Do women make up fasts for the ones they miss during Ramadan for obvious reason?
Is it fardh to make those up or optional? Can someone clarify this from CREDIBLE sources, and not personal opinions ![]()
Id appreciate it.
Do women make up fasts for the ones they miss during Ramadan for obvious reason?
Is it fardh to make those up or optional? Can someone clarify this from CREDIBLE sources, and not personal opinions ![]()
Id appreciate it.
Re: Making up Fasts for women?
in my humble opinion..its farz to have it after ramazan....
remebering the wisdom of ...Nauman Bin sabit of kufa ...when Imam Baqir in medina..asked him..i have heard that ..you create doubts ..in my grand fther's religion..Nauman replied..imam sahab ..how..: Imam Baqir replied that...you say that roza is more important than namaz...Nauman bin Sabit smiled and said ..Imam sahab...(remeber imam baqir was his teacher) ..just tell me...due to women certain problems..they cannot fast ...or offer namaz...but qaza of roza is farz ..not of namaz....so now tell me....roza is more important or namaaz....!!!!!!
and Imam Baqir dazed at the reply and logic of Nauman ....which today is known more commonly as Imam Abu hanifa of Kufa....:)
Yes it's Fardh to make up those fasts that are missed.
Is it fardh to make those up or optional? Can someone clarify this from CREDIBLE sources, and not personal opinions :)
Id appreciate it.
Peace Brother Crescent
Ayat 2:184 and 185 are about fasting can be delayed in illness and travel. The hikmah in menstruation not being mentioned here could be that it is not an option. During the periods the women cannot choose to fast. However, the option is open for travellers and people who are ill.
Alternatively, it could be that menstruation is covered by the term illness, based on this:
The Qur'an addresses menstruation on three occasions. The one ayah, which is small but holds a lot of detail is in Al Baqarah aya 222 which can be translated as: "They ask you concerning menstruation (mahid) Say: it is a hurt (adha) Therefore keep away from them during their menstruation and go Not unto them until they have become clean (Tahara) And when they have cleansed (Tatahhara) then go into Them as Allah has ordained for you."
The implication of this ayat is in regards to the sexual relations between man and women during the menstrual cycle. However, we learn several other things from this ayah that applies to women and menstruation in regards to other aspects of Islam.
Adha, a hurt, injury or ailment, is the word that Allah uses to describe the menstruation of a woman. Any woman can relate to the hurt, which comes in the forms of abdominal, cramps, backache, inner thigh pain, headaches, nausea and many other symptoms associated with the menstrual flow. The severity of which will differ from women to women, however women suffering from Endometriosis will have increased abdominal cramps.
Here are the hadith ...................
Sahih Bukhari 6:301 Narrated Abu Said Al-Khudri: Once Allah's Apostle went out to the Musalla (to offer the prayer) o 'Id-al-Adha or Al-Fitr prayer. Then he passed by the women and said, "O women! Give alms, as I have seen that the majority of the dwellers of Hell-fire were you (women)." They asked, "Why is it so, O Allah's Apostle ?" He replied, "You curse frequently and are ungrateful to your husbands. I have not seen anyone more deficient in intelligence and religion than you. A cautious sensible man could be led astray by some of you." The women asked, "O Allah's Apostle! What is deficient in our intelligence and religion?" He said, "Is not the evidence of two women equal to the witness of one man?" They replied in the affirmative. He said, "This is the deficiency in her intelligence. Isn't it true that a woman can neither pray nor fast during her menses?" The women replied in the affirmative. He said, "This is the deficiency in her religion."
Sahih Muslim 3: 0662 Mu'adha said: I asked 'A'isha: What is the reason that a menstruating woman completes the fasts (that she abandons during her monthly course). but she does not complete the prayers? She (Hadrat 'A'isha) said: Are you a Haruriya? I said: I am not a Haruriya, but I simply want to inquire. She said: We passed through this (period of menstruation), and we were ordered to complete the fasts, but were not ordered to complete the prayers.
Malik Muwatta: 18.14.40 Yahya related to me, and I (myself) heard Malik say, "The best that I have heard about some one who has to fast for two consecutive months because of having killed someone by mistake or having pronounced the dhihar form of divorce, becoming very ill and having to break his fast, is that if he recovers from his illness and is strong enough to fast, he must not delay doing so. He continues his fast from where he left off. Similarly, a woman who has to fast because of having killed some one by mistake should not delay resuming her fast when she has become pure after her period. She continues her fast from where she left off. No one who, by the Book of Allah, has to fast for two consecutive months may break his fast except for a reason - illness or menstruation. He must not travel and break his fast." Malik said, "This is the best that I have heard about the matter."
You need to make them up.
In the event that our knowledge is wrong on the matter, its not going to be haraam to do some extra fasting. Stay on the safe side. If later on, a woman is unable to make them up because of a severe irreversible illness, ex, then she needs to give alms/charity to make it up.
Peace All
There are some gharib aspects to the hadith above, but they can be explained inshaAllah.
JazakAllah Khairun for all your responses!
in my humble opinion..its farz to have it after ramazan....
remebering the wisdom of ...Nauman Bin sabit of kufa ...when Imam Baqir in medina..asked him..i have heard that ..you create doubts ..in my grand fther's religion..Nauman replied..imam sahab ..how..: Imam Baqir replied that...you say that roza is more important than namaz...Nauman bin Sabit smiled and said ..Imam sahab...(remeber imam baqir was his teacher) ..just tell me...due to women certain problems..they cannot fast ...or offer namaz...but qaza of roza is farz ..not of namaz....so now tell me....roza is more important or namaaz....!!!!!!
and Imam Baqir dazed at the reply and logic of Nauman ....which today is known more commonly as Imam Abu hanifa of Kufa....:)
u got that one totally wrong....
imam abu hanifa (ra) went to imam baqir (ra) who told him that "i hear u r changing the religion of my grandfather by giving fatwa on logic rather than traditions"....
to this imam abu hanifa (ra) replied that this is a lie attributed to him, so to clarify his position imam abu hanifa (ra) gave him these examples....
1) he asked imam baqir who the weaker sex was, man or woman....
obviously imam baqir replied woman....
so abu hanifa replied that if i was using logic, i'd say that woman gets more share in the wirasat instead of man....
2) then he asked imam baqir, what is greater, fasting or prayer (salat)....
obviously imam baqir replied, prayer (salat)....
so imam abu hanifa replied that if i used my own logic i'd say fasting is more important cuz women have to make up missed fasts but do not have to make qadhaa for prayers missed during periods....
Note: no where in this does imam abu hanifa (ra) state that fasting is more important than prayer (salat) and i dont think any muslim scholar will say such a thing....
there is a 3rd example too that abu hanifa (ra) gave but i'll pass that one....
main point, imam abu hanifa (ra) never declared roza more important than namaz, and neither has any other scholar done that....
jazakAllah khair brother armughal.
Arm mughal.. i agree..i just gave the power of logic ..and wisdom of Abu Hanifa of Kufa...
the same wisdom about which Imam Malik Of medina oncesaid that ..there is aamn in Kfa with name Nauman bin Sabit who can prove a wooden minbar of mosque to be of gold....:)
Wow...some people think too deep into these things. Its not a hard concept, really.
Dear PCG ..is this scarcastic comment ..or you want to appreciate his wisdom...:)
No, its not deeper than anything. You miss a fast, you make it up later on. Every woman knows this! Why make something so simple, so complicated? You people need to re-read those ayahs on that story about the calf and how everyone made a simple order from God SOOOOOO complicated. This is what you people do ALL THE TIME.
Peace sister PyariCgudia
I sympathise with your predicament. It is indeed as simple as that. It is a do-as-you're-told religion not a do-as-you-think-best religion, that is what the discussion above has been about.
It is not really about this thread but it is related to it. Brother armughal has pinned down not just the method of rooting out a person with a correct understanding but he has applied it on brother (sign of) divine-light also. He has rooted him out and for his benefit corrected his misunderstanding.
These deeper citations are necessary to keep in tact the spirit and essence of Islam from being diluted with inappropriate rulings. It is a form of protection of the religion.