Malik's response to Yousuf's allegations

Re: Malik's response to Yousuf's allegations

Captain1 - Dude where did I say Malik is better than Yousuf/Younus or anyone? Im not even talking about who's better and who's not. You're simply argueing for the sake of argueing with me. Im talking about the war of words and allegations Yousuf and Malik are making against each other.

I think there really isnt any point argueing with as you will continue to come up with useless posts like Inzi was a lazy fielder too. Did I say anywhere where Malik will be the next Imran Khan? All im saying is that between all these allegations and accusations, Malik is definetly making far better sense than Yousuf...and between Malik and Yousuf, I'd rather have Malik as captain anyday over Yousuf...because its simply JUST not about losing, its about HOW you lose and how much fight you put up because winning and losing is a part of the game.

Inzi, Malik and Yousuf; all cut from the same mold, all very negative, boring and defensive when it comes to captaincy. During his brief stint as captain, Malik was very Inzi-esque, very predictable, laid-back and dull. His captaincy lacked imagination or innovation and he failed to lead by example mainly because he is not a quality test batsman (which Inzi atleast was)

The only person who is slightly better than all of them because he is fearless and aggressive is Younus but unfortunately he lacked the emotional maturity and mental toughness needed to deal with the circus that is Pakistan cricket. Moreover the meesna and impotent board did not give him their full backing and support just when he needed it most and easily gave into player power. And that despite PCB naming Younus Khan as skipper of the team until the 2011 World Cup. Just shows how pathetic and spineless our board is. Players revolt so easily in Pakistan because they know the PCB management lacks balls to take strong action against them.

And Shoaib Malik is not so bhola bhala or doodh ka dhulla hua as some of you are making him out to be. He has been known to indulge in groupism and create rifts within the team in the past. These* khaamosh *silent types are usu. the most dangerous individuals. Umer and Kamran Akmal being other examples of that. And this is not the first time that someone has accused Malik of being a trouble-maker. He was also allegedly busy playing dirty games (as per Qadir bhai!) behind Younus's back not so long ago so it does not surprise me that many now think that he was upto something similar with Yousuf. Malik must first justify his place in the test and ODI (on current form) teams as a batsman. That being said Yousuf should be immediately sacked as test captain not just for his lack-lustre and negative captaincy but also for blasting his own players in public

So in the present desperate situation Younus w'd be my first choice as test skipper. Afridi (not a big fan of him as leader but desperate times call for desperate choices) should probably lead in ODI inaddition to T20

GoldenAsif bhai....Agreed....and very well said...but I still disagree with Malik creating so many problems. Younus had the perfect opportunity to kick out Malik for good when he was made captain but he publicly backed Malik and called him his younger brother. Even after Younus resigned, he never mentioned Malik's name or blamed one person for all the problems within the team.

The only person blaming Malik is Abdul Qadir...and he is no saint either. Go back and check when he was the cheif selector...his son somehow ended up playing as an opener for Pakistan Customs and scored 3 ducks in 5 innings...and when Qadir quit he was no where to be seen. Plus everyone keeps saying they saw 'something' but never explain exactly what?

GoldenAsif bhai...you yourself posted the Hasbe-Hal episode where Aftab Iqbal and Sohail Ahmed are making fun of the team but in the first few minutes of that episode did you hear what the host, Aftab Iqbal said? He said he has a friend in Australia covering the series with the team but he cannot name him, and he told him that Akmal went to some dinner and he was talking a lot of sh*t about Yousuf to Afridi during the whole time. And now we see Akmal axed from the UAE T20 matches even though as batsmen, Akmal is an asset for T20's. So there`s definetly more than what meets the eye.

You are free to think whether I am arguing just for the sake of it, I should've spent more time/energy when I posted about Inzi's field/captaincy, anyway the point I am trying to make is that whatever Malik is saying about how Yousuf was defensive and what he (Malik) would've done differently is just $hit as we have seen during his own captaincy days how 'out of the box' thinker/offensive-captain he was.

As for your own words... read your first bolded part and second in the quoted text.

Qadir selecting his son, how is it correlated with him blaming Malik? I know selecting your own son is nepotism, but he wasn’t trying to replace Malik with his own son, was he? :konfused:

Qadir is a bonafide idiot...

I loved his statement about wanting to keep his son away from "tuttay pajhay" coaches in his words... yeah, Qadir sahib God forbid your son should learn some fielding... idiot...

and his bowling is highly overrated. didn't look he had much control. Babar Azam and Raza Hasan are far better spinners. but the way Qadir rants on about his progeny one would think that he is already better than Shane Warne.

the point of that example is to show that Qadir is no saint either neither his assumptions should not be treated like its the absoulte truth.

Secondly, Malik didnt come out and say start critisizing Yousuf on his own about the Sydney test match. He was asked a question from the reporter and Malik simply replied well if I was captain I obviously would have done things differently…simple. Yousuf could have said the same couldnt he? He could have admitted that I made a mistake and I was too defensive? But no, when Yousuf was asked about the Sydney test match he took zero blame and defended his pathetic and extremely defensive field setting blamed Waqar Younus by saying he consulted him too about his so called ‘plan’

As you must have read many more articles now (hopefully), Qadir isn't alone pointing at Malik for being trouble creater... besides, did Qadir deny that his son was included in team not because of him? :D

I am not saying Malik held the press conference just to say he would've done differently :)

Who else besides qadir and yousuf is pointing fingers at Malik? Inti? Look at the coach and managers report after the Australia debacle and no where in that report is it menioned that Malik is creating groups within the team. Infact the report has blamed Yousuf for being far too laid back and defensive.

According to Yousuf, Others like inti, afridi, manager know about that 'one' person creating problems...then why isn't ANY of them saying anything? Publicly the coach manager and afridi have said nothing about Malik and neither the report state anything. Why is it ONLY yousuf from the current team blaming Malik? The only person backing his claim is Qadir, who as I stated before, is no saint either.

And i remember a while back when he was chief selector he was asked about his sons selection on a tv show and he outright denied he had anything to do with it. He justified it by saying his son has been with Pakistan customs for a couple years now so the team is just giving him a proper run. A proper run as soon as he becomes chief selector? Common sense would give you a good answer as to why he is getting such a proper chance all of a sudden.

Mudassar’s last comment just sums up the great despair and frustration we all feel at the state of Pakistan cricket in general and PCB set-up in particular and I do not blame him for saying that

Malik and Yousuf should be ‘kicked out’ - Mudassar Nazar

Mudassar Nazar, the former Pakistan batsman, has said Mohammad Yousuf and Shoaib Malik deserved to be “kicked out of the team” in the wake of their comments to the media following their forgettable tour of Australia. Nazar said the two senior players - who already have a fractious history - should never have gone public about the turbulent dressing-room atmosphere and suggest that that their own relationship had turned sour again.
Yousuf, who took over as captain for the tours of New Zealand and Australia, told a television channel that one player was responsible for disruptingthe team unity on tour but stopped short of naming the player, preferring to reveal it to the PCB chairman Ijaz Butt. Malik, the former captain, widely regarded as the target of Yousuf’s remarks, hit back by questioning Yousuf’s leadership abilities. This occurred after the team was whitewashed in all matches against Australia.
“The Yousuf and Malik feud has been simmering for a while” Nazar told Pakpassion.net in Dubai. "Yousuf was very active in the press and he has had a go at Malik and other players too quite a few times in the past. The slanging match that has now taken place before us all has, in my opinion, been started by Yousuf and now Malik has responded too.
“Both of the players are under central contracts and should not have been allowed to behave in such a way in front of the whole world. Yousuf should not have been allowed to go on television and give such an interview and Malik should not have gone to the press like this in response to Yousuf’s comments”.
Nazar said their behaviour will be a bad influence on the younger players and wanted them to be punished. "What sort of an example are Yousuf and Malik giving to the younger players with this sort of behaviour? We have already seen the likes of Umar Akmal misbehaving and if others see Malik and Yousuf carrying on like this, then they themselves will think it is fine to behave like this. Both Malik and Yousuf should be taken to task by the board, they should be made an example of and kicked out of the team".
The PCB, which has set up a six-member committee to look into the reasons behind the team’s failure in the two tours, had questioned both Yousuf and Malik on Saturday, besides coach Intikhab Alam, assistant coach Aaqib Javed and opener Salman Butt. It had began work on Friday by interviewing Shahid Afridi and the team manager Abdur Raqueeb.
However, Nazar disapproved of the idea of setting up such committees. “The committee will achieve absolutely nothing. We have seen these committees set up before and there is a lot of talk, but nothing materialises from these”.
Nazar also took a shot at Ijaz Butt, saying the PCB also didn’t handle the situation well. **“What is really mystifying is that Ijaz Butt has given Shoaib Malik the nod of approval to respond in the press to Yousuf’s comments. Butt should not have done this and this has made the situation even worse”. **
Nazar, who played 76 Tests and 122 ODIs, has coached in Pakistan’s National Cricket Academy and is now with the ICC’s Global Cricket Academy in Dubai. He said he wasn’t interested in coaching Pakistan, if offered the chance.
“The job is not for me, thank you very much. I would never do the job in future. I believe they are looking for a foreign coach and good luck to the person who takes on the role. In my opinion only a desperate man would take on the role”.

Malik and Yousuf should be ‘kicked out’ - Nazar | Pakistan Cricket News | Cricinfo.com

Finally someone making sense. Kick Malik, Yousuf, Butt and Akmal out. Let Younis lead the team for now with full command and young guns. Groom somebody under Younis. There must be zero tolerance policy from Chairman to Chaprasi.

aur kabhi ghalti se kisi junior (read Umar Akmal) ki “kamar mai dard” ho gaya to Younis phir resign kar de gaa :hehe:

^ Not saying quitting or running away from a challenge is a good thing but it is still a million times better than washing your dirty laundry in public and blasting your own teammates in front of media - which is precisely what Yousuf and Malik have been doing - or private (meesna Kamran Akmal). I respect Younus Khan more for that. That shows that Younus has some class unlike the aforementioned chichoras.

^ I've no respect for Yousuf or Malik in this regard :), I think its time we give any of bowler a chance for captaincy as none of our batsmen have any guts, respect for each other, respect for country, anything to show for their achievements... it has been our bowlers who have brought any chances of victory in Australia/NZ tours but our batsmen kept ruining'em, why not make one of'em the captain?

I am fine either with a bowler or batsman being made captain provided they have leadership skills but who's that gonna be, that druggie Asif or out of form Gul!

Australia was also in a 'rebuilding' phase in the last series. They handled it professionally and kept their dirty laundry to the dressing room.
The charisma and charm of Pakistani cricketers has gone down the drain.

Unparh/jahil cricket board..can't even put a system in place.

that would be the best solution if Younis wasn't so unstable.

True. But what can one expect from the players when Ijaz Butt himself does not know jack about team ethics. Announcing captaincy change right when the series was going on was not only unprofessional but fundamentally wrong. It must have been very distracting for everyone esp. Yousuf. The whole system is a shambles in my view.

If we have had all other langra loola batsmen as captain then why not a ex-charsi as captain? or Gul (may be he gain form with responsibility)? None of our current batsmen really deserve captaincy anyway.

the system has always been in shambles. what we need is a real system that is not so dependent on individuals.

ppl always talk about the golden days of Air Marshal Nur Khan, etc. I'm personally a big fan of Shehryar Khan. but the eras of these two epitomize the problem more than anything else. these board chairmen are way too hands on. they should manage the board - not micromanage the team - doesn't matter how good they are. if they're good, we see a couple of good years like we did under Shehryar Khan. but what happened after he left? when good chairmen leave and the likes of Tauqeer Zia, etc come in, then things go to hell. you need systems - not good individuals.

I don't know who the head of the ACB, ECB, NZC, etc, is. and that's way it should be. our board is too dependent on individuals and their likes and dislikes. there're no magic bullets and there are no saviors - and we need to stop waiting for one. Imran isn't going to come in (as is the popular demand), wave a magic wand and make all the bad stuff go away.

instead what you need is someone who has experience in managing large organizations with discipline - doesn't even matter if he has cricket experience or not. the cricket experience and knowledge can come from ex-cricketers that fill the ranks of coaches, selectors, etc. the organization and management aspect of the board should be staffed by educated people with management experience - not the likes of Miandad, Qadir, etc, who can't even manage their own mouths.