“Bhai Sahab…”
who r u refering to MUNNI…??
and I didnt say Ramjaan is right…someone else said that.I was corecting him.
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited March 01, 2002).]
“Bhai Sahab…”
who r u refering to MUNNI…??
and I didnt say Ramjaan is right…someone else said that.I was corecting him.
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited March 01, 2002).]
MUNI
Are u Konkini or Hyderabadi or what ???
[This message has been edited by Azad Munna (edited March 01, 2002).]
AM-
I'm Hyderabadi. What's Konkini and why did u think that ?
Originally posted by Muni:
**AM-
I'm Hyderabadi. What's Konkini and why did u think that ?**
Konkan is a place on western Ghat of India ( Some part of Maharasthra and Karnataka) and people from there are called konkani.
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited March 04, 2002).]
Thanks AQ!
I actually looked it up and read up on all that I could get my hands on. Im becomming an expert on Indian geography and its history now!
**Thanks AQ!
I actually looked it up and read up on all that I could get my hands on. Im becomming an expert on Indian geography and its history now! **
W R WELCOME JEE!!!!
Yaar I dont think mangALSurta has anything to do with Arabic etc...
Its a sanskrit word like kamasutra and other sutras and was probably originate in the gangetic plain of india.
Mangaly sutra is aknown as `THALIMALA’in my state ..
it is a symbolic ornament for life long companionship.it also implies that the woman will be trustworthy to her husband through out her life .usually women do not untie `MANGALYASUTHRA'from her neck and they do it only when their husbands die.after that she will never wear that.in some castes in india,(or in my state only?),when the husbands die,women place their `MANGALYASUTHRA'along with their husbands dead bodies and it is also being charred to ashes during the cremation.
Muni
Muslims in India from different region practice differently .
Why did your parents go to Pakistan unlike Andha Kanoon ,whose parents did not .
There is relation with this thread & the fact you consider your self from Pakistan …
You cant be everythuing to evry one …Either you atre Indian or Pakistani .Not both !!!Culturally as well religously .
Muslimfrom Pakistan is ethnically different.No atter how much you wish ,reality of TNT is not some fad .
Mangalsutra in Maharashtra
Maharashtrians women wear Mangalsutra with Black Beads. Black Beads are a must, added to a gold chain or a pendant (called as Malsutra).
When a women's husband dies women remove the Mangalsutra and put in the pyre of husband's cremation. (Traditionally)
Nowadays women wear Mangalsutra even as a widow.
AM-
I don’t get u. Are you saying that Indian muslims (those who live in India now) are differnt than those Muslims who migrated to Pakistan from India?
And u think that Indian Muslims who migrate to US are different than those who migrated to US after migrating to Pakistan?
I’m an American Muslim, I truly dislike ethnocentrism, but if u must know I’m an Indian from India. My parents migrated to the United States not Pakistan.
Originally posted by Azad Munna:
**AM-
Muni
Muslims in India from different region practice differently .
Why did your parents go to Pakistan unlike Andha Kanoon ,whose parents did not .
There is relation with this thread & the fact you consider your self from Pakistan ...
You cant be everythuing to evry one .....Either you atre Indian or Pakistani .Not both !!!Culturally as well religously .
Muslimfrom Pakistan is ethnically different.No atter how much you wish ,reality of TNT is not some fad
Dear Munne,
First of all you are really Munna.
Yes I agree muslim in india in diff places practice Islam diffrently but
same is true for muslims all over the world.
Do u think mUslim in Mlaysia,pakistan and Arab practice islam same .No..They dont...
Infect Muslims in baluchistan will have slightly diff style than from Punab.
Same is true for India and since India is bigger country so you will more differences.
Like Muslim in Bihar and UP have pretty much same way.
Where as mulsim from UP and tamil nadu will have some difference.
Not only that they have diff food habit,way of living and speaking.
you said " Either you atre Indian or Pakistani " ...what about everyone being a nice human first.
you said " Muslimfrom Pakistan is ethnically different"..I tend to totally disagree..
Becouse I think Punjabi muslim of Punjab are ethnically same as muslims from Punjab and Delhi in India.
Similiary I think muslim of Sindh would be ethnically same as muslims from gujrat in India.
and Muhajirs will be ethnically same as Indian muslim from Bihar,UP or Hyderabad..
i dont think 50 yrs have changed there ethnicity.. Either u r too naive or u dont know ur own country...
there is not much change in ethinic make up of india or pakistan basically stable.
only thing in pakistan dalits are not
separate community. are they absorbed
and suceesfully integrated in to islam?
who are the poorest or permanantly poor
in pakistan do they belong to any specific
group?
[This message has been edited by rvikz (edited March 09, 2002).]
I think what azad munna primarly meant was on the basis of ethnicity. Now ethnicity and culture can also overlap many times. Lie in Punjab of Pakistan there are several distint ethnicity living like rajput, gurjars and gukkars (the later two said of earlier migration from afghanistan) etc.. but many of these now share common culture. Similarly there are manby pashtuns who live punjab in big cities as lahore etc who settled during the rule and other areas where they settled as tribal migration like minawali, attock. Many of these pashtuns loose their language and speak either urdu or learn to speak punjabi. Just like arabs settled in Pakistan have nothing to do with the arab "proper" of today. So, Punjbi is an ethicity based on shared language dialects and culture but is not a race like pashtun race, gukkar race, rajput race. Most imporatnt ethnicity of Punjab is the Rajput according to punjab gazeteer.
SO, ethnically speaking, indian muslims can be diverse and different from each other like kashmiri muslim in occupied kashmir and indian muslim in Bihar and then in gujrat. Iam sure a muslim from madras would be more at home with another madrassi muslim than say punjbai muslim unless ofourse both speak urdu LOL and similarly they are different ethnically from muslim of Pakistan.