Manicure

Ladies,

How did you do your nails when you got married. Did you get the tips with acrylic, or did you just get a manicure on your real nails.

My nails are short and hard to grow. They arent like bitten down to the core, but even when they grow, one breaks, and i dnt want to risk that on my wedding day.

What is your opinion? What do most brides do these days?

If i got with tips, should i leave it french, or paint the whole nail to match my dress, or only paint the tip to match my dress?

:bummer:

Re: Manicure

If you get the tips or acrylics, you know your wudhu and ghusl wont be valid right? Why not just use the fake nails?

my mehendi, wedding and valeema days were back to back. I slept really late on the night of my mehendi and woke up late on my wedding day...had no time to go to the salon for a manicure so did my nails myself.

Anyways I like nude colored nailpolish so i'd suggest even if u do fake nails or tips, get them painted a nice nude shade.

Wudhu is not valid with fake nails or nail polish either.

On my engagement I got a manicure week before. But bought nail polish & got it applied by someone but that's because I don't have short nails & they are Alhumdulillah strong.

Desi if your nails are hard to grow rub them with garlic. I know someone who used to do that & it helped. Also instead of cutting them with a nail cutter, file them to make 'em short.

Most brides these days get a french manicure done. I think only painting the tip with matching color looks tacky. You can also do a french but ask the person to lighten up the white & instead of getting clear nail polish get a light pink shade. If done right it doesn't look fake, in fact looks really natural. Got that done on my Nikkah.

Ira is right but same is the case with fake nails or regular nail polish. I know this bride who MashaAllah tries to not miss any namaz. In fact prayed on the stage on her wedding day & MashaAllah others followed too (it was a separate gathering)
She did have nail polish on & this is what she did. She did Wudhu before applying the nail polish right before coming to the hall & took it off after the rukhsati to offer Isha. Actually carried a remover with her to the hotel. It was kinda cute in a way. There is always a way around as long as you have the will :)

What about her make up? Isnt Wudhu not valid if you have make up on?

Well you do your Wudhu before applying make up( not you but I mean anyone) The person I am talking about only took 1/2 an hour to get ready. Not like us who take 3-4 hours :)
As far as the whole Wudhu issue is concerned as long as water actually washes the skin its valid.

i was gonna do that too. Before getting my makeup done do wadhu pray, and then even while getting the makeup done. I wanna try to pray the yaseen cause i just pray that more than anything else. And then at the end just put nail polish on myself and carry the nail polish remover wipes. I would never miss praying those 2 rakats the day of ur wedding. My mom says all ur duas come true that day. i`A!!

You just inspired me Miami. Jazak Allah Khair :)

You can always take off the fake nails and nail polish. I have never had the tips or acrylics done but i assume they cannot be taken off as easily. Ofcourse if it doesnt matter to you, then dont worry about it.

Miami, your idea is the best ;)

Miami, ur idea is really good.but jus hope i'll do it INSHALLAH because in such hurry and khushi we normally forget Allah Tallah'....... but may Allah give us strenght.

so guys just painted ur own nails rather than getting them done, or getting tips with acrylic?

Lol i guess i never answered the real question. I painted my own nails at both nikah and rukshati/valima days. My sis had fake nails since hers are not a pretty sight. She had the french manicured ones on her nikah and then for the rukhsati she was in Pak so they used some brand over there. Her fake french manicure ones looked really nice, i think they were the Sally Hansen brand if i am not mistaken.

thanks.

If you dont want the acrylics just get press on nails, just gotta be REALLY careful and keep alot of xtras on handy... the only plus point is that htey come off easily. (which is also a bad point :p)

I got a french manicure on the mehndi and for the wedding i had a red-pinkish color painted on.

lol !!! im glad!!!

good luck! Ill pray for you tooo :hugz:

Thanks, but i think if we dont pray to Allah when he bestows us all this happiness then theres no point praying to him when u need the help. You should pray regardless. Or atleast just pray a tasbee of something all throughout the day. If you pray, im sure everything will turn out perfect, makeup hair nails Im sure Allah ta’la will just fix everythign on its own

lol thanks babe :hugz:

Sara, that reminds me on my sister’s nikah i put on her fake nails for her. The first one i did, wont stick on so i put some extra glue and pressed really hard. Well none of the nails came off during the event, and at nighta fter the event, the poor thing wanted to take off all the nails and the first one i put on wouldnt even budge. Lol i felt so bad for her, she was desperately doing everything she could think of and i remember it was really hard.

And then on her rukhsati day, one of the pinkie nails came off while going from the salon to the shadi hall :smiley: Yeah she just doesnt have good luck with the nails! :hehe: