and length bowler), I doubt whether he will be dropped. Maybe they can let Arafat represent Pakistan in a World Cup for the first time?

I'm already having an anxiety attack.

Not really sure if I want to watch it.

Oh but I will. I hate myself.

Inshallah Pakistan will win :k:

I doubt they will win tomorrow, it will be a miracle if they did...

Goodluck to team Pakistan and I hope they win the game :jhanda:

The Pakistan team are reluctant to play their final match of the World Cup against Zimbabwe, scheduled for later today, according to Pervez Mir, the team's media manager. The match is inconsequential for Pakistan, who have been knocked out, but it is significant for Zimbabwe, who could qualify for the next round if they beat Pakistan and finish with a better net run-rate than Ireland.

Mir said the team was in no mental state to play following revelations that Bob Woolmer, the coach who died on Sunday, might have been murdered. He said he was going to discuss the matter with ICC officials and the local organisers.

Ireland tied their first match with Zimbabwe and are currently ahead on points and run-rate with one more game to go against West Indies on Friday. However, Zimbabwe are not out of contention after managing to keep West Indies in the field till the 48th over in their match on Monday.

The Pakistan players tried to put up a veneer of normalcy when it practised at Sabina Park on Tuesday, playing football and indulging in banter before heading for nets, but the latest development has shaken them.

© Cricinfo

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/286453.html

Go play yaar..We know it is difficult. Do it for the sake of Bob. He loved cricket and competition. He wouldnot have denied Zimbabwe a chance to superleague. It would be unfair to ZIMB.
I would say go and play and kick some ass. Bob would have wanted it this way.

Breaking New - Pakistan don’t want to play final game

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/286453.html

The Pakistan team are reluctant to play their final match of the World Cup against Zimbabwe, scheduled for later today, according to Pervez Mir, the team’s media manager. The match is inconsequential for Pakistan, who have been knocked out, but it is significant for Zimbabwe, who could qualify for the next round if they beat Pakistan and finish with a better net run-rate than Ireland.

Mir said the team was in no mental state to play following revelations that Bob Woolmer, the coach who died on Sunday, might have been murdered. He said he was going to discuss the matter with ICC officials and the local organisers.

Ireland tied their first match with Zimbabwe and are currently ahead on points and run-rate with one more game to go against West Indies on Friday. However, Zimbabwe are not out of contention after managing to keep West Indies in the field till the 48th over in their match on Monday.

The Pakistan players tried to put up a veneer of normalcy when it practised at Sabina Park on Tuesday, playing football and indulging in banter before heading for nets, but the latest development has shaken them.

Re: Breaking New - Pakistan don't want to play final game

It is already being discussed in Pak vs ZIM thread.