Malaysia tells foreign powers to stay away from Malacca Straits

Foreign powers must not dictate how Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia protect the adjoining Malacca Straits shipping lanes from threats such as piracy and terrorism, Malaysia’s deputy prime minister said on Monday.

“The Straits of Malacca are ours to protect and preserve,” Najib Razak, who is also defense minister, said at a conference on improving security in the pirate-infested waters.

“There are those who forget that the (countries bordering the straits), each of them sovereign nations in their own right, have the ultimate say over the protection and preservation of the straits,” he said.

Najib did not name any country. However, Adm. Thomas Fargo, commander of U.S. forces in the Pacific, said in March that an American plan to heighten security in the waterway might require a detachment of elite U.S. troops to be stationed nearby.

Indonesia has rejected the U.S. plan. Singapore _ traditionally a strong ally of Washington _ has embraced it.

Najib said any assumption that foreign countries whose ships pass through the straits can use them for military purposes “reflects a lack of respect for the rights of littoral states and a misunderstanding of international law.”

Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia all have littoral areas, or coastlines, along the Straits of Malacca. About 50,000 ships ply the narrow passage each year.

The United States has warned that terrorists could seize vessels for use as “floating bombs” to blow up key ports or cities, though no such plots have been reported.

Indonesia’s navy chief, Adm. Bernard Kent Sondakh, said in a recent media interview that terrorism and piracy threats in the straits were overblown.

He suggested that foreign governments, including Washington, were playing up the threat because they are interested in controlling the waterway for economic reasons.

“The world economy is now moving toward the Asia-Pacific. Whoever controls the Malacca Straits, the Sunda Straits and the Makassar Straits controls the economy of the Asia Pacific,” Najib said. The Sunda and Makassar straits are other waterways in the area.

About 20 pirate attacks were reported in the Straits of Malacca in the first six months of this year. Joint naval patrols by the adjoining countries have curbed piracy, according to officials from all three.

Speaking to reporters Monday, Najib said his country will listen to security-building ideas from other countries, including the United States, as long as they do not infringe on Malaysia’s sovereignty.

Looks like Western powers(USA's)next agenda in very near future=South East Asia(Indonesia,Malaysia+Southern Phillipines)...

Re: Malaysia tells foreign powers to stay away from Malacca Straits

Originally posted by Goliko: *
**Malaysia tells foreign powers to stay away from Malacca Straits

Kiya Piddi aur kiya Piddi ka shorba (little sparrow threatening an Eagle).

hahah! Malaysia is going to deploy all of its 50 aircraft careers in the strait? What a joke.

Malaca has had piracy problems for decades while malay navy has been smoking cigars!

In addition to piracy, the Straights of Malacca are a pinch point for North Korean shipping. One could execute a virtual blockade well out of the reach of shore based missles for example by stopping and boarding shipments to and from North Korea...

Anti and OG, Those are soverign nations......read it again soverign nations, they can choose to deal with the problem as they see fit.No body comes up to US and tells them that they have a problems at the borders with Mexico and drug lords, do they. Respect others, and show that you respect international laws and maybe people will start believing in US again.

Kaleem, the straits are international waters, not sovereign land. The right to free passage in international waters is as old a ships at sea. Not much of a debate here. If piracy attacks are launched out of a soveriegn nation, that nation must account for harboring criminals, and each Sovereign country can defend it's ships at sea. In this case we have an asliance with Singapore who has suffered significant pirate attacks, and has requested help in protecting it's interests. No real debate at all here.

If the US stops North Korean boats, there will be some fur flying, but there is not much that can be done if those boats are found to be carrying missles, as the one stopped by the Spanish was....

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
...Those [Malaysia and Indonesia] are soverign nations.........
....they can choose to deal with the problem as they see fit.

Sovereignty goes only that far. As soon as you disrupt the geo-strategic balance, you would be hung with the pole.

Kal here is a multiple choice question (based on South Asian history) for you.

Mohammad bin Qasim blasted Raja Dahir because?

a. Dahir stole Qasim's lota (water pot).
b. Qasim's narra (belt) got cut and he suspected Dahir.
c. Dahir ate all of Qasim's Khajoors (dates).
d. Some beautiful Arbi woman (an oximoron) was forced into Dahir's harem.
e. Hujaj bin Yousaf's ships were repeatedly looted near Debal (Dahir's capital)

If you believe in choice a,b,c, or d you must be a MAToo Pithoo. The correct answer is e.

As I said Malay needs to put all of their 50 aircraft careers in the strait to show they mean business. Otherwise it is just a bunch of hot air seeping from MAToo behi*ds.

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
..maybe people will start believing in US again.

Haha! “People [commie leftie MAToos] will start believing in US” only when they know that the US joota (boot) is pretty close to their behinds.

Clinton was a sissy hell bent on smoking cigars while Al-zaya-hiri conducted his nefarious attacks on Khobar, Kenya, Tanzania, and then USS Cole (Yemen).

Bush’s Joota has brought Qaddafi (Gadha-fi, Ma-fi) to his knees. The others like Iranian MAToos will soon follow.

However if Kerry wins, he will only get Choomies (kisses) from the Araa-bobo MAToos.

respect goes to indonesia + malaysia, two muslim countries, which are run by their people, not my some other foreign power.

More power to Malaysia and Indonesia. Nice to see some countries actually have some spine and stick to their beliefs rather than jumping on the American bandwagon. Pakistan can take a page out of their book.

*Originally posted by skhan: *
More power to Malaysia and Indonesia. Nice to see some countries actually have some spine and stick to their beliefs rather than jumping on the American bandwagon. Pakistan can take a page out of their book.

Absolutely right Pervez Busharraf needs to learn something from this story. If he hasn't sold himself completely yet.

... Nice to see some countries actually have some spine ...

hahah! the legendary "spine" of Mullah Omer. One daisy cutter and the "one-eyed" general heads to the hills, riding his 25cc motorbike. You da funny man khan!

Bunch of Lucknavi Khans are hell bent on destroying Pushtoons. My foot.

Down with these Jaali (fake) khans.

*Originally posted by Agent Smith: *
... Pervez Musharraf needs to learn something from this story. ...

He did learn from the "hashar" of "thick headed thin spined" Mullah Tullah Omer.

*Originally posted by Confusedominator: *
... indonesia + malaysia,...are run by their people, not my some other foreign power.

haha! Since when?

Forgot about East Timur already? What about the hunt of Mullahs going on in Indonesia as we speek.

Care to read current news?

The Army has the same psyche as aunty batman, they are slaves, unable to think for themselves they need masters. This is why the Pak govt is more than happy to follow Bush around like a puppy.

The [Indonesian] Army ...are slaves, unable to think for themselves they need masters. ....

Malaysia and Indonesia ... have some spine and stick to their beliefs rather than jumping on the American bandwagon.. ....

Hmmm. We have another Mr. Flip Flop Lukhnavi Khan right next to the first Flip Flop Mr. Khan (the Imran one). Darn! These flip flops are like mushrooms sprouting all over Pakistan.

Originally posted by antiobl: *
Originally posted by skhan:
The [Indonesian] Army ...are slaves, unable to think for themselves they need masters. ....

Hmmm. We have another Mr. Flip Flop Lukhnavi Khan right next to the first Flip Flop Mr. Khan (the Imran one). Darn! These flip flops are like mushrooms sprouting all over Pakistan.

Don't put words in my mouth. I am clearly referring to the Pakistan Army, since I am talking about the Pak govt. I never wrote Indonesian.

Just goes to show the levels you stoop to make an argument. It's understandable since you clearly lack articulation and logic.