Male Goldiggers

Re: Male Goldiggers

^ You are right, many families do 'encash' their good looking and educated sons - but predominantly it is over the dowry issues. This is very unfortunate and is creating a lot of difficulties for girls' parents. But then again, it is more of a 'munday di maa' (mother of the guy) issue than the guy's own preference. I have seen that mothers are more interested in cashing their sons than their sons wanting to cash themselves. But yes, the problem is there.

As for the guys you talked to, this could be an issue of a bad sample. lol. I am not disagreeing with you just for the sake of it, I have spoken to quite many men on this matter and the majority's preference is 'equal status', a very few aim for the top.

Sheyn, the discussion between Jaanwar and initiator should really answer your question - it's the exact same thing I said in my earlier post about principled men and money matters.

Let the act and not words alone deliver the meaning as to what (and who is principled). Unfortunately and unwittingly I violated that, and am feeling the brunt of it. However, in the online existence, as superficial as it is, words alone constitute thought and perhaps the 'act' as well. Let's keep it to that.

initiator, it was good of you to elaborate, nothing wrong with that. :)

Why are we just blaming the male population? What about female goldiggers? I’m sorry but there are plenty out there. Some women end up marrying 50 year olds just for their money. I personally couldn’t buy into their excuses of “ham aise nahin” :cb: Samajh nahin ati keh behna uncle ji ki surat pe fida hogein thein kia? :hmmm:However, the point about male goldiggers is valid too. Unfortunately it seems to be increasing now. It is quite easy to figure them out, if you are vigilant enough and pick up on minor things. People tend to ignore certain things by not giving them enough importance. If you are talking to a goldigger. They subtly and constantly question you on things like “oh acha to jab bla bla jagah pe gayi thein to kaunse outlet gayein thein”. Another thing that i’ve noticed is that they enquire about cars, where you live and numerous other things but in a very sly manner ( poray khandan ki info. lete hain aur aap ko pata bhi nahin chal raha hota keh kiu poch rahe hain).

Goldiggers tend to use reverse psychology on girls. They constantly say “haan tum baray log ho na tab hi aise hotay ho”, 2sab baray log aise hain". Geez gimme a break, achay dialogues hain sympathy gain kerne kailyae :rolleyes:

I’ve expressed my opinion and references from some anecdotes. Therefore, kindly refrain from bashing moi.
Thanks in advance :stuck_out_tongue:

totally disagree.....

there are more than a few who would grab such an opportunity with both hands.....

Exactly its more common than we think and just because some ppl don't acknowledge it doesn't make the matter disappear.....

Male Goldiggers DO exist and prey on families and their prime motive is bagging a rich wife !

lol Jaanwar is loyal to his fellow masculine part of the population.

A very wealthy friend of mine from college got married right after graduation to the son of a friend of her dad's who was a small business owner, but because the guy seemed educated and they were financially stable, and the girl and guy liked each other, they went ahead with the marriage. Soon after, the guy started requesting his wife for money from her dad as his dad's business wasn't doing too well...anyhow with time, it was clear that money was the motive behind the marriage. Eventually, the guy admitted that the marriage had taken place for the money and it all fell apart.

So yeah, these things do happen. Sometimes you never get to hear about them. And see, there's nothing wrong if a wealthy family helps a related family to set up shop and all, but to take advantage of someone is just not nice.

MKD we are not denying that there are women and in fact the term was coined to refer to women …

This thread is about the Male Counterparts !

But ur right ,one needs to be vigilant to detect those subtle hints about materialism …

May I know the basis of your conclusion? As I said earlier, an overwhelming majority of people who can actually be considered rich are men. Plus, no matter how much hardcore feministas (not referring to you) spat and argue about the freedom of women, it is and will stay a fact that only a small percentage of women is not dependent on men - and if you exlude lesbians - which do not qualify for potential male gold diggers' targets - that percentage will shrink further significantly.

Having said that, I still agree on the point that male gold diggers do exist, the same way as the independent rich women exist. Their quantity, however, is fairly limited. It could very well be safe to state that the common well-off (not rich) independent woman does not have enough reason to lose sleep over it.

It might not be the best example to quote here, but this is like arguing over male and female rapists. I could argue for days that women rapists exist, and you can not and will not deny that they do. But it is an accepted fact that a huge majority of rapists comprises of men. I could argue that there are more than a few female rapists, knowing that I am just going round and round in circles, but I will not run out of arguments.

You know for a fact, and you yourself have stated that gold diggers is a term coined to refer to women, yet you are arguing that there are more than a few of the male counterparts. These social imperfections can be argued in relative terms - ie whether or not it is true that a majority of gold diggers is women? Yes it is true.
Whether or not it is true that a majority of rapists is men? Yes it is true. Two examples of arguments that can be concluded with reasoning.

The way a common decent looking man does not have to worry about being abducted at the corner of the street by a woman and getting raped, a common well-off woman does not have to worry about being a male gold digger's target. Not unless either she is utterly unwise, or completely unable to resist good looks.

Freedom of women isn't the issue , personally i'm not a fan of those feminazis out there who think a woman is equal on every level to a man because sista u ain't and u never will be . A woman's place is primarily in the home , she was meant to be a wife and a mother , she needs a man's protection regardless of how self sufficient she thinks she is ! She was meant to be a nurturer !

**Having said that i believe it is the man who should then be the provider and bread-winner as well as "protect" his woman ! **

**That is not to say a woman is not capable of excelling and she often does in academics and career but balancing both a home n a career are not easy and though i find it admirable that most women do i believe it should be HER choice rather than an IMPOSITION because a man does not or will not accept HIS responsibilty , that he alone should shoulder. **

**Jaanwar , i'm not saying 100% of men are goldiggers and angling for a rich wife , heiress or someone who is a "money-making " machine. **

My point is that these men do exist and we as women should learn to detect these specimens who call themselves "men "......and thusthe purpose of my thread ..........HOW TO AVOID THEM ?

May be little relevant here or may be not.
Recent survey shows men who think women's place is home, on avg. make 13% more money THEN then men who think women should be working.

SO I guess lazy-bums use "women equality" to put wonen to work.

An Interesting article on just that...

**For the sake of marriage

By Lubna Khanlid **

We are in the 21st Century, but apart from the passage of time nothing seems to have changed. Parents of girls still face two mammoth problem that are responsible for causing heartburns and hyper tension - lack of suitable proposals and nasty in-laws.

We find a number of female doctors, teachers, engineers and bankers. In addition, our girls are now making their mark as pilots, paratroopers and rangers. Of course women nowadays are independent, thanks to the changing economic scenario, but the 'traditional' mindset that we have been inheriting from our moms when they go 'bahu' hunting remains unchanged.

Most of them want a young tall, fair, and educated girl, preferably an engineer, MBA or a doctor. The girl should be religious and conversant with household chores, especially cooking. She should be meek and submissive, too. All in one complete package! Not much, is it? Notwithstanding the fact that the 'Laad Sahibs' of these females are not, in most instances, on good positions and are not tall, fair or good looking either.

Let's take the case of Sonia. She is highly placed in her organization. Her income is in six digits. Yet she is single. Please don't make the mistake of thinking that she is on the shelf! She is only 29, comfortably 'cuddly' in her words, but otherwise quite attractive. "Most of the moms and sisters of eligible guys who come to look me refused to give me passing marks. I am not fat, just on the healthy side. The only proposals that came my way were of unemployed good-for-nothing guys who wanted my family to set them up. So here I am, still waiting for someone who can think beyond physical attributes and money," she says with a smile.

Farah is a 27-year-old. She is fair, attractive and free from any physical flaw that might disqualify her. She belongs to a respectable family, and is a working girl. Yet her mother is worried as there hasn't been a suitable proposal for her so far.

"Most people who come to see her object to her working. A gentleman related to us has been looking for a suitable girl for his son. When someone asked him to consider Farah, he refused saying that working women do not look after their homes and families."

Ironically, there is another side of the coin, too. Saniya hails from the lower middle class. She is a 25-year-old girl who has done simple graduation, and has a pleasant personality. She has been rejected many times by women who scoff at her 'BA' degree and lack of substantial dowry.

"One of the females had come with her son who was a simple matriculate. This guy works as in a factory as an unskilled labour. His mother first asked my mother if there was a plot of land or apartment in my name. The answer was in the negative. Then she asked if my parents would start her son a 'business'. There also my mother said 'no'. Then that lady cleaned the refreshments in front of her and left."

Boys, too, have now become very demanding. Anis is an engineer. His income is about Rs24, 000. His sister is looking for a suitable girl for him. Anis wants a wife who is either working or about to complete her professional degree. "With my income, I cannot support a wife. I cannot marry a girl unles she is working," he says matter-of-factly.

"Unlike my mother, I don't want a very beautiful wife. I want a partner who can share my problems instead of adding to them," he explains.

Along with time, priorities have now started changing. It just so happens that girls are doing well in their studies and getting good jobs. In this era of recession, when moms and their brats swallow the bitter pill of choosing a not so beautiful, but working girl, they make life hell for her. Working wives are almost always accused of neglecting their homes, their children and their husbands. Safia Fatima is relentless in her criticism of her daughter-in-law. "She just dresses up every morning and goes out to have fun. How can she complain about being tired? She sits in an air conditioned office in front of her computer while I sit at home and cook and look after her children."

Safia's daughter-in-law works at a bank. She returns home at 7 pm, and claims she is tired. The moment she enters the home, her mother-in-law hands her, her infant son and vanishes into her room.

"Before I can freshen up, I have to feed my baby and often changed his soiled diaper. Then I have to prepare the dinner as well. I don't even get a cup of tea before I start my dinner. I cannot complain because at least she takes care of him in my absence. My husband is out of work nowadays and the house is running on my income."

Marriage, if it is to be really successful - and not just a successful compromise - should not be conducted as a business enterprise. Those who only want working women and those who want only housewives should realise that the important thing is that if you like the girl it doesn't matter whether she works or not. Many working girls leave their jobs when they get married, and many non-working girls take up jobs to support their families.

All that You! can say is this: Ladies, get a reality check. We must put behind these traditional stupidities of selecting a chand see dulhan for our brothers and sons. Girls should not be judged merely on their looks, money and degrees. It's their nature, values and upbringing that should be taken into account.

---------------------- * You Magazine, The News, March 3rd, 2009 *

With this post, woman, you have won my respect.

One of the most realistic and sensible posts I have so far read in Life1 :)

^agree 100%.

initiator - my brother, I must clarify here that nothing was aimed at you. We were just bouncing ideas and perceptions. You without doubt are a man of character, keep it real. :k:

/\ I truly appreciate that brother. But don't worry, I am open to opposing ideas, as long as they are backed by a rationale. Additionally, your posts are logical, eloquent and refined.

Jaanwar and PM expressed their praise. I wouldn't repeat what is obvious and does not need any verbal reassurances. But, yes, that is just how it should be.

Its not our fault that we can’t produce babies. Men should have equal right to sit at home and enjoy some laziness watching cricket :pcg: