MALAI Substitute in desi cooking (kebabs)

Salam,

I need urgent help for a dawat, I have this great recipe that I have made before but it calls for malai. In the middle east we got cans of cream but I haven’t been able to locate those here in Canada. Can someone pls tell me what would make for a close substitute to cream.

Thanks in advance.

Re: MALAI Substitute in desi cooking (kebabs)

automne sorry i cannot help regarding malai thing .. but can you please post the recipe here :@: as i i am gonna host a dawat as well

how about boiling some milk then leave i on room temp to make it cool u’ll get a layer of malai :hmmm:
i am no expert in cooking its just a suggestion sont know if it would work or not.

AB, it won’t work, the doodh over here doesn’t make a whole lot of malai. :frowning: I used to do that when I was in the Middle East.

Here is the recipe (It is samina jalil’s recipe and I have had everyone loving these kebabs always mashAllah)

I make these with red meat but you can also make with chicken minced.

Keema - 1/2 KG
Baisan - 4 TBspn (roasted a little bit in 1 tspn oil)
coriander pwdr - 1 tspn
red chilli pwdr - 1 .5 tspn
coconut - 1 TBspn
garam masala - 1/2 tspn
zeera - 1 Tspn
salt - 1.5 tspn
Fried piyaz (crushed) - 4 TBspn
ginger - 1 TBspn
Chaat masala - 1.5 tspn
cream - 2 TBspn
Kachri powder - 0.5 tspn (I don’t use this)
Green chilli - 2 or 3
Coriander (fresh) - a little bit

Chop everything together and keep for 30 mins, then make kebabs on the back of a spoon and fry in shallow oil.

thanks han .. will try it soon

hmmm , cant think of a substitute for cream .. how come you cant find it at the stores .. cant you use the simple "double cream " for this recipe , you get it in every store , you know the cream that we use to whip up icing for cakes .. :hmmm:

CB I have only seen whipping cream and that is definitely not gonna work coz it is so runny. I need cream that will hold its texture and give the added fat to the kebabs.

see if you can find creme fraiche in a specialty store

or clotted/devonshire cream…is that the same as malai?

I think I might have access to creme fraiche (this being land of french cuisine lovers) Thanks KC

malai is sooo good :frowning: y cant we get it here.

it makes sucha good mask too!

yup Khatti is right … another option is to buy extra thick double cream and mix in an egg …
that will give it malai kabab’s the hold you are looking for , while giving the malai taste due to cream …

Nestle cream is available in many grocery stores in NA. I have also seen Pakistani style cream in desi stores. It comes in a glass jar with blue top. Usually in the refrigerator section.

Try this with whole organic milk..

^ this, you will get loads of milai!

Do you have a Sobeys near you? They have the kind on cream you’re looking for. I’ve seen it in the same section as the whip cream. Comes in a square box.

sour cream?

Thank you all you lovely guppies, I went the traditional way of getting malai from organic milk. I found double cream / cream fraiche but it was expensive, not worth the 4 tablespoons I needed.

I will try to look for this cream in sobeys inshAllah