Manager vs. Housewife

In the ever so shrinking middle class of Pakistan the job description of the house wife has a lot more to do with managing house work than actually doing it. On the contrary the housewives of the west actually have a lot of manual work on their hands.

For example, in Pakistan the house wife in the kitchen is like the Top chef. She only gets involved in cooking, while the helpers (usually known as nokar chakar) do the manual work, doing the dishes, cutting the veggies, she just has to keep an eye on the stove while the other on the TV. Guests come around, her duty is to make sure the servant get the chai up and they have enough finger foods to get it going, she doesn’t actually have to make the finger food. For laundry, she doesn’t actually do the laundry, she makes sure the person in charge isn’t slacking. If the clothes are to go to the dhobi, she makes sure which need to be pressed and which can wait. Gardening isn’t as much about getting down in the dirt with the knee pads on, its more like having an eye for a* mali* who knows his work. Here she is more like an HR person than a house wife. Cleaning means inspection, rather than grabbing the light feather duster.

So, in an effort to not sound bias, maybe one of the ladies can differentiate on what being the head of the household means for a man in Pakistan verses the west. Oh and please correct me if the above isn’t a correct observation.

Re: Manager vs. Housewife

Your observation is somewhat correct, but you cant apply this scenario at every household in Pakistan. This happens in upper-middle class, aur elite class ke to kia hi kehnay, they dont even know where is the kitchen in their house (okay I am exaggerating)

Ahmedjee....your observation is somewhat right but not totally, like sadaf said.

We, the middle class people don't have cooks shooks at home.....infact getting someone to help for kitchen work is really frowned upon in our families.They do get help for cleaning though....and for laundry too.

Here.....we don't get any outside help....we do have dishwashers but i think you are aware that not everything is dishwasher-safe.....infact i wash all the cooking pans n other things myself as the colour n shine just doesn't stay same in washer.
For laundry, I think its easier here.....when compared with those washing machines in pak where you use machine for 'scrubbing' only n rinse wash etc. yourself.

Yes, it does involve a lot of management skills n not only in pak, in west too.

Basically I think everyday life is somewhat more demanding for men over there.....not because of job/work....but because of cultural expectations n somewhat lazier lifestyle overall. Whenever i go back ...i seriously feel like having a danda in my hand and get everyone to WORK n not chatting/gossiping....
n No i'm not bashing desis....I myself am a genuinely desi soul.....just a bit fast paced!!

I like a bit of mix of both sides personally......independent and active like here....n having a chance to socialise n take part in family/cultural activities like there.....

well, i just babbled whatever came to my mind.....don't know if i made any sense

You guys are right.

Most of my friends in Pakistan are in the army and the day they get a commission there is a personal servant assigned to do their minimal chores. When they get to be Captaan and get married, their wives also come home to a personal butler.

Yes, I was raised in an Army atmosphere. But after getting married, my inlaws had a maid for the cleaning and washing clothes. But I really missed my "batman" over there, almost everyday while doing lots of things like washing dishes, cutting vegetables, and a lot other things.

Here in UAE as well, I have a maid, but on hourly basis. Batman is a blessing :(

Batman?

:cb: yeah that’s what they call a butler in Army. :smiley:

ohhh Sadaf what u remind me , my father too in army ,and really jo mazai batman kai hotai thai woh kahi or nhi,whatever u said to that batman he has to do,and the maids if u will talk with them with little high voice or ask them to do extra work they will leave, in army the house wives u can say only a manager of home but the civil life is totaly differant,i not only miss the batman but also other facilities of army life.

hain...???
n here I thought k batmans are supposed to be at service of only the person serving in army ....n that too means getting 'sahab's uniform etc. ready waghaira....

khair...ladies in my family who happen to be army officer's mrs. usually observe pardah....so batman usually does only whats his officer related or sometimes groceries...

Half of the army is being paid to serve the officers. Even then these crooks are not satisfied and they want to grab all jobs the civilians are having.

unfortunately i am a manual labourer her in england
and my saaas sahiba is living the ayaash life of house mnager and i can't tolerate it...........
it is so true about paksitani women well most of tehm...........
n i love that life.........
n batmens ki to yaashi hi ayaashi hai...... my hsubands ex batmen happens to be here in engalnd living the high life prob better tahn ours........but he still when he visits calls my hubby SIR!!

but app the batmans have finished n its mor/less civilian butlers now in PAK!!!

LOL, thats right :hehe: