Are they in NY yet?
if yes, where to find them?
If not, does anyone when the first shipment will arrive in NY?
Thanks ![]()
Are they in NY yet?
Thanks ![]()
Re: mangoes from Pakistan?
I was thinking the same thing the other day checks interwebs
check indo-paki stores :)
Next time I'm in curry hill or walk by a desi fruit stand person, I'mma ask em
we have been getting Indo Pakistani mangoes for decades but recently i've noticed that since they use chemicals to make it look homogeneously yellow [khush-rang], they tend to rot faster so my advice is to open the box and visually inspect them to make sure they are not rotting inside. :)
Umm i've been seeing boxes and boxes of em at the grocery stores on Coney Island.
Come to Brooklyn Gia. We'll go for mangos. Mangos maek everything better. :-)
really Sara??? I know where are we going this coming weekend ;)
and before I plan something with you, let me check stores in CT.. they may have something too which will save us a trip to NY!!!
Are they in NY yet?
you can get them DHLd from pakistan. might be expensive but u will get the real tasty ones.
How to import mangoes from Pakistan
you can get them DHLd from pakistan. might be expensive but u will get the real tasty ones.
NO u cant
NO u cant
u can...dhl wale badi khoobsoorat packaging main bhejtey hain. now if they dont do it anymore then thats a different thing.
I have seen mangoes everywhere from Jackson Hts to Coney Island. Are they from Pakistan?? NO.. They are from Mexico which are nothing like Pakistani aam. Definitely going to look for Pakistani aam this summer since they are saying this year would be the first when Pakistan is allowed to export mangoes to the U.S.
See spiral knows I am talking about the mangoes that are being exported forth first time ever. Keep me posted please.
Blessed... As far as I know Pakistan wasn't allowed to send mangoes to the us..even now it's just a few varieties coming from specific farms who were approved by USDA.
^ oh acha i thought dhl will be able to do it in usa. Well maybe u can ask someone in pak to ring dhl office and ask them about the service just to make sure.
waise suitcase main bhi ba-asaani asaktey hain...this is how i brought pure pakistani anaar and mangoes in my suitcase hidden under layers of other things. :D
mangoes from India were also NOT allowed in the US until George Bush, during his visit to India, tried mango and loved it and as a result he allowed mangoes to be imported from India...:) **Obama ko amrood khilaao vo bhii world famous Allahabadii amrood**** :) :D**
See spiral knows I am talking about the mangoes that are being exported forth first time ever. Keep me posted please.
Blessed... As far as I know Pakistan wasn't allowed to send mangoes to the us..even now it's just a few varieties coming from specific farms who were approved by USDA.
I'll ask Jackson Hts people next time I go there. You must know different kind of mangoes very well since you grew up in Sindh. Mexican mangoes are just not the same... not even close.
I heard many Americans travel to Toronto just to eat Pakistani mangoes.
I am at the last stage of a long and hectic project of "Importing pakistani Mangoes" in USA for the very first time. If everything on both ends of the world goes accordingly than I should get my first shipment within next two to three weeks or earlier.
What I am trying from this forum is to get "Firm Commitment" from USA Mango Lovers who are willing to buy Pakistani Mangoes...I dont want your "Credit Card numbers or payments" yet but I do need honest firm commitments for quantity of boxes you will be buying as these mangoes will be "High in Price"...
Why high price??? because Pakistani mangoes are allowed in USA for the very first time under strict conditions and meeting all those conditions is increasing importers cost...What kind of cost???...Well there are quite a few including mangoes cost, treatment cost (required in Pakistan and again in USA), Air cargo cost, refregirated trucking cost (required in Pakistan and again in USA), Special materail boxes cost, perishable item's insurance premium cost, custom duties plus licensing, permits and certifications cost etc. All these costs adds up and that is why before I take this "High Risk Investment" I am trying to see the "Market" for these mangoes so please send me your firm commitments and feedbacks here or through private messages...Here what you will be commiting ...
You should expect to pay atleast $30 for 10*12 inch box containing atleast 6 (or more depeding on size, weight and variety) of Pakistani Mangoes weighing around 2-3kg.
Lets get going ...I am ready to take your orderssssssss NOW...Thanks
PAKMANGOIMPORTER
pakistani mangos are going through the same requirements that all other imported mangos go thru dont they? and same conditions for certifications and transportation applies to other overseas mangos. defintely willing to pay a fair price and even a sensible premium but $30 for 6 seems high. I may be wrong on that but $2-4 per mango may be a more reasonable range.
btw, what are the satisfaction guarantees, if i pay $30 for 6 and get a bunch of rotten ones, how would you deal with that?
$30 for six mangoes?? LMAO! I'm sorry but at that rate you're barely gonna sell any, unless your target area is high end gourmet stores.
In the meantime I asked some desi fruit walas on the street and so far they said the only mangoes they are getting are from Mexico and Brazil. But I have yet to ask at any of the Curry Hill stores.