Making it on your own as a couple..

Is there a feeling of more fulfillment? More pride? Do they come out as husband and wife with a stronger bond than others?

When my husband and I talk about starting our new life soon, we plan to do it from scratch and without anyone’s help. None of mommy and daddy’s money, no real savings to start off with, and both of us working towards establishing our lives, inshallah. We anticipate it to be real difficult but know at the end of the day, we will be grateful with everything Allah swt has blessed us with and content that we made it on our own.

Those of you who have been through something similar, how was it? What difficulties did you face? How did it effect your marriage? What was the outcome?

I still had lots of help from my parents but its been a major struggle. Even though things may have gotten better, there's still a long road ahead to be "established."

People will tell you the struggle makes the success so much sweeter, but I think hardly anyone will ever tell you that there will be times when you feel like giving up and think--is this struggle worth it? can we make it? and sadly, while there are those who grow closer, some do end up breaking apart.

But its definitely true that the ones who do make it through have a strong bond and tend to take more pride in their life. But that's not to say couples who don't struggle as much are lacking in fulfillment or don't have that strong bond.

Re: Making it on your own as a couple..

Why do you want to do it without anyone's help. I mean if mom and dad want to give you a head start by throwing few thousand dollars in your saving account, say thank you and take it. I would love to set up a saving account for my daughters once they get married. I am sure your parents and parents in laws think like me. Dont deny them the feeling of contributing into the future of their kids even if kids are married.

Ofcourse the parents are there to help and be supportive if we ever need them.. but what worries us is putting any kind of burden or pressure on our parents to give us anything. We both have younger siblings in universities, 2 of them starting med school and grad school (their loans), and with the wedding expenses as it is, we don't want our parents to feel like they have to do anything for us. Im sure they will give us something to start off with but we don't expect something each month, and since this is so new for both of us (living independently, away from families/home), I guess my question is more along the lines of what difficulties a couple can face while trying to establish a life together, especially when you have moved out from your home/family for the first time ever, and have to learn to be independent.

First would be to work on a budget...to understand that you will now have a budget and would need to lay our all your expenses. Both of you would need to be on the same page.

Second, learning how to pay bills on time. Probably we haven't done too much of that before we got married so putting that on our schedule.

Learning how to put away some money every month or so. Depending on the income, you will need to come up with an investment plan, especially if you have loans.

Learning how to prioritize. Like is it importnat to pay off a credit card that month or to buy the new dinner set.

par
Thats a dream come true. I became some what "stable" ---> if there is such a thing. With out help from family. Not that they did not want to help OR they were not able to help, Its just I wanted do life at my own.
Now if I find a chick and go back home with a baby or 2 that would be awesome.
ITs not that our family don't luv each other...
To me-- the made me....they protected me when I was vulnerable... thats more then I could wish for.
u know what I mean??

I don't give compliments around here lightly, but it is awesome you two are thinking of starting from scratch. It shows you have some humility and also shows you guys are enthusiastic about your new life together.

My parents started from scratch, and they only have fun stories and memories to tell us kids about regarding how they were resourceful.

Also made my childhood way more meaningful - by not having fancy toys and electronics. I actually played outside, was not a fat kid by any means, and my metabolism is so darn well built from childhood excercise that I should weight 200 lbs now, but I don't. And my childhood was really creative as well.

Kids who spend less time in front of video games and cable, spend more time with their family building those precious memories.

I still can't afford video games.

That is great advice, probably the most crucial aspect, finances.

Monk, that's what we want to achieve, to get out of the frame that 'oh family is there to help', and instead, learn to think outside the box. Both of us come from very close knit families but now instead of our parents treating us like kids, we want to grow out of that and make decisions on our own, and learn to be more responsible. For instance, let's say we have a kid who needs to be picked up from school but neither of us can do it.. we don't want us to be like, oh mom or dad can pick our kid up, we want to think beyond that and say, shoot what do we do now.. learn to troubleshoot our issues ourselves.

That's what we have seen our parents do and we admire them so much, I feel like they are very 'street smart' and intelligent because they have dealt with and resolved life problems first hand without anyone's support, and that is so admirable.. we hope that one day, our kids can say the same about us, iA.

It will sure build sportsmanship and a stronger team . Awesome idea . Good luck :k:

I mean if you are ready to get married doesnt that usually mean you are ready to take care of yourself financially? I had no idea couples get funding from parents.

we started from scratch, only cause his parents were in pak, and mine were not in a financial position to support us, but we were both working with very good salarys.

It has brought up much closer, the saving, scrimping, sharing, it brings its own joys, and then you look at all you have around you and know that you have done all this by yourself, very satisfying, having said that i would not have said no to any contribution from either set of parents if they had offered!!

ya that’s what I thought too. :konfused:

Me and and my husband did this too. Yes we don't have a very comfortable life but we know that every little thing we have is from our money. We both were living with our parents before we got married in their huge house. Now we live in a small NY apt. Heck we don't even have bedroom furniture. What we do have is perfectly fine for us. No debt and everything we have is from our own earning. My husband paid for every single penny, I mean every bit of the wedding from his own earning.

Wow pareezay what a wonderful question.... and congratulations on taking this step... It is easy taking funding from parents but you not doing it and thinking of your siblings is a very noble thought and something that your parents will appreciate and give you loads of duaas for.

We were/are in the same boat, and I can only tell from our experience that it really is a tough road but one that does bring you guys closer. Things I learnt from this experience

-If one of you is putting more into the household, pls don't mention that constantly to your SO. They realize it and keep wishing they could do more.

• It does kill a guy when he can't buy his wife pretty clothes, jewels or the homestuff she likes. If your partner feels that way, console him do not keep complaining of how it was better at your parents home. That WAS your life, this is your life make some great memories.

-You know when they say grabbing a shawarma and eating it under the stars was way better than a 5 star restaurant.... it really holds true, when you are with someone you love.

-Go SLOW, when it comes to furnishing your home, driving the best car. Keep your priorities straight, if having savings is important focus on that even if it means 10$ a month. It took us over a year and a half just to get our apt to the point where it felt done.... it bothered me initially but I didn't want to wreck our savings for a sofa set ..... it also showed me who our friends are the ones who will come to your home when all it has is you guys...Also we have memories on how we acquired each and every piece in our home and these memories make the things even more valuable.

-Respect each others decision, rather try to make decisions that you both agree on it brings you guys closer.

-Your family will respect you more and you will have set an awesome example for others in your family and community. It takes guts to do things out of the norm.

It is not going to be all smiles, you will have sleepless nights, you will have times when it really really is tough and all you wanna do is walk away back to the security of your old life.... but just hang in there... when it does get tough pray to Allah. And what you learn from this experience will make you appreciate your partner even more, the respect also goes way up for each other and when the kids come along you will not only be providing for them materially but you have learnt important lessons yourself that you will be imparting to them.

Good luck and all the best....

I feel very strongly about this topic. I get super annoyed at people who want to only give their daughters to guys who are financially stable that have a healthy bank balance etc. It sucks that the guy has to struggle all on his own. Isn't it during those years of struggle that the guy needs his wife's support the most?

With us, we started from scratch, her parents weren't in a position to help and my parents, well they weren't too thrilled that I married whitey. So we essentially started from scratch. Let me tell you, I think that those early years of struggle were integral in bringing us SO close together. We struggled together. There were times we didn't have money for gas/groceries, we lived in a crappy little apartment, but we were happy. Even today, I look back to our humble beginnings and remember those days fondly. We didn't have much but we had each other and that was wonderful. Over the years we grew together, we matured together, we made our lives better and we continue to have bliss and tremendous love and respect for each other even after ten years of marriage.

We also did it from scratch. We just did not wanted to put burden on our parents. During all this time, we in fact also supported our parents (not that they needed our money but just as a token of appreciation for all they did).

My wife did not work in early days (for around 2/3 years) but she really got me going on saving. With Grace of Allah, we never had to go though bad times (except for 5-6 months during these 9 years) and those 6 months were also bad due to the "fear" of losing job but not actually losing it (remember DOT COM BUBBLE??)

So I started life in Los Angles some 11 years ago .. with US$ 3k, Professional Education and taleem-o-tarbiyat from my Parents, got married in couple of years ...and we are now Mashallah a happy family. Allah has showered us with whatever a successful family can dream off in terms of adorable children and money.

its so nice hearing other couples who have gone throuh some really hard times and come out successful..

also started from scratch... and it was TOUGH.. i cant even describe it..

husband lives in an ultra expensive country where loans in the millions is the norm.. his loans werent in the millions thank god.. but were still of the amount that was out of my understanding... my coming from a country like arabia where the lifestyle was beyond luxurious... did not help at all.

the first 6 months were HARD... and sometimes i did make him feel like crap... he even used to say he was sorry he pulled me into his mess... that got me thinking that its not nice to kick him when he is already down.. its just comforting enough to know that he is trying to get us both out of loans and our financial situation..

its been 2.5 yrs and things have gotten way way way better mashallah... we are so so close together now and love the fact that we got over a very tough part of our lives that can sometimes create distances... sometimes loking back i do feel a bit stupid mentioning how life in arabia was soo good and how i miss it and blah blah blah..... lets just say i was not prepared for what was coming my way..

as ppl have said above me... it takes patience and a few yrs to get on ure feet...

everyone has given great advice..

one advice i will give u is.. never compare lifestyles with other couple friends... never.. especially ppl older than you who have been married longer.. they will have a better understanding of each other, be financially secure .. and when u hear them talk, u may feel like 'what the hell is wrong with us then?!'

just do ure own thing and keep faith in each other.. and when the other is down, console them... its a very very rocky start ... but smoother plains are in sight.. just give it time :)

Making it on your own=the added satisfaction of knowing you didn't take any favours off anyone and I'm sure your parents will be super-proud of the fact you thought of other siblings-Mashallah may Allah bless everyone with similar thinking siblings-Ameen.

We got married in 2006 and we're basically making it on our own now however the first few months only went smoothly with the support of my hardworking mother. My mum brought me up alone and I was aware of our financial situation so when I got married I decided to return to work (I was running my business fulltime at the time however it wasn't making enough to support a family). I got a job, my husband also found a job (he moved from Pakistan to England) and we started mapping out our lives.

Three years and 8 months into our relationship we're stronger than we started out. I'm better with finances (I take care of the accounting), we have a vision of where we want to be and by when and we're happy and content that once we were able to stand on our own two feet we did so.

Unlike other families, my grandparents (on my biological fathers side) wish to take their wealth into their graves with them and didn't even offer to assist with my wedding expenses. My wedding still went ahead (thanks again to my great mummy-she's ace!) even without their contributions. IF they had chosen to contribute to my wedding it really wouldn't have dented their millions of pounds in their account but Allah must give one a heart to be able to be happy for family and enjoy being grandparents-bah hum, that's a separate story!

Making it on your own is a fanastic feeling. The most important thing is having the same vision. I must admit, I'm a bit of a shop-o-holic however our vision was to save a deposit for a house, and go into the property development business so I curbed by ways and still enjoy shopping now but within limits I set myself. You both sound like you've got everything in perspective so I wish you all the luck in the world-may Allah reward you greatly-Ameen.

Anything that you do together with love will bring you closer together. There is a joy about earning something - your first paycheck, your first college degree your first house or a car.

Those of you who have been through something similar, how was it? What difficulties did you face? How did it effect your marriage? What was the outcome?

Looking back I have enjoyed the very simple moments. Drinking Chai on the steps of our 800 sq ft one bed condo. Cleaning the mountains of snow off the car when we didn't have a garage or a garage door opener. no dishwasher - no big deal - we use to eat out most days anyways from a desi hole in wall (he made the best food).

We always reminisce about those good ol' days when we didn't really need so many things.

we started from scratch too... and after almost four years of marriage, we have made our first home and love it to bits...

just be there for each other... listen to one another.. try to see the other persons point of view and Inshallah things will work out :)