Making the day different!

favours - they had sugared almonds for the guests

Re: cutting cakes?? personal touches??CONFUSION???

wow.. thanks alot to allllllllllll the sweet girls :), thats really helpful :slight_smile:

ohh janab-e-aali where were u before? lol, thanks sooo much for all the details.

ok now many things r clear , but few more things to ask,

• after cutting the cake with a long knief, should i have to switch spatula to hold the piece of cake in a plate & than take a scoop with spoon & feed eachother, or we have to only cut the cake & let some other ralative come & take it out on the seperate plate?? :konfused:

• & what to do after cutting it, the cake has to be taken in the kitchen directly, & how it is served to the guests? i mean it has to be served in seperate plates?

• as mentioned above, is it important that all the guests should stand up at the time of cutting cake?? i think it wont be very pleasant for our desies, is it okay that me n my hubby go up to the table for cutting cake & only our closest family members follow us & all the other guests remain seated?? or do we have to ask them to standup :smiley:

• i have skipped menu card, program cards & drinks but i want to have mini thankyou cards from my parents on every table, but is it okay to have only 1 medium sized card on each table, or there shouldbe numbers of small cards as the numbers of chairs (means per person seperate?)

• it there any special manner for the thankyou cards? i mean the shape, or it can be any shape? i’m thinking to make small cards by myself.

ohh i love the glasses decorated by Gina & Silsila…amazing…i dont think i’ll be able to decorate it the way u guys have decorated :(, silsila what is the white material on ur glass? is it plaster of paris mixed with glass pieces?? how u sticked it?

I have seen many pics of wedding cakes so dont have any confusion abt it, i just want to know the manner of cutting cake which is not mentioned in any website at all.

Luv you guys.. plz post few more pics of dood pilai glasses..

^ samples of Thankyou cards..
r these okay? Passed?

^ i want to have this type of personalized napkins on my wedding, but is it okay to place it on the plate & decorate a flower on top, or it has to be a fabric napkin for decorating a flower on it , like the below pic, or it will look too odd placing a flower on paper napkin instead of fabric napkin??

another idea using both fabric n paper napkins, 1 for the dinner plate 1 for the dessert

what do u suggest?? what should i do?

came across 1 more nicely decorated glasses

Thank yew PF! =)

Silsila, i would like to know, what was the base for ur doodh palaii glass... what things did you use to make it,And did you use the same material/colour as used for ur lehnga..?

Oh, WOW! She really planned out her wedding.

I'm just wondering if anyone is having/had something unique at their wedding ceremony or reception? What personal touches you added to make the big day more special and unique?

Was there something non-traditional on your menu?

^ I went to a wedding where the bride had baklava as favors for her guests. They were so yummy, and it was the bride's favorite dessert which she wanted everyone to taste. That was really sweet, I thought.

Did anyone have fireworks at their reception? I always wanted to have a five minute firework show once it gets dark out. I just thought this would be something unique. Didn't get it but love to know if anyone did this? Or is thinking about it?

Today is my cousin's wedding in Pakistan, Lahore and we are having fireworks :D

Congratulation, Aisha Dubaiwali! :nuch:

Too bad you aren’t going to the patakay wali shaadi!

Arey the mehndi is today as in right now it is starting! I just talked to mom on the phone..! They have used our house in Lahore for the mehndi and I am so excited! Will post pics when mom comes back from LHE! Thanks LOL.

Abhi?! Din mein!

I will wait for the pics. Please tell mom to take pics of the stage and the fireworks, too. Please.

Fireworks are in the evening:smack: Din mai kis tarah hosakte hai.. as in mehndi aaj hai abhi, yeh I told her to take lots of pics of the wedding so I do not feel like I missed anything!

wow, ive never heard anyone so confused over how to cut a cake b4…

U cut the damn cake, u feed each other, and thats the end of that…jeez…ok sorry im being mean…let me try explaining…(this is to my knowledge, i havnt done this yet)

1. go to the cake table with ur hubby. (along with your parents and his parents (optional) but since its a desi wedding, family has to be included everywhere…and the guests maybe seated if they wish…usually people come up and take pics, happend at my cousins wedding.

2.** Take the Long Knife**, hold it with your hand, and get ur hubby to hold it along with u…(depending on how open u are with each other, if ur not really close then its going to look awkward)

1. Cut the cake and put it on a small plate (NO relative required, but if u cannot manage it get ur mum or mother-in-law to place the cake on the plate)

1. If you are the hygenic type, take a fork and take some cake from the plate and feed your husband, and he will do the same.

(i love this picture…they are sooo cute)

If you know each other well and dont mind using hands, take a small piece of cake and feed each other ( this is how ill do it…i think its cute and plus he loves eating “mere haath sey” hahaha)

and if you are really crazy…(im considering this but my mum wud probably freak out) you can smush the cake in his face!! hahahahahahaha

1. Take pictures, smile, enjoy the moment, and then have the cake sent back to the kitchen to be cut into portions for everyone in a plate.

*at my cousins wedding, her parents and her in-laws fed each other cake…it was really cute but its not traditional i think. basically my uncle fed the father-in-law and my aunty fed the mother-in-law…you can do this if you want but its not necessary…

ok i think ive covered everything pretty much…was that ok girls? feel free to add nething in if i did… :smiley:

and im not really and expert on napkins…but i dnt think i will be using the tissue paper kind…

but as for dood pillai…im sooooo using crazy straws!!! hahaha i dunno if they have them in pak..im sure they do…

hope that helps…feel free to ask nething else…

xxx

Re: Making the day different!

Did anyone gave a speech at your wedding? - Parents, friends or cousins or maybe the groom himself… Or has anyone attended a wedding where someone gave a speech? I was wondering if that would add a personal touch to the wedding.

Re: Making the day different!

I have attended many weddings where at the reception, a few of the groom's closest friends and a few of the brides closest friends have given a speech. It really does add a very personal touch to the wedding. Kind words are said that will probably always be remembered by the newly married couple and sometimes funny memories are brought up that puts a smile on everyone's face.

The only bad thing is when the speeches become WAY too long or if there are too many speeches. People start to loose interest and the novelty factor of a speech is thrown out the window.

But overall, I think it is a nice touch and the bride and groom should ask one or two of their closest friends (could also be a close cousin) to give a short and sweet speech :)